We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveller rating
241
18
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
18
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shared kitchen the room was nice the owner an excellent host train station suggestions coast information pompeii
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 261 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

Best bed and breakfast ever.
Great person, great location, great conditions!!
He advised us, he even took us to tha train station.
A nice and open person!
An awesome experience alltogether
Mario from Romania

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Cruiser599290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2015

My wife and I stayed at B&B San Francesco for 2 nights. We arrived late to Salerno by train and the owner, Enzo, picked us up at the station. He gave us a quick tour of the city by car to point out major cross streets and landmarks to help us with any walking we wanted to do. As others have mentioned, Enzo is young and enthusiastic. He is probably one of the most caring and selfless people I have ever met in my entire life.

When we arrived, he checked us in and I asked if there was anywhere close by to eat that he recommended. He smiled and asked if we liked pizza and walked us to a bar/restaurant about 2 blocks away. He introduced us to them and made sure we knew the way back before departing. He also asked us specifically what we wanted for breakfast.

Our room had an bathroom outside of the room, but was not shared with anyone. Our room was very large with nothing extravagant, but nothing like that was needed.

The next morning, Enzo arrived and made us breakfast and purchased the flavor cornetti (croissants) that he had recommended us to try (they were fresh!).

The second day was the same with breakfast. Also, we were taking a train to Paestum so he drove us to the station. He also told me to call him 30 minutes before arriving back and he would pick us up. We had already checked out that morning but he locked all of our items in our room (we had to catch a train mid-afternoon to Rome, but didn't want to lug everything to Paestum). When we arrived back, instead of picking us up to get our things and then head back to the train station, Enzo went out of his way to bring us all of our bags at the train station to avoid any time crunch or stress.

Other things to note: excellent price and value for what you are getting. It is a 10-minute walk to the main shopping area and 12 minutes to the water. Free WiFi that worked well. Very clean bedroom and bathroom. If you get a room that has an external bathroom, it is literally across the hall and not a big deal.

If you have never stayed in a B&B, I would highly recommend giving this a shot. If you travel to B&Bs regularly, you won't be disappointed. I also encourage you to think about how certain people go out of their way to make you have the most enjoyable time possible and encourage you to tip Enzo a little extra if he provides above his normal duties as a B&B manager/owner. After all, Enzo should be a father any time now :)

Enzo, best of luck to you and your family in the future. We look forward to coming back to visit Salerno and Bed and Breakfast San Francesco!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kerrydemps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015

We stayed at B&B San Francesco for 2 nights so that we could spend a day at Paestum. When we arrived by direct bus from Naples Airport, Enzo the young and enthusiastic English speaking owner of the B&B picked us up at the bus stop. The day we went to Paestum he took us to the station to catch the train. The day we left he did the same. The B&B is about 10 minutes gradual uphill walk from the station and maybe 15 minutes from the Duomo and historic centre of Salerno.

The B&B is excellent value for money. We had a large, simply furnished but very comfortable room with absolutely spotless and sparkling modern bathroom. By the time we booked, the only room left (there are 3 in total) was the one with the private external bathroom. This was across the hall just a couple of steps from our room so really not an issue.

Enzo provided a simple Italian breakfast including fresh cornetto croissants from a nearby pastry shop, delicious.

We wish Enzo well with his business which he started in late 2013, he deserves to succeed.

Room Tip: Two rooms have ensuite bathrooms, one room has private external bathroom.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sheilasydney2060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2015

I had my 3rd visit to B&B San Francesco last week. It is a great B&B. Large airy rooms, tasty breakfast and excellent value for money. Enzo is a fantastic host. He picked us up from the train station and dropped us off the next morning. Will be returning on my next visit to Italy.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2015 via mobile

As majority of the reviewers have said here, for its value, this is an excellent B&B, spacious room, very good bathroom facilities; common kitchen also available.

Enzo is also an excellent host. He gave us very good suggestions for going around Salerno.

Just to give an idea of why we came to Salerno: although it is not as well known as Sorrento, it serves as an excellent base for going through nearby places like the Amalfi Coast and even Pompeii (especially if you want to avoid the craziness of Naples).

Some friends and I made Salerno our base for going through the Amalfi coast- Positano, Amalfi, Maiori, and Vietri sul Mare.

And if you do this kind of trip, B&B San Francesco serves as an excellent "home base."

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank filtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews