We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible experience”

Devour Madrid Food Tours
Ranked #1 of 117 Food & Drink in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Madrid like a local on our small group food tours! A Devour Madrid Food Tour is a fun-filled walking tour and culinary experience for visitors and locals alike. Join us as we taste our way around Madrid on one of our exciting food tasting and cultural walking tours. Discover the people and ingredients behind authentic Spanish cuisine while we make our way around the city. Guests can enjoy sampling food and learning the history, culture and traditions of Madrid as we visit its best markets, tapas bars, specialty food shops, bakeries and more. Our offerings include daytime food tours, evening tapas tours, flamenco and tapas tours, wine and tapas tours, tapas and history tours and Prado Museum and Botin lunch tours.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We did the Madrid history and tapas tour with Caitlin and it was awesome. It was a small group, just 10 people, which was a perfect size to be able to get to know everyone while learning some of the history of Madrid and trying some really great food and drink. Highly recommend!!!

Thank Mdennis28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin O, Operations Manager at Devour Madrid Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Hello!
I'm so happy to hear you had a nice time on the Tapas, Taverns and History tour with our guide, Caitlin! I hope you were able to use what you learned on tour to continue going out like a local during the rest of your stay. I also hope you'll check out the Devour Tours we offer in other Spanish cities and that we will see you again on tour with us in the future!
Safe travels,
Erin, Devour Madrid Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"history tour"
in 202 reviews
"spanish cuisine"
in 139 reviews
"tapas"
in 788 reviews
"market tour"
in 76 reviews
"taverns history"
in 49 reviews
"huertas neighborhood food"
in 36 reviews
"first night"
in 113 reviews
"food and wine"
in 92 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 74 reviews
"small group"
in 68 reviews
"great introduction"
in 49 reviews
"churros"
in 57 reviews
"excellent tour"
in 40 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 45 reviews
"wine tour"
in 41 reviews
"fantastic guide"
in 27 reviews
"flamenco show"
in 62 reviews
Filter

235 - 239 of 2,199 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

We booked the Huertas Neighbourhood Food & Market Tour and had a great guide, an Irish lass named Yvonne who now lives in Madrid and knows so much about this fabulous local area and its providores, many who are running family businesses passed down through generations. The only way to discover the real heart and soul of a city is to get out and meet the local traders who are so passionate about what they do, whether it's a fruiterer in the markets, an artisan baker or a Tapas Bar operator - it's these people that are keeping the traditions of Madrid alive so visitors like us can enjoy the fruits of their labour. A word of warning. DO NOT eat before you go on this tour because the amount you will eat as you work your way through the neighborhood is astounding! Well done Devour, we are now looking forward to our Tapas night tour in Seville!

Thank RCB148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin O, Operations Manager at Devour Madrid Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi!
It was such a pleasure to read this review, it sounds like you completely understand the passion we have at Devour to show visitors these little family-run shops and tapas bars and get their stories out there! I'm so happy you had a nice time on tour with our guide, Yvonne. She really knows her stuff when it comes to Madrid food and culture. Enjoy the rest of your travels throughout Spain and your tour in Seville!
Safe travels,
Erin, Devour Madrid Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin O, Operations Manager at Devour Madrid Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Not knowing a thing about Spanish food, we figured this would be a great introduction so we booked the Ultimate Spanish Cuisine Tour for our first full day in Madrid. I liked that there were a vast variety of foods and drinks to try and that the group would be no more than 12.
We were met in Plaza Mayor by Joy. She was an absolutely delightful guide. She may be a native New Yorker, but she has lived in Madrid for the past 8-years and her passion for the city is infectious. Introductions were made between all of the guests and we were off to our first stop.
Every stop on the tour is a family-run business, which I think is awesome. They're also the kind of places that you may not find on your own. My personal favorite stop offered 3-different kinds of jamon, including the highly-revered Jamon Iberico, along with an explanation as to what made each ham what it was. That alone was worth the price of the tour because it was the real deal.
I don't want to give away every stop because they strive to keep some surprises for the guests. But I will say that every place offers incredible food along with the occasional adult beverage and by the end of it all, you will be *stuffed*. We didn't really eat again for the rest of the day!
You'll walk about a mile, I think. There's some small inclines and only one stretch where you walk any distance. Otherwise the stops are all nicely compacted into a very reasonable stroll.
I'm not someone who normally seeks out a tour...but this was an exception and it turns out it was one of the highlights of my amazing first trip to Spain.
Thanks to Joy for being awesome and answering my myriad questions about Spain and Madrid that went way beyond food thru-out the tour!

1  Thank clarebear05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin O, Operations Manager at Devour Madrid Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi!
I'm so happy to hear that you had a nice time on the Ultimate Spanish Cuisine tour with our guide, Joy! She really is an expert when it comes to all things Madrid. I am also a very big fan of that lovely, family run-ham shop- no better jamón ibérico de bellota in the city! I hope you were able to use what you learned on tour to continue going out for a local during the rest of your stay in Madrid! I also hope that you'll check out the other Devour Tours we offer, both here in Madrid and in other Spanish cities, and that we'll see you on tour with us again soon!
Safe travels,
Erin, Devour Madrid Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin O, Operations Manager at Devour Madrid Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Devour Madrid Food Tours also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Devour Madrid Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing