We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome and great service”
Review of Castaways

Castaways
Ranked #61 of 898 Restaurants in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$9
Description: Located around the corner from the Mediera Centro Hotel and down the road from La Era Park, Princessa, Victoria and Royal Hotels on Carrer de Finestrat. We aim to provide home cooked food, with fresh ingredients. Everything from Breakfast served all day, Lunch, Light Snacks, Tapas and Dinner. We can cater for larger parties and for special requests with notice being given to allow us to stock requested food /drinks. We show Football on a weekend with 2 matches being shown simultaneous if needed.
Restaurant details
Description: Located around the corner from the Mediera Centro Hotel and down the road from La Era Park, Princessa, Victoria and Royal Hotels on Carrer de Finestrat. We aim to provide home cooked food, with fresh ingredients. Everything from Breakfast served all day, Lunch, Light Snacks, Tapas and Dinner. We can cater for larger parties and for special requests with notice being given to allow us to stock requested food /drinks. We show Football on a weekend with 2 matches being shown simultaneous if needed.
Reviewed 8 January 2016

Found this bar though trip advisor so thought we would give it a try, great northern welcome and very good down to earth home cooking.
The prices were very reasonable too. We went there nearly every day and walked 3 miles to get to it from were we stayed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra B, Owner at Castaways, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2016

Thank you for your review. I appreciate that you came all the way from the opposite end of Benidorm to find us, and returning almost every day, TripAdvisor as been a very good source of customers for us.
We hope you don't leave it too long before you find us again.
Many Thanks
Jan ad Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2016

We went here for a meal and when compared to other establishments, the quality and quantity of the portions were poor. I got a few chips and a piece of "homemade" quiche which was not tasty. My partner got a few chips, meat-pie and a bit of veg, but no gravy. When served to us they were more or less dropped on the table and the server just walked off! No nice table cloths. She didn't come back and ask how the meal was. €6 each and €3 for a can of beer.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank J44JPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra B, Owner at Castaways, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2016

We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit to Castaways, we always endeavour to ensure all our customers are satisfied with food and service. Had we known before you left the premises perhaps we could have rectified your issues.
Regarding the portion size, we regard the size to be correct due to the price of €6 (approx. £4.70) which covers the majority of the menu. We are currently surveying our current customers regarding the size of the portions.
You are the first person to say they were dissatisfied with the taste of the quiche, which is one of our best sellers, perhaps it was just not to your taste.
The menu does not say that gravy was included with the pie, again had you even ordered gravy after it was presented to you we could have added this as an extra.
We are a café bar therefore we do not use tablecloths.
I do apologise if your table was not checked as this is something we do every time, therefore it must have been an oversight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

Another Excellent time in Castaways, the girls are always willing to go that little bit extra, good food and drinks and a good laugh

2  Thank froggy065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra B, Owner at Castaways, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2016

It was lovely seeing you and Linda again, we appreciate your custom and the shopping you brought over for us. Leaves room for Lindas shopping to take back. Hope to see you both again in March, lets see what dishes we can tempt you with then . see you soon Sandra Jan and Karina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

The owners are very attentive of customers and always very welcoming.The food is very good home made and very reasonable.They also have a well stocked bar.

1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra B, Owner at Castaways, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2016

Thank you for the lovely review we do aim to have anything our customers want , or we will have it for the next time you come in if we don't. Thank you Sandra and Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2015 via mobile

It was the best meal I have had in a long time and Jan front of house just makes it more special friendly and welcoming well done girls love loads xxx

1  Thank george m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra B, Owner at Castaways, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2016

Thank you for coming for the Chrismas Eve Dinner glad you and your party enjoyed it. Jan is just a friendly warm outgoing person being herself. we will see you soon Jan Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castaways also viewed

Benidorm, Costa Blanca
Benidorm, Costa Blanca
 
Benidorm, Costa Blanca
Benidorm, Costa Blanca
 
Benidorm, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Castaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing