We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Place for Great Food”
Review of L'Unico

L'Unico
Ranked #31 of 831 Restaurants in Salerno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$68 - US$90
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Il ristorante e'ubicato nel centro storico di salerno di fronte alla chiesa di S.Giorgio,a pochi passi dalla cattedrale(il duomo).Il nostro menu'e' esposto all'esterno con una vasta scelta del pescato del giorno,tutto rigorosamente proveniente dalle paranze(barche)salernitane.Il ristorante dispone di una piazzetta all'esterno e di due salette all'interno ideali per pranzi o cene d'affari, feste private e pranzi o cene in comitiva.
Reviewed 3 November 2018

I ate here twice, once for dinner, once for lunch. Both times I had a very enjoyable dining experience. The owner and staff are friendly and provide excellent service. Artwork on the walls give this place an interesting and unique vibe. The waitstaff bring tableside a large black board with the day's menu handwritten in chalk -- with so many choices and all so very delicious. It's mostly a seafood restuarant, but I also had a terrific eggplant dish for my contorno.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank drdmromeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2018

Our hotel advised us L'Unico was the place to eat if we wanted seafood, and how right they were. Sauteed small shrimo in the shell, wonderful pasta with squid and carrots in a whie sauce (much better than it sounds), braised branzino. Completely prepared for one of us to eat gluten free, with pasta available for any of thier sauces. We had dinner twice in Salerno, and on the second night we simply returned here.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank petersY1911WU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

After reading all the fantastic reviews, we were expecting a fantastic seafood meal at l’Unico. The menu, hand written in italian on a chalk board, had starters ranging from 5-10 euro and first/second courses from 12-18 euro approximately. The owner explained the menu items in detail and quite fast. Although that was a nice touch in principle, I question the efficiency of this method as people were left waiting with no menu for quite some time and then encouraged to decide fast in order to bring the board to others. For starters, we had the ricotta filled zuccinis, delicious, and the baby octopus (apparently in season). We usually love octopus but that dish was very chewy. For mains, we ordeted the squid and patatoes as well as the calamari in a 3hr slow cooked sauce. The squid and calamari were also incredibly chewy (again, we eat this all the time and are familiar with the texture but this was bad). Also, turned out the sauce for the calamari was the same as the baby octopus so we essentially had the same dish twice. The owner was nice but the overall service was not up to par either. Overall, it left us disappointed, perhaps an off night.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank MissVan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

So we were walking around the small streets in Salerno and heard some bossa nova music which we followed. We found L’Unico, lively place with a great vibe.
We were greeted by Enricco who speaks 5 languages and had a great energy.

When we asked about the menu, I joked about the big sign in the street beeing the only menu and he brought to the table and explained every single course.

Ended up having baby squid, razzor clams, zuchinni flowers with ricotta, sword fish, tuna, sea bass. All of them were great, excellent I might dare to say.

One advice, follow the staff’s advice on food in a place like this, they fish in the morning so they know what they are doing.

Enrrico, grazzie mile!! A doppo :)

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Daniel_Craciun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

The restaurant has no menu in English but the waiter explains all the dishes. We did had to ask him to go through it again as this was a lot of information to remember. I think the staff spoke better English than understood it as 2 of our starters weren't exactly what we expected but as we don't speak Italian it's not surprising. All were lovely to eat. Mains also not exactly what we thought but still good food. No large at this restaurant but wine and soft drinks available. All in all I would recommend if you like fish and they also had some vegetarian options.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Unico also viewed

 
Salerno, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to L'Unico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing