We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (461)
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveller rating
126
146
79
45
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
146
79
45
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews funky hotel the main hotel large apartment sister hotel shower head city break pleasant stay great room airport shuttle metro spain
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 461 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel did not disappoint. Stayed for two nights while my partner and I were in madrid after a trip home visiting family. The hotel was within walking distance from the city centre. The room was super clean and so quirky. We absolutely loved it. Staff were so helpful and booked an airport shuttle for us for €30. The breakfast was included and consisted of a savoury and sweet option, both were equally good!! We would absolutely come back if we were to visit Madrid again, I only wish we could've stayed longer!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AislingT2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direct-Comercial, Director Comercial at Hotel Abalu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your feedback. We are really happy you had a memorable experience with us. Hope to welcome you very soon!
Regards,
Director Comercial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

The room is very strange, the shower is at the entrance of the room – very not privet.
We upgrade to a bigger room + porch, but the room was still small and the porch was not available since the air condition was there
The WIFI was very poor
Breakfast served from 09:00 (how come?) and the breakfast was very humble and not justifies the price (7.5€ per person) you can get coffee + sandwich outside in a better price (less then 4€)
We had a plumbing problem in the shower that was not fixed while our staying.
The best thing in this Hotel is his location and price (we paid 490$ for 4 nights)

Good Location, very close to the Gran via st.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RavitM22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

I must about I booked this hotel on its quirkiness and it did not disapont. Its located just off the centre of Madrid very near to the Noviciado metro so its easy to get to from the airport or to get anywhere else in the city. Staff are helpful, we arrived early and they looked after our bags while we had a look around. The room is amazing and has everything, a really good shower, coffee machine, fridge, safe, TV and most importantly air conditioning and a fan. The breakfast is really good, simple but adequate and good quality. Definitely worth the price for the stay.

Room Tip: The street outside is noisy as its lively but the double glazing works well.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadrun67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direct-Comercial, Director Comercial at Hotel Abalu, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking part of your time to share your experience with us. It makes us very happy to receive such a positive comment. We are very glad that you could have a pleasant your stay at Abalu Hotels and enjoy the neighbourhood. We hope to have you back soon with us.
We are looking forward to host you again.
Regards,
Director Comercial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

A cool and funky hotel in the centre of Madrid. The room was spacious and had all you could ask for. The people at the reception are also very helpful. The breakfast was nice but a bit basic but definitely enough to get you started.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direct-Comercial, Director Comercial at Hotel Abalu, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. We hope see you again in our Abalú´s Hotel.
Best Regards
Director Comercial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Abalu hotel. Great room and wonderful service. We particularly loved the friendly 24hrs staff who made us feel genuinely welcome. We loved our room - very quirky interesting style, with a jacuzzi! The room was very quiet too. The lobby and breakfast bar were very stylish. The breakfast was good: nothing special in terms of bakery but very nice orange juice and proper coffee (unlike some other hotels we've experienced in Spain). The location was good - very central and nice area. (But then everywhere seems very central in Madrid!). Overall, we highly recommend it and would go there again next time we go to Madrid.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cat-lib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direct-Comercial, Director Comercial at Hotel Abalu, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back anytime!!!!
Best Regards,
Director Comercial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews