We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep looking”
Review of Hotel Abalu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Abalu
Ranked #315 of 443 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 3 March 2016

Unfortunately there were so many things wrong with this hotel room. If you want a room in a reputable hotel close to restaurants, shopping and attractions, this is not your hotel. The bar next door was open until after midnight and difficult to get any sleep. The only good thing is that there is a flat fee of 30 Euros from the hotels in downtown to the airport. It is 30 minutes to the airport from this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sherry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2015 via mobile

My first draft review of this hotel was far harsher than this but I wanted to be fair as possible so I waited until our final night to write this review. Pros for this hotel are the area in which it is located; with many good night spots and restaurants. For the most part the staff is helpful and accommodating. Now the cons. This is basically a converted old apartment building with some new (and cheap) furnishings to make it look "boutique". Our king-sized bed was two cheap single mattresses put together and which came apart all the time and meant a bad nights sleep. The walls are very thin and you can hear your neighbors. We booked thru Bookings.com and therefore got a decent rate and that made this hotel tolerable. Had we booked directly thru the hotel the rate would have been higher and this review more scathing. In short we would not stay here again.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Jiro1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2015

Asked for a room in high floor and was given a dark basement 'suite' in an adjacent building that wasn't even a hotel. So much for custormer care. Luckily plenty of hotel alternatives nearby. Avoid...

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guest513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2015

This is a funky boutique hotel in central Madrid. The rooms are not large, but they have great "arty" décor. It is located in a narrow street with restaurants nearby. The staff are really friendly and helpful. It is well located being only a short walk from Grand Via and an easy walk to the Prado and other sites.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zenz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Great location for exploring old Madrid. Excellent air conditioning, very quiet with the double glazed windows closed. A small but functional room. Located in an interesting lively street. The staff were really helpful and friendly. We took advantage of the pick-up and drop off at the airport.Will recommend to friends who may come to Madrid. Breakfast very good.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ashtiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
habal, Director General at Hotel Abalu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2015

Dear Mr. Roberts,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing us and for sharing your experience at Abalu Hotels. We are glad you have such a positive impression. We are looking forward to welcome you again soon. It would be a pleasure to have you with us.

Please, receive kind regards from the Abalu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#86 of 443 in Madrid
1,071 reviews
Malasaña
7 Islas Hotel
7 Islas Hotel
#74 of 443 in Madrid
1,452 reviews
Centro
HOTEL OPERA
HOTEL OPERA
#137 of 443 in Madrid
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasaña
Tryp Madrid Centro
Tryp Madrid Centro
#265 of 443 in Madrid
1,060 reviews
Malasaña
Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel
Centro
Dear Hotel Madrid
Dear Hotel Madrid
#78 of 443 in Madrid
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abalu

Address: Calle Pez 19, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#177 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: €66 - €183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Abalu 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel in Madrid's Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Abalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalu Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing