We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of Hotel Abalu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Abalu
Ranked #316 of 442 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 26 August 2017

I should have originally stayed in their sister hotel, but they offered me an upgrade, because there was some problem with a balcony. It was very kind and professional.
Their staff is nice and attentive, mainly the young lady with tattoos, who had the night shift during my stay.
Althought the rooms are very small, they are quite cozy. It would be nice, if they just could add some shelfs in the shower. There is no place to put shampoo or anything.
All in all it was a pleasant stay and I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel did not disappoint. Stayed for two nights while my partner and I were in madrid after a trip home visiting family. The hotel was within walking distance from the city centre. The room was super clean and so quirky. We absolutely loved it. Staff were so helpful and booked an airport shuttle for us for €30. The breakfast was included and consisted of a savoury and sweet option, both were equally good!! We would absolutely come back if we were to visit Madrid again, I only wish we could've stayed longer!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AislingT2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direct-Comercial, Director Comercial at Hotel Abalu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your feedback. We are really happy you had a memorable experience with us. Hope to welcome you very soon!
Regards,
Director Comercial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

The room is very strange, the shower is at the entrance of the room – very not privet.
We upgrade to a bigger room + porch, but the room was still small and the porch was not available since the air condition was there
The WIFI was very poor
Breakfast served from 09:00 (how come?) and the breakfast was very humble and not justifies the price (7.5€ per person) you can get coffee + sandwich outside in a better price (less then 4€)
We had a plumbing problem in the shower that was not fixed while our staying.
The best thing in this Hotel is his location and price (we paid 490$ for 4 nights)

Good Location, very close to the Gran via st.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ravit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

I must about I booked this hotel on its quirkiness and it did not disapont. Its located just off the centre of Madrid very near to the Noviciado metro so its easy to get to from the airport or to get anywhere else in the city. Staff are helpful, we arrived early and they looked after our bags while we had a look around. The room is amazing and has everything, a really good shower, coffee machine, fridge, safe, TV and most importantly air conditioning and a fan. The breakfast is really good, simple but adequate and good quality. Definitely worth the price for the stay.

Room Tip: The street outside is noisy as its lively but the double glazing works well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadrun67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direct-Comercial, Director Comercial at Hotel Abalu, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking part of your time to share your experience with us. It makes us very happy to receive such a positive comment. We are very glad that you could have a pleasant your stay at Abalu Hotels and enjoy the neighbourhood. We hope to have you back soon with us.
We are looking forward to host you again.
Regards,
Director Comercial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

A cool and funky hotel in the centre of Madrid. The room was spacious and had all you could ask for. The people at the reception are also very helpful. The breakfast was nice but a bit basic but definitely enough to get you started.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direct-Comercial, Director Comercial at Hotel Abalu, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. We hope see you again in our Abalú´s Hotel.
Best Regards
Director Comercial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#87 of 442 in Madrid
1,072 reviews
Malasaña
7 Islas Hotel
7 Islas Hotel
#74 of 442 in Madrid
1,459 reviews
Malasaña
Tryp Madrid Centro
Tryp Madrid Centro
#269 of 442 in Madrid
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasaña
Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel
Centro
HOTEL OPERA
HOTEL OPERA
#137 of 442 in Madrid
1,270 reviews
Centro
Hotel Exe Suites 33
Hotel Exe Suites 33
#223 of 442 in Madrid
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abalu

Address: Calle Pez 19, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#177 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: €65 - €187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Abalu 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel in Madrid's Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Stayforlong S.L., Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Abalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalu Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing