We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fab food in the midst of it all” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Piazza Duomo Restaurant & Bar

Piazza Duomo Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #30 of 101 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$37 - US$85
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
153 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fab food in the midst of it all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Had a late lunch at this great little restaurant in the village square of Amalfi after being turned away by a couple of other restaurants whose kitchens were closed at 4:30pm...
It's right in the midst of a bunch of places filled with tourists but this one is a little gem - really good food and a great recommendation for a lambrusco (not like any chilled red I had drunk before..).
Service was fine but the food really was special - exceeded my expectations.
Location is also very nice when a local wedding is taking place in the church - great views!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelbyRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    102
    37
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Piazza Duomo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Excellent and kind service! Seafood is tasty but the Pizza Plebiscito is very good. I recommend! In the Piazza Duomo

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RosinaldoBsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sister restaurant to Trattoria da Gemma in Amalfi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We arrived too late in Amalfi to enjoy the great food and relaxing sun terrace for Trattoria da Gemma, but the waiter was incredibly helpful and directed us to their sister restaurant in the square opposite the fountain. Salvatorie greeted us and soon we were enjoying a nice chilled glass of rose carruso from Ravello - delicious. The food was great, do try the stuffed anchovies and the scialatiella amalfi pasta with courgettes and bacon, yummmmy!!! (Shame my husband liked my main course too)! Im not sure how the price compares to other restaurants in Amalfi, but for great food and location - we feel you get what you pay for.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsRantzau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Choose this restaurant becose of excellent location, right on the squere, also looks clean and more cozy then other places arround.Lunch was good , very tasty pizza but salads were average. Dinner time was disapointing - lack of good service, tasteless pastas and the worst fillet steak in my life, despite they put raw meat on display as some steak house do you could think they specialized in steaks.Anyway fillet was chewy and well over cooked. Gotta say we got some discount on the bill, but want go back there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SteaknWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Eating in amalfi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We explored several restaurants in Amalfi and you were certainly spoilt for choice. We had a meal in this restaurant because the menu was uncluttered and it had interesting décor. We didn't have to wait long and the waitress was very friendly and chatty. My partner had anchovies which I didn't think I liked but which were absolutely delicious and he had fish which was the same with lovely quenelles of potatoes. I had ravioli which was light and fresh and a hazelnut parfait beautifully presented and just melted in the mouth. As I have a sweet tooth I always make sure that check out the desserts. All in all a lovely meal. Sara Shipton Chalfont St Peter England

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sara_shipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Piazza Duomo Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Piazza Duomo Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing