We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveller rating
110
189
85
32
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
189
85
32
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews globus tour building next door nice hotel great location fifth floor large windows bath products mount etna double bed good size the main shopping street train station promenade museum messina lungomare conference
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 424 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2018

The University of Reggio Calabria arranged my stay at Hotel Excelsior. I was very pleased. The room was quiet and had all the conforts. The restaurant was open until late, food was good quality and reasonably priced. Breakfast was very good. Most of all I appreciated that Italian touch in the decor and in the food that made this hotel stand out from the lot of rather anonymous high-class hotels. Food was served on silver trays and buffet tables were covered with white fine draperies. Staff was knowledgeable and ready to help. They were very kind in accommodating my need to stay in the room a few hours after my check-out time. Restaurant has wonderful view of the Messina strait and one can also see the Etna (unfortunately the same is not true for my bedroom). The Museums of Ancient Greece is just the other side of the road, an absolute must.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank concertoitaliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PublicRelationOffice, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Concertoitaliano,
many thanks for your review and for staying in our Hotel during your visit in Reggio Calabria.
Your opinion is very important for us and for our high-class standards.
Daily we work for the love of it and it is a pleasure to satisfy all guest's request
We hope to see you again in Reggio Calabria and naturally at The Grand Hotel Excelsior
Public Relation Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

Having visited Reggio Calabria several times over many years we have stayed at this hotel on a few of our trips or have caused friends of ours to stay here if we were staying in a private home, Either way, we have had nothing but excellent experiences with the hotel and especially its staff. Always accommodating us or our friends. The location is perfect, the rooms are very comfortable and the rates are not outrageous. The only negative is the building next door which appears to be in disarray. The hotel would show so much better from the outside if this adjacent building was improved or demolished. But it is the inside that counts and that is the best of this hotel. I highly recommend it.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PublicRelationOffice, Giuliana Scavuzzo at Grand Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Dear Paul B, thank you for having reviewed us with maximum score that rewards our daily commitment. About the building with which "We live", we inform you that this year should start the work of redevelopment thanks to which we will improve the "aesthetic" look. We hope to see you soon in Reggio Calabria and especially in Our Grand Hotels Excelsior . Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

A building with no character and some loose ends exterior-wise. Garage available and all the basics there. The breakfast below its expected standard but with a fine view if you are not a smoker. The attending staff proper and prompt. Room and bathroom fair and quiet but the telephone apparatus very frar from the bed. No frills fortunately or disconcerting decorum. A fine professional choice, though slightly overprice

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bardangas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDIMEO, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear Bardangas,
thank you for the good words and for expressing your opinion regarding some expects of the building and of your stay. Of course, if you had told us that the room was not the one you were expecting we would have given a free upgrade as our standard. Anyway we really appreciate our guests judgements because they motivate us to do even better.
So we hope to have you again as our guest.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

The Hôtel is ideally located, in the city center. Across the road the seaface and some private beach clubs. It has a nice rooftop restaurant. The food served was nice and we enjoyed it. The rooms and bed size are quite small. But then again great location.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank EdwinAnil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDIMEO, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear EdwinAnil,
thank you very much for you nice words. We do agree that our city has some very best views.
Regarding the room, it is in our standards to give a free upgrade in a superior room whenever the one our guest booked does not satisfy his request. So for next times, please, tell us which type of room do you prefer and we will try to please you.
We really hope to have you again as our guest so that we can show our best goals.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

The hotel was well kept, it has a stunning view from the breakfast area, however the breakfast could have some more fruits. It is close to the beach (1euro/day). The hotel is well located near the city center of reggio calabria. We had to pay for parking.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank xavierabcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PublicRelationOffice, Pubblic at Grand Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Dear xavierrabcd, thank you for the good score and the nice words about our Hotel, and thank you also for your opinion and advise about the breakfast service, we sure will use it to improve our performances.
About the parking, we have a secure garage, for a fee, and free parking subject to availability, in the area surrounding our Hotel.We hope next time to give youour best service. Best Regards Public Relationships Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews