We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but rooms a bit dark”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection
Ranked #113 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location but rooms a bit dark”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Lovely hotel in a great location with wonderful rooms. However, be sure to request a room with actual windows. The one they gave me had small portholes as windows and barely any light entered the room. I requested a room change but was told no rooms were available due to 100% occupancy (not quite 100% sure if this was true as the hotel was very quiet). The spa was great although the gym lacks enough equipment for a real work out (if that is what you require). Right across the street is Retiro Park which is a great place for a jog. I would consider staying here again if I got a room with sunlight.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    156
    52
    22
    10
See reviews for
101
262
21
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

An incredible hotel to arrive when you are jet lagged. Very comfortable and very accommodating and helpful staff. Free WiFi which is such a plus. The bed was very comfortable and the location was perfect to hit the big museums in Madrid.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank czlms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I stayed just one night in this hotel on a whirlwind trip to Madrid and found it to be ideally located for exploring the historic city centre. Right across the street from Parque del Retiro, the hotel is also very close to the Prado museum. The staff was very friendly and attentive and the interiors very sophisticated and well appointed. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rohit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Visited Madrid in October during the banking demonstrations - not a great time to explore the city at night! Nevertheless, we stayed in a beautiful, contemporary room with a seating area and dining table dividing the bedroom (jr. suite?) Room was not available on arrival so they stored our bags and we left immediately for the Prado. Was able to tour quickly before the crowds arrived - got a semi-private tour with an English speaking guide which was so much better than the usual audioguided tour - MUST see Las Meninas (sp?) by Velasquez, expecially if you plan to go to the Picasso museum in Barcelona. One hour tour was 10 euros/pp. LOVED the free Nespresso machine in the hotel room. Didn't try the hotel breakfast - was pricey and didn't seem that interesting. Staff was very helpful with maps and directions to various sites.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shari F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

The bldg is very pretty and the location is great; it was wonderful to have free wifi in room. Rooms were spacious, clean, well decorated. We loved the free drinks in the room fridge and all the toiletries as well. The staff was young, but very friendly and helpful, by far the best staff during our 2wk trip. Some (-): don't stay on ground or fourth floor. Our 4th fl room had no windows other than 2 ship portholes near the ceiling. When we moved the next night to ground fl, the room was spacious and beautiful but very noisy. Bar was boring, agree that food/drink overpriced. We paid 1 nt and used points 1 nt, otherwise I'd say the hotel is also overpriced...& it's not a level 7, I'm afraid.

Room Tip: stay away from ground and 4th floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chamberi
AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#11 of 435 in Madrid
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Huertas
NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection

Property: AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection
Address: Calle Alfonso XII 14, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#44 Family Hotel in Madrid
#80 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#84 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#96 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palatial home built in the beginning of the 20th century converted into a discreet 50 room luxury hotel. Unique building protected by National Heritage status where you can enjoy the pleasure of resting in one of the historic buildings of the centre of the city, located in front of the famous Retiro Park and close to the Paseo de Recoletos. It occupies the centre of the magical Art Triangle, Prado Museum, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Collection and Reina Sofia National Art Museum. Ideally located in the centre of the cultural, financial and business area. A full service business centre, counting with 5 meeting rooms of different sizes equipped with internet WIFI system makes of the AC Hotel Palacio del Retiro, Autograph Collection the ideal venue for holding meetings, conferences and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection Hotel Madrid
Ac Hotels Madrid
Ac Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing