We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
220
71
34
23
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
71
34
23
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews melia villaitana star service level guests grand suite complimentary soft drinks walk in wardrobe family junior suite buffet restaurant half board lobby bar few niggles rooms are excellent peace and quiet room was large reception desk long weekend every meal
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

I have decided to write this review whilst staying at the hotel. My intention is for this to be a fair and honest review.

Firstly we have stayed at the Red Level melia hotel in Tenerife which was truly amazing so we were excited to stay at another of the level melia hotels. However in some areas there is a lack of continuity between the hotels...the main one being the lack of service.

We checked in at 12pm and a lady who was the concierge explained the hotel and what is included. We were given bands to wear that gave us access to the level lounge etc.. I didn't feel the lady engaged with us very well but everything was explained. At this point it's worth noting that we booked direct with the hotel and also had an offer of €20 to spend at the hotel but we forgot to ask about it and it wasn't until day 3 when I mentioned it that they told us how it worked so we lost €40 as we had paid cash for items when we should have charged it to our room. The staff were unaware of what offers they had on and we were told it was our responsibility to inform them....as a 5 star hotel I would expect staff to know this.

Later that evening 6-7 they put on drinks and nibbles for level members. We didnt have our bands on as we find them irritating but do carry them around with us. I was questioned by the concierge whether we had permission to be in there. I found this a little insulting due to the fact she checked me in 6 hours earlier!!! We've since been questioned every time by the same lady when we go in there and she still doesn't remember us or is just making a point (probably the latter but makes me feel very uncomfortable helping myself to a soft drink). When you go in at 6pm it's rarely set up. I've had to ask for cava each night and last night she put a bottle of warm opened cava on the table with no ice bucket. There nibbles were very limited and they didn't even bother to put any serving spoons out for the food and i ended up using a tooth pick. The cava ran out (note there are other members drinking and not just us!!!) and we had to ask for this to be replaced. Often the soft drinks available in the day are warm.

We have today received excellent service from Georges and it's how it should be every day as it's the first time we have encountered waiter service!!

Our room is ok but there is damp on the wall, the shower leaks, it smelt of cigarettes when we went in and still has that lingering smell. I haven't complained about this as I can't be bothered but it's a room overlooking the golf course which is very nice. The pools are lovely but again there is no waiter service and you can't even get an alcohlic drink in the hotel and have to go next door.

The hotel itself is very nice so please do not be put off by my review but they really do need to up their level of service and consideration of guests as it's disappointing. It's certainly not 5star service. Seriously please visit the Red Level in Tenerife and take some learnings of how they treat customers.

Havvas and convery

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Conv1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at The Level at Melia Villaitana, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2018

Dear Conv1973,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your opinion with TripAdvisor's users.

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with all of our services.

We always try to make our guests feel special and we apologize if you have experienced troubles in the check in at your arrival and with some services during your stay.

Do not doubt that we take very seriously your comments, they help us to detect the areas in witch we have to focus our effort to improve our services.

We hope you will visit us again and give us the chance to show you our improvements.

Best Regards
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

We booked a grand suite for our stay, and we're emailed in advance from the reception to ask type of bed, pillows, time of arriving, reservation of Bali beds; this was a lovely start to our visit before we had even arrived.
On arrival we drove directly into to undercover parking and into lift direct to reception- super fast check in.
Our room was large - hallway, bedroom, bathroom with separate bath and walk in shower, dressing cupboard and large lounge. Balcony over looking pool had table, chairs, 2 loungers and parasol.
All staff gave excellent service, reception - bar - restaurant.
We did have a couple of small issues which we spoke directly with the manager and he immediately reacted and resolved, and also followed up with us to confirm if everything was ok and to let them know if we needed anything else.
The pools at the level have plenty of loungers and no reservations of beds, the pool life guards kept the areas clean and tidy throughout the day.
The chef in the buffet was fantastic, it was self service but on two occasions insisted he delivered our meat cooked to order to our table, and one evening I asked for chicken which wasn't out and he kindly cooked some for both myself and husband.
All the waiters were so friendly, a lot working in between study times and were really eager to please.

I had read some negative reviews previously before booking this hotel regarding staff, during our 7 night stay everyone was helpful and friendly, including the gardener and the pool maintenance man who's English was limited but always said hello with a big smile.

Some holiday makers may forget that they are holidaying in Spain so some staff may not speak English!, if a Spanish person holidays in uk they would struggle to find a hotel that all staff speak Spanish - every member of staff in the Level gave us great service.
The food is also Mediterranean and therefore this hotel does not do burger and chips as standard, though across to the joining hotel you can enjoy a BBQ
We recommend the level for peace and quiet with adults only
The hotel has lots of facilities including golf, spa, bikes, tennis
Hotel is a short taxi to Benidorm, but we would recommend a hire car and go and see the real Spain

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edurne C, Guest Experience Coordinator at The Level at Melia Villaitana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear Julie C,

On behalf of all the staff members at Meliá Villaitana, I would like to thank you for choosing The Level to relax on your holidays.

We are really pleased to read that all the service you received during your stay with us was to your liking. Especially the treatment received from our staff.

I hope you are already prepared to repeat next year!

Regards,

María Gutiérrez
Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

On arrival you pull into a beautiful courtyard resembling an old village including bell tower and a bar. all very quaint. Entering the main reception you are greeted with tranquil music and a feeling of you have made a good choice of hotel. No screaming kids, just piece.
The receptionist showed us all that there was to do and see on a small map which covers The Level and the 4 Star hotel next door. Everything sounded good and we shown to our room and the holiday began.
JUNIOR SUITE: The room was large with a separate bedroom, seating area, walk in closet, spacious bathroom with twin sinks and a 50" TV.(not many UK channels ITV1-4 and BBC news) Usual Extras including bathrobes, slippers, hairdryer, mini bar, safe, Free wi-fi and all the soaps and shampoos you can handle. We had a large balcony with 2 sunbeds table and chairs and beautiful view of the golf course.
One problem we in-counted were the key cards for the room kept failing. On 5 different occasions we had to go back to reception to get the key card reset. It became very annoying. So my advice, carry both cards with you in separate pockets.
EATING : We chose full board, so all meals and drinks included.
There are 2 restaurants on The Level side and many more on the 4 star side. You are aloud to eat in both areas but you have to pre-book them in the morning. Unfortunatley we kept forgetting so only used the buffet restaurant. Don't expect chips because its mainly a Spanish hotel. All very nice but not a lot of choice and a bit repetative. Breakfast and lunches are also of a good standard but again a bit repetative.
BARS: Firstly you have the level bar in reception which has free drinks and nibbles all day from 11am-8pm. The white bar near the pool, open when they seemed to feel like it. I was told they had a DJ every night, but never saw one. We did however see 2 guys plug speakers in about 10pm if that counts. Then you have the bar to watch the sunset that opens just before sunset and closes just after. Genius! Also many bars in the 4 star hotel worth a visit if you like it hectic.
POOLS: 2 pools on 2 different levels. one buy reception and the other on the lower level. Superb looking pools with views and plenty of sun loungers. There is no waiter service so you have to get your own drinks which is not really great in a 5 star hotel.
The 4 star hotel has many pools and look fantastic, They even have a beach area but be warned its mental. Kids every where. Stay in the level.
Parking: If you are on the level, park in the underground carpark. Follow signs to reception and its on the right. Normally its 10.50 a day but for the level its free. Ask in reception for a plastic card for the carpark which means you don't have to keep asking for them to validate a ticket every time you leave.
BIKES: There are electric bikes for rental from 15E for 5hrs up to 50E for 2 days.
ENTERTAIMENT: as far as I could see there was none in The Level. All the entertainment was in the 4 star hotel mainly for children. However outside the Hotel in the large Court yard there were film nights and live bands. None of which we new about until we walked out the front door.
SHOPPING. There is a small shopping village down the road. Shops include H&M, Guess, Pull & Bear and various other clothing sores. Also supermarkets carefour and a Lidl.
So, this is lovely hotel with cracks starting to appear. Cracked walls, steps in need of repair, painting needed. Staff are great but it is understaffed and this shows.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank HiltonJ15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edurne C, Guest Experience Coordinator at The Level at Melia Villaitana, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Dear Ms. Hilton,

We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay with the rest of users of TripAdvisor.
It is great to know that our hotel has liked it, however we deeply regret if we have not exceeded all your expectations on this occasion.We are assure you that we will investigate and we will take the necessary corrective actions in order to avoid similar situations in the future.
It would be a pleasure for the entire team of Meliá Villaitana to have the opportunity to welcome you again so we could offer you the magnificent experience you deserve.

Kind regards.
Lorena Pérez Romero,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

We stayed for a long weekend in the Adults only side of the hotel. We had a junior suite which was lovely, the terrace was huge and it was very quiet, even though it was next to the tee off for one of the golf course we hardly heard a thing.
The pool area was lovely and quiet also, i fell asleep a few times whilst sunbathing, something i never normally do. There was plenty of choice for sunbeds and nobody bothered reserving one with a towel. The pool was lovely just the right temperature to cool off in.
We ate in the buffet for every meal as it was so handy and not rushed at all, we could wait an hour between courses and it was blissful.
The all inclusive was handy as we are wine and Cava drinkers, we only tried the Cava and that was good enough for us, they serve Freixenet Extra Cava which was amazing and perfectly chilled every time.
All the staff were lovely, friendly and welcoming and a special point out to Juliette the maitre de of the buffet area who made our stay extra special.
The adult only rule was observed everywhere so it would make it ideal for a romantic getaway

We will definitely be going back,

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Frumpsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edurne C, Guest Experience Coordinator at The Level at Melia Villaitana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear Frumpsta,

We are really pleased to know that you have enjoyed an outstanding stay with us in our exclusive service The Level at Melia Villaitana.

For us, there ir no greater satisfaction than see how guests are loaded with beautiful memories.

Our friendly and lovely staff is already prepared to welcome you again in a near future!

María Gutiérrez
Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

We love this hotel and have been 5 years in a row. This year, just a short stay for 3 nights. We are big fans, but what has happened to the evening buffet at the Level? It used to be amazing and I never complain about food, but wow, that buffet has gone downhill! We were so disappointed.

The meat is suddenly cheap, full of fat and tough to cut. The salads are kind of more basic. It used to be that I had trouble deciding what to eat because it all looked so nice, but this year, I had trouble filling my plate because it didn't! I had to fill it with tomotoes and onions. The choice seems reduced, just feels like general cost cutting. I'm sure they know what they've changed - please change it back! Breakfast and lunch were good, just not evening.

So many other things are improved, the all inclusive is great, the bar by the larger pool is great, it's almost perfect but just as you reached perfection - that buffet which used to be great is now not. It's enough to make us not return... please say you'll put it back to how it was!

One other thing, we've never seen people reserving sunbeds here before. This is something which really set this hotel apart from others. But this time, we did see people reserving beds and then heading off to breakfast - not to return for hours. There was a time the towels would have been rolled back up and the bed lost - but this seems to have stopped, which is a shame.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank SimonTheBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edurne C, Guest Experience Coordinator at The Level at Melia Villaitana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Good afternoon,

We thank you to speak with such good words about your stay at our resort. It is a real motivation to know that our guests enjoy their days of tranquility together with our team, especially repeat customers like you.

Do not doubt that we will take into account all the details that you tell us for us to improve daily.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

A big hug from Meliá Villaitana!

Pedro Fernández,
Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews