We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bathroom Smells Like an Ash Tray”
Review of Room Mate Oscar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Room Mate Oscar
Ranked #55 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The only thing positive about this hotel is the location. It is a few blocks from the Gran Via and about 15-20 minutes walk from Plaza de Espana. The photos of the rooms on the hotel website are very misleading. They depict a clean hotel room, not the tired smelly rooms that are actually available. The furniture was dirt stained, dusty and had many burn marks. The bathroom (toilet) smelled like an ash tray. As a non-smoker, I was thoroughly disgusted! I was so turned off by the room that I slept in my clothes as I did not want my skin to touch their bed. I felt as if I were in a hostel. This hotel is more like a slum. The lobby looks great but the rooms are horrible! It’s not a good feeling to have knowing that you would like to cancel your stay when it has already been prepaid. Needless to say, I will NEVER return to this hotel or any of their sister hotels nor will I EVER recommend it.

Room Tip: Book Another Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank travelnistaAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roommateoscar, General Manager at Room Mate Oscar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time in sharing your thoughts of your stay at Room Mate Oscar. We take note of your comments in order to improve every detail you mention.

For the other hand I am writing to you to express my most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay regarding the room. I fully understand your disappointment. At the moment, this room has been repaired by maintenance department.

I deeply regret you didn’t enjoy your stay in Oscar and your bad impression on us. I hope you will trust again in Room Mate Hotels, and therefore see this as a one-time mistake/experience.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for any future stays at Room Mate Hotels in order for us to find the hotel which best suits your needs.

Kind regards,

Vanessa Garrido

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

676 - 680 of 2,372 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jaroslaw C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
roommateoscar, General Manager at Room Mate Oscar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I stayed 1 night at this hotel. The best of it is the location, very close to Gran Via metro station and is a back yard with a nice plaza in front. The hotel is very modern but you see easily the cheap materials that was used. It looks like an hotel sponsored by Ikea!
The shower was a disater, almost impossible to control the hot water. I end up cutting my finger on a metal part of it. Then despite having read signs of non smoking hotel, my room (superior one) had a horrible smell from smoking.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XAPECAJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roommateoscar, General Manager at Room Mate Oscar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time in sharing your thoughts of your stay at Room Mate Oscar. We take note of your comments in order to improve every detail you mention.

For the other hand I am writing to you to express my most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay regarding the room. I fully understand your disappointment. At the moment, this room has been repaired by maintenance department.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for any future stays at Room Mate Hotels in order for us to find the hotel which best suits your needs.

Kind regards,

Vanessa Garrido

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I just checked out of the hotel and Gosh, what a nice stay!
The hotel is just off Gran Via, the main street in downtown Madrid. In the Chueca area (the gay neighbourhood), close to ALL the main atractions of the city and even closer to all the gay clubs and bars.
Hundreds (literally) of bars and restaurants in a 5 block radius
The outside of the hotel is sleek and modern
Check in was a breeze, it took me no time at all and the staff was friendly and with a smile.
My room was a junior suite. Amazing, The picture does not show the size nor the real style of the place, it was a very stylish decor with nice amenities.
They allowed me late check out free of charge (2 pm)
Check out was also fast.
Downside only; the curtains let light into the room.
Ups; EVERYTHING ELSE

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dacarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roommateoscar, General Manager at Room Mate Oscar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time taken to give us your comments regarding your last stay at Room Mate Oscar.

We take note of your comments in order to improve every detail you mention. We are definitely very lucky to have such a regular and demanding guest to help us improve ourselves constantly.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in order to make your future reservation or if I can be of any further assistance to you.

Kind regards,

Vanessa Garrido

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

My room was filled with very funky pink furniture that fits no description and was very impressive.
The hotel is not super-luxurious but is very different, good quality, at reasonable prices.
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank michael_portz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roommateoscar, General Manager at Room Mate Oscar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time taken to give us your comments regarding your last stay at Room Mate Oscar.

We take note of your comments in order to improve every detail you mention. We are definitely very lucky to have such a regular and demanding guest to help us improve ourselves constantly.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in order to make your future reservation or if I can be of any further assistance to you.

Kind regards,

Vanessa Garrido

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#43 of 438 in Madrid
1,925 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#17 of 438 in Madrid
1,714 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#44 of 438 in Madrid
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#68 of 438 in Madrid
1,761 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#24 of 438 in Madrid
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Oscar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Oscar

Address: Plaza Pedro Zerolo 12, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Madrid
#64 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#139 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: €80 - €223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Oscar 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel in Madrid ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Splitty, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Room Mate Oscar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Oscar Madrid
Room Mate Oscar Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing