We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Leone(Sorrento)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Conca Park Hotel(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Ascot(Sorrento)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Tirrenia(Sorrento)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palazzo Tasso(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Savoia(Sorrento)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
Alambra(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Reviews (3,543)
Filter reviews
3,543 results
Traveller rating
1,802
1,118
446
113
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,802
1,118
446
113
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungeindoor poolkids clubdiamond membersettimo loungebay of naplessea viewlarge hotelfamily roomwalk into townup hillmain restauranttop floormount vesuviusbeautiful hoteltrain stationamazing views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,050 - 2,055 of 3,543 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We have just returned from a half-term break in Sorrento and stayed for 7 nights half-board at the Hilton Sorrento Palace. We had booked only 2 weeks before through Thompson who told us there were no family rooms available. (We have two children aged 7 and 5). We decided to go for two separate rooms and I rang the hotel myself to ask if inter-connecting ones were available. I got an email within 12 hours telling me they were. On arrival we were absolutely delighted to find they were sea-view rooms with a huge double balcony overlooking the Bay of Naples, It was a sight we never tired of- especially seeing the cruise ships in harbour at night with their lights blazing. The rooms were spacious and spotless and had the added advantage of two bathrooms and two televisions so we felt like we had loads of room. (And a bit of privacy as a couple.)
Obviously, the end of October is low-season so the hotel was very quiet but we still found staff attentive especially at the wonderful breakfast (special mention to the lovely ladies who made the boys' doughnuts/pancakes or waffles every morning!) and every evening in the Sorrento Lounge for dinner. We were unsure about taking the half-board option at first but it worked out very well for us because it was so nice to get back from a day's sight-seeing, take a hot shower and just go downstairs to eat rather than having to drag the kids out again. The menu was very varied with three different starters, mains and desserts which were served buffet-style. This meant you could have a bit of everything if you wanted and there was always a fish or seafood option.(I am sure they also catered for vegetarians on request). There was always a pasta dish which the kids liked or they could choose from the excellent children's menu. We really felt as a family that nothing was too much trouble and the extra additon of some pencils and colouring sheets was a nice touch.
Being October we knew we were taking a chance with the weather but for 5/7 days we had warm sunshine and were able to sit on the beach at nearby Meta or (much nicer!) Positana. However, it was far too cold for the outside pools but they did look great. If we had one complaint it would be that the indoor pool wasn't heated more but, to be fair, it isn't advertised as open till November. Still, seeing as this was a school holiday in UK it might be worth them considering heating it a week earlier.
Overall, we loved our stay at the Sorrento Palace. It is a hotel that welcomes families without being a 'family' hotel- if that makes sense? It felt like a good compromise between what the kids want from a holiday and what we as adults enjoy. Yes, the drinks were expensive but that is true of most hotels in European cities and I have to say that they always came with a plate of home-made biscuits and a huge bowl of crisps which the boys loved! The bar is a delight to sit in with a range of modern Italian furniture, subtle lighting and the gentle piano accompaniment in the background. But best of all is the view- I can imagine sitting out on the terrace in summer must be wonderful. We would definately go back to Hilton Sorrento Palace.

Room Tip: Go for inter-connecting rooms rather than a family one if you can- the children are close enough to be safe and reassured but you get lots more room (and a double balcony!)
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deb186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I stayed at the Hilton for four nights using my HHonors points. Being a diamond member, I was upgraded to the executive floor with access to the executive lounge on the 7th floor - key only entry on the elevator. The executive rooms are large and tastefully furnished. The bathroom had a tub and a separate shower. These rooms all face the water and a view of Vesuvius. The beds are very comfortable, something that we did not experience in some of the other hotels that we stayed in. I have seen pictures of the other rooms and they do appear small and face the rock wall on the other side of the hotel. It's worth paying the extra money for this level as the lounge has food & drink out all day long. Breakfast included bacon, saugage, eggs, cereal, rolls, meats and cheeses, yogurt, juices, etc. A real nice experience. In the evening, they have hot and cold food as well as wines, vodka, gin, etc. And you just help yourself. And Manuela is there to assist you. She runs the Executive Lounge very efficiently. She can also assist with restaurant recs in Sorrento.
To get to town, is a gentle downhill walk. We did not find the walk difficult as has been written in other reviews. We also used the convention entrance and exit to the hotel which saves you some walking to the main entrance.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the executive level. You won't regret it.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plasmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

To celebrate our 20th anniversary we booked the Hilton as I am a HH member. On arrival we were upgraded to a seaview room and provided access to the excellent Lounge and pool on the 7th floor.

This made a real difference to our holiday as soft drinks and wine were available all day with spirits/beer in the evening. The staff in the lounge were excellent and the food/snacks were of a high quality. The view was amazing from both the lounge and our room.

Being out of the centre of Sorrento was an advantage as it was lovely and quiet at night. Sorrento is a lovely place, but take the trip to Capri, it is amazing.
Overall an excellent break in an excellent hotel. We will be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

October 2011 Hilton Hotel Sorrento. Up several steep windy roads from centre of Sorrento. NOT for the less mobile. Modern concrete block, depressing, built into rock face. Single roms very small, dark, dingy and poor quality. Overlooking rock face and road and hotel refuse. Some rooms virtually on the pavement and road. Balconies so small and in long line at either side and above and below. Very low dividing partition between. Absolutely no privacy or appeal. Rooms only have shower no bath. Bed very hard and uncomfortable and pushed against a wall on two sides - not the standard expected of a 4* Hotel. This is primarily a business conference Hotel and not ideal for a holiday. Asked to be moved to better room but due to business conference there were no spare rooms. Hotel full of "Business people at conference" Not good.

Room Tip: Upgrade to very best de-luxe room or suite on 7th Executive Floor. However still stuck with Hotel position and "non holiday" appeal.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lovesquality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPR, General Manager at Hilton Sorrento Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Dear Lovesquality,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding the services we supply at our property.

As you can see from the various comments regarding our property, there are diverging opinions concerning its location, some favourable and others less favourable. What I can say is that the walk to the Hotel from the centre of Sorrento is not up several steep windy roads, but maximum a 10 minutes walk, however, this depends on your walking speed and what you consider to be the town centre. If you also check on any map site on the web you can see that closest point of the central Corso Italia is only mt 860 which means about 10 minutes walk as confirmed also by overridejg and salm0n1 who recently posted their comments on Trip Advisor.

Please see the following link:
http://www.tuttocitta.it/tcol/percorsi/sorrento-sorrento?cb=0&cx1=14.37102&cy1=40.62142&dv1=Sorrento (NA), Italia&ind1=Via Sant'Antonio, 13&cx2=14.37005&cy2=40.62478&dv2=Sorrento (NA), Italia&ind2=Corso Italia, 41&tp=p&ccd1=81610&ccd2=81610&op=rs&poi=0000&mtp=1&me=0&ae=0&te=

I regret that your stay did not meet your expectations and that you did not appreciate the room category you booked. We are very attentive when communicating the single room description and size to our Tour Operator and, as also visible on the Tour Operator website, we have different room types, at a different price range.
However, I also understand that it is a matter of taste, which is different from person to person as also testified by Sunstorm2000:
http://www.tripadvisor.it/ShowUserReviews-g187782-d231243-r118243540-Hilton_Sorrento_Palace-Sorrento_Campania.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT

As I understand from your comments, the Hotel was fully booked during the period of your stay and, therefore, there was not much we could have done to move you to a different room.

Please rest assured that management takes all comments very seriously and is open to any confrontation or compromise to reasonably accommodate our Guests and this is why we have so many clients returning to the Hilton Sorrento Palace year after year.

I remain at your disposal for any further clarification.

With kind regards,

Paolo Pedrazzini
General Manager
Hilton Sorrento Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

My husband and I just came back from Italy and ended our 2-week trip with a five-night stay at the Hilton Sorrento Palace. From the minute we walked into our room, and onto the balcony, the view took our breath away. We were only on the second floor and still the view was amazing.

I don't understand any reasons for negative reviews of this hotel.....the rooms were spacious, the bathroom was big and well laid out.

The breakfast room is just wonderful!! You can choose to eat in or outside and out of four hotels in Italy, this one by far had the best breakfast. It was more like a resort in that sense - omelettes and waffles made to order, many choices of breads and sweets and we found the staff to be very attentive.

They even had very-close-to-real maple syrup - for a Canadian, that was much appreciated!

The walk into town is not long at all and we found that after the busy streets of Sorrento, it was actually nice to get away, walk up the hill and go into the hotel for some calm.

The pools were great - but very cold!! But you just can't beat that view across the bay to Naples and Mount Vesuvius.

Our only complaint was that the jute-type carpeting in our room was a bit dirty. It took us a day to figure out that this is why the bottoms of our feet were getting black. After that, we took advantage of the free slippers!!

And the local rooster that crowed us awake every morning around 5 a.m. just added to the experience!!

A very enjoyable hotel - I'd recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Bay........
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mortyatport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews