We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
125
23
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
23
6
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed at Al Castello a few days ago and were bowled over with the friendliness of the owners. Everything in the hotel was immaculate, classy and comfortable. The bed was wonderful and the bathroom luxurious with a very good shower. The breakfast just kept coming and it was all delicious. We strolled down to the main shopping street and back along the elegant waterfront and all within easy distance from the hotel. We were assured the area was completely safe at night and happily strolled to a local restaurant recommended by our hosts. Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carefulopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We were so impressed with both our host and our accommodation here! Breakfast was home made and beautiful every morning - especially the jams! Paulino was friendly, helpful and went out of his way to ensure our stay was as wonderful as possible. The room was modern, clean and extremely comfortable. Would definitely be happy to stay again!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Spotlessly clean, modern in style, with a breakfast that featured delicious local products. It’s positioned two blocks above the old castle, which counts as central – not that that matters much, since everything that survived the 1908 earthquake is located in museums that seem indefinitely closed. (When I was there, one had a large banner advertising an interesting-looking exhibition that had ended several months before. Another was shrouded in scaffolding. A third had a hand-written sign on the door saying the space was “closed for maintenance,” with no indication of when that maintenance might be completed. The Riaci bronzes were “on view” in their restoration lab – distanced from you by a wall of glass, face down on tables.) Count on a 15-minute walk to the station, if you have luggage. Taxis are not always in evidence.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
Thank GRosso76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

excellent accomodation in Italian good taste and design rooms
Paolo and Jo are perfect hosts and the prima collazione is incredibly rich and delicious
they also give good advice and are very helpful in looking information for daytrips, restaurants and things to do in town. I had a great week there and can recommend this place AB SO LUTELY
grazie mille for your hospitality: perfetto! greeetings from Belgio

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christopheletzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We had a nightmare journey down to this part of Italy when the first train that we were due to get was late which meant that we missed every single connection to Reggio di Calabria (where this hotel is based) meaning that instead of arriving at 8pm as we should have, we arrived at 11pm at night. We called the hotel to come and get us and they did but then promptly charged us 12 euros - we thought that this was supposed to be part of the service! The hotel is on the first floor of the building. The room we stayed in was fabulous - all mod cons and a beautiful painted ceiling. The only thing was there was no English language stations on the TV but we were in Italy after all! The hotel itself is fine, however, because the owner seemed to want to practice his english with us, when we were having our breakfast he spent the entire time watching us and bombarding us with information. It was OK in the beginning because he was just getting everything ready (the table was groaning with the amount of food he put on it!) for us to eat but once the food was on the table he insisted on standing to watch us eat all the food he'd put on the table; he also claimed that it was "all natural" food despite the fact that we were opening packet after packet!! That made us laugh. He claimed that his mother made all the jams, and even the chocolate spread but later on in the day we saw the same jars in the shops available for sale! The surrounding area (or should I say the whole of Reggio di Calabria) was disgusting and we were really disappointed at how dirty and filthy the area was. It wasn't that our hotel was in a particularly bad area, it was just that all of the Calabria part that we were in was really disgusting and we eventually cut our time there short and went onto the next part of our holiday in Rome. Although I'd recommend the hotel, due to the area I wouldn't recommend it. There are only 4 rooms in this hotel and the owner is nowhere to be found during the day. If you want anything you have to call him though he will generally come over to deal with any issues.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the painted ceiling because not all rooms have it.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AvrilNanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews