We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and excellent service”

Locanda del Marinaio
Ranked #26 of 108 Restaurants in Amalfi
Price range: US$24 - US$78
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: At 7 in the evening on 07/07/07 the doors to the Locanda del Marinaio were opened for the first time, the start of a new adventure and a dream come true.A project planned by a family from Amalfi with broad experience in the catering business. The idea of three brothers whose goal was to create a modern and original restaurant, completely different to those already in Amalfi.La Locanda is the ideal place to spend time with your friends, for a business meeting or a romantic dinner. You will be welcomed with the warmth traditional to Amalfi and with the attentive service of our staff who aim to create a pleasant atmosphere.Come and experience tradition with a modern taste.
Reviewed 17 July 2017

We came across this by chance, what a great find. When we arrived the restaurant was extremely busy and we were greeted by the staff who were very pleasant and welcoming.
There was a good variety on the menu to choose from and the food was fresh and well presented.
Whilst in Amalfi we ate at this restaurant for several lunches and one dinner. The dinner service was exception. We had the sea bass fillet and pork medallions and a bottle of local wine recommended by our waiter which complemented the meals well.
Overall we could highly recommend this restaurant by our experience in Amalfi.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tscanlon2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartPaz, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Locanda del Marinaio, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Dear Guests,
We are really grateful to have host you for several times during your stay in Amalfi and to have choosen our cuisine despite the fact we are not perfectly fitted with gluten free offer, which was your need. The sea bass fillet with potatoes crust on pan fried baby vegetables is by the way a second course which is satisfying perfectly this feature, even we have few other opportunities. One of wines could be a good match with a fish as well a pork is a rose Scalabrone tenuta Guado al Tasso DOC by Marchesi Antinori famous house wine, produced in a fantastic land extended from the coast of Tirreno sea up to the hills not so far from Firenze. The vineyard is called Scalabrone, taken from the local bandit lived in the area at the beginning of 1800, a sort of Robin Hood who were attacking the ships in the antique port of Bolgheri.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (976)
There are newer reviews for Locanda del Marinaio
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 976 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

I usually steer clear of restaurants that are not well patronised and I should have followed my instincts this evening. We had booked a very fine restaurant for dinner but my wife was ill which forced a rescheduling. This left me to find an evening meal in Amalfi. Locanda del Marinaio was close by and I had no difficulty securing a table for one. The glass of red was good: the pizza was second on their list - but watery and very plain. The service was extremely gruff to the point of rude. I would recommend against this restaurant in a town with many fine alternatives.

Thank WandanaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartPaz, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Locanda del Marinaio, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Dear Sir,
Thank you for spending your time and reviewing us as well as being our guest with your entire family during your stay in Amalfi. We are sorry that we have not satisfied your expectations since we had not reached in time your main course (about 10 minutes after your starters) and this is probably the reason of your bad and ill mannered reaction regarding the pizza and last of all the perfectly cooked spaghetti carbonara. We can understand that under children pressure and really hot evening somebody nerves can collapse, but you have always keep in mind that by the other side there are hard working people and we cannot accept to be treat like slave or a dog. Throw away a pizza and dirty language is not welcomed in a restaurant and under your young children eyes, by the other hand good manners are always the best pass to any kind of service. We had accepted your wife excuses that night and we think that this is the end of all, even if not evidently for you.
We would move over this sad point in order to try to change the state of mind and to light up one of our desserts: Semifreddo kissed by coconut with dark chocolate sauce, which could be coupled with an excellent Malvasia delle Lipari DOC Passito by Carvaglio house wine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Traditional family restaurant that calls attention for the quality of the food, cleanless, and very good service.
Simple, in the heart of Amalfi, on the pedestrian sector where all the little tourist shops are.
It was
My best local find. Prices are vey reasonable and choices of dishes are great.
Like they write in the first page of their menu:
"Since we were children, our mother has always been telling us that the cuisine is LOVE AND FANTASY.
That is what you are going to experience in this place.

Thank Cid2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartPaz, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Locanda del Marinaio, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Dear Sirs,
Thank you really much for your kind words and for pointing on our motto of love and fantasy. We have a lot of recipes calling the classical cuisine, with some modern variations, such the Ziti pasta with neapolitan ragout with grated dried ricotta cheese. This kind of first course is something taken from our collective imagination, a Sunday classic with a meat cooked at relatively low temperature for very long time. Its taste is fitting perfectly with some local red wine such the Costa D'Amalfi Tramonti DOC 4 Spine, by Tenuta San Francesco house wine sufficiently fully body to balance the flavours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

We visited and had the 'specials' menu - an Italian meal. This was really good value with lovely food and 4 courses for €20. Staff were helpful although you do need to request the specials menu.

Thank mikecoughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartPaz, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Locanda del Marinaio, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Dear Mike,
Thank you for your kind words and for have chosen our wine and food offer. We are particularly proud that the menù Amalfi is still "on the air" and is matching the Italian dining experience, considering the fair cost.
One of the dishes which is inserted into this offer is the evergreen potatoes gnocchi a la Sorrento style. This is an authentic traditional first pasta dish and the potatoes gnocchi is actually a local version of the one present in practically all the cuisine over the world. The dough for gnocchi is most often rolled out, then cut into small pieces of about the size of a half cork. They are then pressed with a fork or a cheese grater to make ridges which hold sauce. The sauce is a simple tomatoes one which is added the fresh Campania mozzarella cheese. This plate has certainly old origins, when the South of Italy has been hold as a reign of two Sicilia's (Regno delle due Sicilie), this is the reason that we believe a good coupling with it is a Nero D'Avola Sicilia Cartagine "Riserva", of the Mandrarossa house wine from Sicily. The wine has been recently awarded with 3 glasses of the Italian prestigious guide Gambero Rosso. It's a pure grape of nero D'Avola, soft balanced and with strong character, proudly Sicilian, with unique scents and with an incredible softness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

Ordered grilled local fish and got mainly squid with some sea bass. My fault I suppose for assuming that fish is fish and squid is seafood but it was very expensive for what I got. Service was slow and lacked charm so overall a bit disappointing particularly as when this restaurant opened it seemed to be trying to be a cut above the others.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank lawmatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartPaz, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Locanda del Marinaio, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Dear Sirs,
Thank you for your kind review and to have chosen our restaurant for a cosy meal.
We are sorry about your disappointment regarding the grilled mixed fishes "of the sailor" with salmoriglio sauce, but we would point on the fact that even if the translation is correct is not reflecting our culture and tradition, as it's common for us expect fresh mixed fishes and sea food upon availability when is taking a one in our region. People have the same doubt when ordering our mixed fried fishes with crispy vegetables and tzatziki sauce, as it's commonly involving some squid and shrimps as well. For this reason please consider that you cannot simply expect what you're getting in your own country as you are having a meal in a different place which is a Campania Region rich of culinary culture.
We would like to point on a salmoriglio sauce which is certainly not containing its "secret" recipe into a menu; it's a salsa made with virgin oil of olives, garlic, mint, salt and lemon juice obtained from the local Sfusato Amalfitano rich of aromas and essential oils.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Locanda del Marinaio also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Locanda del Marinaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing