We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed this time.........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Ranked #34 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointed this time.........”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We have visited this hotel on four occasions now. First one was when the hotel was not a Hilton and it was our honeymoon. We returned three times hoping the experience would be even better as a Hilton. But on each visit the experience has not been as good as expected.

On this occasion we were visiting with our 6 year old son and one of the main reasons for choosing this hotel at this time was the Kids Club. As parents, we appreciate the break that the Kids Club can give for a couple of hours, then giving us time to enjoy as a family, refreshed and relaxed. Unfortunately this is not the case with the Hilton Sorrento Palace as the Kids Club there, is parent supervised. This is a stupid scenario, especially with up to 3 Kids Club Supervisors available at one time. There is little point in having 3 supervisors all playing with a babies and their mothers, while leaving the older children to fend for themselves.


The other thing we were disappointed in was the buffet. Having had table service the last times we visited, we were very disappointed with the buffet at the main dinner service in particular but even the breakfast buffet wasn't that great. At breakfast, the queues for the creperie and the omelette station were ridiculous. One day I stood for 3/4 hour! The dinner buffet was e worse though as it was a bun fight at times, with so many people fighting to get to the food and some nationalities not preparing to queue. I was burnt on 2 occasions by guests pushing me while serving out hot soup and there were times when food wasn't available and wasn't replaced. It basically turned the experience into a Butlins, which is not what you expect from a Hilton.


The rooms are not very well sound proofed at all, we knew this from previous occasions but on our last night on this trip, it was so evident. Our neighbours had a party on their balcony to 3am and refused to be quiet. The Walls and windows are not sound proofed so we got very little sleep when getting a transfer coach at 7.30am.

We were put in a family room on the basement floor, which was big enough and clean enough but desperately lacking in sound proofing.

The pool area is lovely, getting a sunbed or two can sometimes be a problem.

The lady making pancakes in the morning is a cheery soul, other staff not so cheery.

The separate kids food table was good.

Pizzas are amazing, drink is very expensive.

I would love to return again to this hotel, it has great sentimental value for us, having been our honeymoon hotel in 1999. But we would think twice about returning in the near future as it doesn't seem particularly good value for money for what it is.

I have sent this report direct to Hilton via their survey that they sent out in August, but to date have heard nothing back.

Room Tip: We have stayed in an executive suite before, and if we could have afforded it, we would have stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikkivn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPR, General Manager at Hilton Sorrento Palace, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear Nikkivn,

First and foremost, I would like to thank you for taking the time to communicate your experience at our property. Guests comments, whether positive or negative are always welcome and remedial actions are taken whenever possible.

Concerning our Kids Club, taking into consideration that we involve kids of different ages from all over the countries, we decided we must have parent’s supervision in order to avoid any discrimination, as a language barrier could be.

With regards to the breakfast service, I would just like to explain that the crepes and eggs stations are an additional service that we wish to offer our Guests, as this is very much appreciated and requested year after year, therefore it may happen that queues line up, as they are made on the spot.

We have taken note of your comments about the food selection at the half board buffet. We believe that a wide choice of starters, 2 pasta courses, 1 soup, 1 meat dish, 1 fish dish, a choice of vegetables, a salad bar and a dessert buffet is a fair choice for an all included package. Half board guests may also choose to eat at the à la carte restaurant at discounted prices.

With regards to other comments thank you very much for reporting these. We believe travel websites to be a powerful tool, as it is useful for us to grow and better understand how to continually improve our level of service. In that respect, Trip Advisor led the way and is always very attentive to properties it somehow represents. This is why, with 88% of satisfied customers, the comments left are generally extremely positive, raving about staff, accommodation and cleanliness

Thank you very much for your positive comments about Rossella, the lady making pancakes, the kids food table and the pizza, it is always a pleasure for us to know when our Guests appreciate the services we provide.

I sincerely hope that this experience will not deter you from returning to the Hilton Sorrento Palace and would appreciate if you could contact me directly may you wish to come back to Sorrento. That way, I will ensure that my email is not only our philosophy, but gets pragmatically put into practice.

Yours sincerely,

Paolo Pedrazzini
General Manager
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,490
    981
    381
    97
    56
See reviews for
852
1,175
50
434
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

We have just returned from a half-term break in Sorrento and stayed for 7 nights half-board at the Hilton Sorrento Palace. We had booked only 2 weeks before through Thompson who told us there were no family rooms available. (We have two children aged 7 and 5). We decided to go for two separate rooms and I rang the hotel myself to ask if inter-connecting ones were available. I got an email within 12 hours telling me they were. On arrival we were absolutely delighted to find they were sea-view rooms with a huge double balcony overlooking the Bay of Naples, It was a sight we never tired of- especially seeing the cruise ships in harbour at night with their lights blazing. The rooms were spacious and spotless and had the added advantage of two bathrooms and two televisions so we felt like we had loads of room. (And a bit of privacy as a couple.)
Obviously, the end of October is low-season so the hotel was very quiet but we still found staff attentive especially at the wonderful breakfast (special mention to the lovely ladies who made the boys' doughnuts/pancakes or waffles every morning!) and every evening in the Sorrento Lounge for dinner. We were unsure about taking the half-board option at first but it worked out very well for us because it was so nice to get back from a day's sight-seeing, take a hot shower and just go downstairs to eat rather than having to drag the kids out again. The menu was very varied with three different starters, mains and desserts which were served buffet-style. This meant you could have a bit of everything if you wanted and there was always a fish or seafood option.(I am sure they also catered for vegetarians on request). There was always a pasta dish which the kids liked or they could choose from the excellent children's menu. We really felt as a family that nothing was too much trouble and the extra additon of some pencils and colouring sheets was a nice touch.
Being October we knew we were taking a chance with the weather but for 5/7 days we had warm sunshine and were able to sit on the beach at nearby Meta or (much nicer!) Positana. However, it was far too cold for the outside pools but they did look great. If we had one complaint it would be that the indoor pool wasn't heated more but, to be fair, it isn't advertised as open till November. Still, seeing as this was a school holiday in UK it might be worth them considering heating it a week earlier.
Overall, we loved our stay at the Sorrento Palace. It is a hotel that welcomes families without being a 'family' hotel- if that makes sense? It felt like a good compromise between what the kids want from a holiday and what we as adults enjoy. Yes, the drinks were expensive but that is true of most hotels in European cities and I have to say that they always came with a plate of home-made biscuits and a huge bowl of crisps which the boys loved! The bar is a delight to sit in with a range of modern Italian furniture, subtle lighting and the gentle piano accompaniment in the background. But best of all is the view- I can imagine sitting out on the terrace in summer must be wonderful. We would definately go back to Hilton Sorrento Palace.

Room Tip: Go for inter-connecting rooms rather than a family one if you can- the children are close enough to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deb186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goshen, New York
Level Contributor
287 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

I stayed at the Hilton for four nights using my HHonors points. Being a diamond member, I was upgraded to the executive floor with access to the executive lounge on the 7th floor - key only entry on the elevator. The executive rooms are large and tastefully furnished. The bathroom had a tub and a separate shower. These rooms all face the water and a view of Vesuvius. The beds are very comfortable, something that we did not experience in some of the other hotels that we stayed in. I have seen pictures of the other rooms and they do appear small and face the rock wall on the other side of the hotel. It's worth paying the extra money for this level as the lounge has food & drink out all day long. Breakfast included bacon, saugage, eggs, cereal, rolls, meats and cheeses, yogurt, juices, etc. A real nice experience. In the evening, they have hot and cold food as well as wines, vodka, gin, etc. And you just help yourself. And Manuela is there to assist you. She runs the Executive Lounge very efficiently. She can also assist with restaurant recs in Sorrento.
To get to town, is a gentle downhill walk. We did not find the walk difficult as has been written in other reviews. We also used the convention entrance and exit to the hotel which saves you some walking to the main entrance.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the executive level. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plasmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

To celebrate our 20th anniversary we booked the Hilton as I am a HH member. On arrival we were upgraded to a seaview room and provided access to the excellent Lounge and pool on the 7th floor.

This made a real difference to our holiday as soft drinks and wine were available all day with spirits/beer in the evening. The staff in the lounge were excellent and the food/snacks were of a high quality. The view was amazing from both the lounge and our room.

Being out of the centre of Sorrento was an advantage as it was lovely and quiet at night. Sorrento is a lovely place, but take the trip to Capri, it is amazing.
Overall an excellent break in an excellent hotel. We will be going back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

October 2011 Hilton Hotel Sorrento. Up several steep windy roads from centre of Sorrento. NOT for the less mobile. Modern concrete block, depressing, built into rock face. Single roms very small, dark, dingy and poor quality. Overlooking rock face and road and hotel refuse. Some rooms virtually on the pavement and road. Balconies so small and in long line at either side and above and below. Very low dividing partition between. Absolutely no privacy or appeal. Rooms only have shower no bath. Bed very hard and uncomfortable and pushed against a wall on two sides - not the standard expected of a 4* Hotel. This is primarily a business conference Hotel and not ideal for a holiday. Asked to be moved to better room but due to business conference there were no spare rooms. Hotel full of "Business people at conference" Not good.

Room Tip: Upgrade to very best de-luxe room or suite on 7th Executive Floor. However still stuck with Hotel p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovesquality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPR, General Manager at Hilton Sorrento Palace, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Dear Lovesquality,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding the services we supply at our property.

As you can see from the various comments regarding our property, there are diverging opinions concerning its location, some favourable and others less favourable. What I can say is that the walk to the Hotel from the centre of Sorrento is not up several steep windy roads, but maximum a 10 minutes walk, however, this depends on your walking speed and what you consider to be the town centre. If you also check on any map site on the web you can see that closest point of the central Corso Italia is only mt 860 which means about 10 minutes walk as confirmed also by overridejg and salm0n1 who recently posted their comments on Trip Advisor.

Please see the following link:
http://www.tuttocitta.it/tcol/percorsi/sorrento-sorrento?cb=0&cx1=14.37102&cy1=40.62142&dv1=Sorrento (NA), Italia&ind1=Via Sant'Antonio, 13&cx2=14.37005&cy2=40.62478&dv2=Sorrento (NA), Italia&ind2=Corso Italia, 41&tp=p&ccd1=81610&ccd2=81610&op=rs&poi=0000&mtp=1&me=0&ae=0&te=

I regret that your stay did not meet your expectations and that you did not appreciate the room category you booked. We are very attentive when communicating the single room description and size to our Tour Operator and, as also visible on the Tour Operator website, we have different room types, at a different price range.
However, I also understand that it is a matter of taste, which is different from person to person as also testified by Sunstorm2000:
http://www.tripadvisor.it/ShowUserReviews-g187782-d231243-r118243540-Hilton_Sorrento_Palace-Sorrento_Campania.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT

As I understand from your comments, the Hotel was fully booked during the period of your stay and, therefore, there was not much we could have done to move you to a different room.

Please rest assured that management takes all comments very seriously and is open to any confrontation or compromise to reasonably accommodate our Guests and this is why we have so many clients returning to the Hilton Sorrento Palace year after year.

I remain at your disposal for any further clarification.

With kind regards,

Paolo Pedrazzini
General Manager
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 km away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
0.9 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,846 reviews
1.1 km away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
1.4 km away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
0.7 km away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sorrento Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sorrento Palace

Property: Hilton Sorrento Palace
Address: Via S. Antonio 13, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sorrento Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting destination all year round, the Hilton Sorrento Palace retains its charm throughout the seasons. The Hilton Sorrento Palace is only 5 minutes away from the historical centre of Sorrento, which is the ideal for shopping 7 days a week or enjoying the bustling nightlife. The Hotel offers a breathtaking sea view: just in front of you the enchanting Gulf of Naples dominated by Mount Vesuvius and from behind Punta Campanella you may catch a glimpse of the exclusive Isle of Capri. The Hotel offers rooms with sea view, garden view, mountain view and family rooms for 3 or 4 people. All Executive Rooms, Deluxe and Suites have large windows and balconies with breathtaking views over the Bay of Naples. Executive and Suite Guests also enjoy exclusive access to the Settimo Club Lounge, where a rich and varied buffet is always available and a private swimming pool waits for you. The property is located a 5-minute drive away from the port of Sorrento, where guests can catch ferries to the island of Capri. The Amalfi Coast is 30 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Sorrento Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sorrento Palace Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Palace
Sorrento Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing