We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveller rating
126
144
79
45
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
144
79
45
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews funky hotel the main hotel large apartment sister hotel shower head city break pleasant stay great room airport shuttle metro spain
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 459 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2015 via mobile

My first draft review of this hotel was far harsher than this but I wanted to be fair as possible so I waited until our final night to write this review. Pros for this hotel are the area in which it is located; with many good night spots and restaurants. For the most part the staff is helpful and accommodating. Now the cons. This is basically a converted old apartment building with some new (and cheap) furnishings to make it look "boutique". Our king-sized bed was two cheap single mattresses put together and which came apart all the time and meant a bad nights sleep. The walls are very thin and you can hear your neighbors. We booked thru Bookings.com and therefore got a decent rate and that made this hotel tolerable. Had we booked directly thru the hotel the rate would have been higher and this review more scathing. In short we would not stay here again.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Jiro1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2015

Asked for a room in high floor and was given a dark basement 'suite' in an adjacent building that wasn't even a hotel. So much for custormer care. Luckily plenty of hotel alternatives nearby. Avoid...

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guest513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2015

This is a funky boutique hotel in central Madrid. The rooms are not large, but they have great "arty" décor. It is located in a narrow street with restaurants nearby. The staff are really friendly and helpful. It is well located being only a short walk from Grand Via and an easy walk to the Prado and other sites.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zenz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Great location for exploring old Madrid. Excellent air conditioning, very quiet with the double glazed windows closed. A small but functional room. Located in an interesting lively street. The staff were really helpful and friendly. We took advantage of the pick-up and drop off at the airport.Will recommend to friends who may come to Madrid. Breakfast very good.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ashtiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
habal, Director General at Hotel Abalu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2015

Dear Mr. Roberts,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing us and for sharing your experience at Abalu Hotels. We are glad you have such a positive impression. We are looking forward to welcome you again soon. It would be a pleasure to have you with us.

Please, receive kind regards from the Abalu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

We expected something very different.
From the photos on internet the hotel look like a fantastic chic hotel.
And in some ways it is.
But when we arrived there they gave us an apartment, in another building.
So not a room in the hotel.
And this room was not so cleaned and curated.
Not a place where to come back.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Lorenzo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews