We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,436)
Filter reviews
1,436 results
Traveller rating
821
415
134
46
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
821
415
134
46
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building old town spa treatments star hotel lovely hotel steam room separate shower spa area junior suite huge bathroom jamon small pool breakfast was excellent four nights turia gardens city hotel long weekend
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,436 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

As my title may suggest there were good and poor experiences during our stay. Having stayed in Hospes Amerigo in Alicante, we were really looking forward to our stay. Our check in was one of the worst I have ever had. It was as if we were an inconvenience. No interaction, no welcome drink, no recommendations and no eye contact. In fact whilst checking in another couple were complaining about their room. The room itself was adequate for our stay but like other reviews it was the basic room in the courtyard with limited light. The shower is over the bath and it is quite awkward to get in and out of it with no hand rails to aid you. Wardrobe space is very limited. The hotel advertises 24 hour room service, however on the one night we were peckish we had a 40 minute wait and still no food. We did complain and the next evening we had champagne and fruit sent to our room-------which was lovely but no apology !!! On asking about a hire car to take us on the next leg of our journey, we were told to just return to the airport and get one there.

The good points-----the location is perfect, touches of chocolates and turn down service at night was lovely, spotlessly clean. The Spa is also a great treat at the end of a long day's sightseeing. Our check out could not have been more different from our check in. Matteo was a true professional. He was so polite and engaging. It was really heavy rain and he did everything for us as we wished to visit the Central Market that day. I just wish our check in had been similar.

We did not have breakfast in the hotel as there are so many cafes around it------Jamon del Medio is awesome both for breakfast and then evening atmosphere with the locals. I would really recommend Café de la Bourse for lunch and Los Gomez for tapas. I would also recommend the 2 day ticket on the sightseeing bus.

Overall Valencia is a wonderful city with so much to see and do. Hospes is so central to everything, I just wish we had had a better experience for 5 star prices.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillian483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palau_de_la_Mar, Director General at Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback with us. I regret to hear about your disappointing arrival experience. I can certainly understand your frustration with the services received and please rest assured, this does not represent the high levels of service we are striving for.

I have already addressed your comments with our Front the House leaders to ensure immediate actions are taking to improve our service delivery. It is lovely to know that you took particular delight in our convenient location, turn down service and mentioning Matteo who provided great service to you - thank you for letting us know.

We hope to get another chance to provide you with the "First Class" service we are known for.

Warm Regards,

Vicente Juanis
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Having stayed in the sister hotel in Alicante (Hospes Amerigos) we decided to book this for 5 nights. We were not disappointed. Firstly the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Nothing was a problem. Reception were happy to recommend local eateries too. We had a room to the front which over looks the street. Very quiet until about 7am when traffic starts but it certainly wasn’t intrusive. Breakfasts were lovely with a great variety. Maybe if I had a slight grumble it would be maybe that breakfasts could be a a smidgen disorganised. Staff still friendly and willing though. Back to the rooms - all toiletrities are good quality and replenished daily. Again housekeeping staff called every evening to see if wee needed anything. Great hotel. Thank you to everyone.

Stayed: October 2018
1  Thank 1971jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palau_de_la_Mar, Director General at Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you for dedicating part of your precious time to share your experience with us. It helps us understand our strengths and flaws and incidentally, it allows us to cater better for the needs of our guests. I hope we see you again soon and thank you again for taking the time to write your comments, we really do appreciate it.

Kind regards
Vicente Juanis
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

Firstly, we enjoyed our stay. Staff very helpful and cheerful.

Stayed for 3 nights in a "Dreamer Double" (cheapest room) which opened onto an interior garden. Our request for a large double bed was met and was extremely comfortable. Just a few minor niggles. Not an over large room and was a bit quirky with a large width basin in bathroom so had to wait for it to fill to the top to get the required depth of water. Also, when unpacking, only two small drawers, a few shelves and two single wardrobes) which was barely adequate for our stay. The British Airways website (not hotels) states separate shower in this room type but it was over the bath. Other rooms we understand have separate shower. Otherwise, all the hotel is kept spotless and our room was always cleaned when we returned each day.

A major plus point if your are travelling to visit historic Valencia is you cannot beat the location with easy walking distance to the old town and hop on/off tourist buses. (Note many other 5 star hotels are in the business district). We spent one enjoyable evening late in the bar with excellent service. Also, there is an excellent cafe/bar 50 yards away which was buzzing. So, if visiting Valencia again we would chose this hotel. As the title of the review states it is "location, location, location."

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TomandAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palau_de_la_Mar, Director General at Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you for dedicating part of your precious time to share your experience with us. It helps us understand our strengths and flaws and incidentally, it allows us to cater better for the needs of our guests.

I am especially pleased to see that the treatment provided by our staff was to your liking. Our staff is our most valuable asset and knowing that they exceeded your expectations brings me joy.

I will transmit your message to the rest of the team and looking forward to having you with us soon in the near future,

Vicente Juanis.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

A short walk from the old town. Rooms a really good size, clean & comfortable. Staff very helpful & friendly.
Good breakfast & bar. Great to sit in the garden with a glass of wine afternoon & evening.

Stayed: September 2018
1  Thank Scoob-Shoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palau_de_la_Mar, Director General at Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest

Greetings from the beautiful city of Valencia!

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with the world. We are pleased to know that we here at Hospes Palau de la Mar have exceeded all your expectations and that your trip was memorable one for you. We would love to welcome you back in the near future.


Kind Regards,
Vicente Juanis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

The hotel is well located, which allows you to discover the city by foot. Most of the staff are friendly, my superior room was big and clean, the bar is not so stylish but the terrace is nice and the food in the restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palau_de_la_Mar, Director General at Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Dear Carole,

thank you so much for taking the time to rate us and for your comments. I am happy that in general your experience was a good one and I am glad you liked the superior room.
We hope you will consider staying with us again on future trips to Valencia and look forward to welcoming you back to Hospes Palau de la Mar someday soon.

Kindest regards
Vicente Juanis
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews