We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lidomare Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lidomare Hotel
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed 2 days over Easter and loved this hotel's location - very close to the sea and town centre but tucked out of the way off a quiet courtyard. We had a private balcony looking to the sea and despite being next to the main road the thick window glazing and door cut out all sound at night.
We were a little confused at first about parking - I didn't reseach that part beforehand - and didn't reallise you couldn't drive up to the hotel. But we finally worked out just to drive into the main town square and from there the hotel can organise your car to be taken to a private parking place for a fee.
The room was large and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    95
    32
    8
    10
See reviews for
28
113
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We arrived at Lido Mare after a traumatic experience on the Naples/Circumvesuio train, where some very clever pickpockets had removed my husband's passport from his bumbag. We felt vulnerable and unsure, but were welcomed with great kindness by the owner and his wife, who then did everything in their power to settle us and make feel at home.
Our beautiful room had it's own private balcony overlooking the sea complete with linen covered table and chairs , bathroom complete with spa bath ,and attractive decor with gorgeous mosaic floor.
The location is superb, right in the Largo Piccolomini opposite the Duomo, bus stop within 100 metres, service was very good and friendly. We'd go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

A great location near the water, but must go up quite a few steps to get there. Had a large, tiled room to myself and the family owners were very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margarita018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

This is a beautiful historical building with plenty of personality, great seaviews and a perfect setting in the middle of Amalfi. Great value for money. We stayed 7 nights in August 2011 and will definitely be coming back. Great place!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NiklasBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Nottiinghamshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

We stayed in the Lidomare for 4 nights from 30 May 2011, and found it charming. Our room had large and wonderfully old double doors, and a balcony with a view of the cathedral. Since the hotel is set a little back from the main square on a small courtyard it wasn't too noisy, and we could sit at our open french windows and read in relative peace and seclusion. Very pleasant. As many previous reviewers have said, everything was spotlessly clean, and the hotelier was friendly and helpful. The tiled floors and charmingly mismatched furniture seemed in keeping with the age of the building and the town in general, being old and occasionally slightly eccentric but nevertheless comfortable - although beware of sitting at the small round table in the corner of the breakfast room unless you are very tall!

You should note that if you either can't or won't carry your own luggage up stairs then you shouldn't stay at the Lidomare, but this shouldn't be a problem for most people.

Room Tip: View of cathedral probably better than sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate7760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#28 of 29 in Amalfi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#24 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.0 km away
Albergo Sant'Andrea
Albergo Sant'Andrea
#15 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.1 km away
Residenza del Duca Hotel
1.5 km away
Hotel La Ninfa
Hotel La Ninfa
#18 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lidomare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lidomare Hotel

Property: Lidomare Hotel
Address: Largo Duchi Piccolomini 9, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Lidomare Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Lidomare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lidomare Hotel Amalfi, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing