We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 7 Islas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
7 Islas Hotel
Ranked #100 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Manchester
Level Contributor
86 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We really enjoyed our four nights stay at Siete Islas. Our room was clean and fairly spacious. The bed was large and comfortable and the room was equipped with an LCD TV, aircon, digital lock safe, a desk and a couple of chairs. There was also a minibar which requires a key from reception to open it but we didn’t use it. The Wifi in the room had a strong and steady signal. The only slight criticism is that both my wife and I found the pillows a little bit uncomfortable, apart from that everything was fine. The bathroom was large and had both a bath and shower, toiletries were replenished when necessary. Our room faced a courtyard so there was no noise from the street at night.

The hotel was easy to get to from the airport using public transport. We found the location of the hotel to be very good as the Gran Via and the metro station are just at the bottom of the street. Gran Via has lots of shops, restaurants and theatres and some interesting side streets leading off it. As others have said, there are some hookers working near the Gran Via and especially across the other side of the Gran Via leading down to Puerta del Sol but this wasn’t a problem for us and we felt safe walking about the area. There are also a couple of streets that run parallel to Calle Valverde that have lots of shops and some bars and restaurants, one bar we liked in particular was La Tita Rivera.

The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and spoke good English. There was a clean and bright reception area with a PC with access to the internet. We were given a hot chocolate while we checked in which was much appreciated. Near reception there was a nice bar area with comfortable seating and a TV. The drinks prices at the bar were not overly expensive which was good.

Our rate included breakfast which was excellent. There was lots of fresh fruit, cold meats, cheeses, cereals, pastries, yoghurt, etc. There was also bacon, eggs and sausages along with juice, tea, coffee etc . The breakfast room was very clean and the staff made sure that food was replenished frequently.

Overall we found Siete Islas to be a very good hotel.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tedlooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sieteislas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at 7 Islas Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your lovely comments and for sharing them with all the TripAdvisor users. I am delighted to hear that you did not just enjoy Madrid and SieteIslas but also our location. We really think that it is a great location, fun and cool, close to the best restaurants, bars & markets.. and fantastic for shopping. Your great tips will help our future guests so, again, thank you! We hope to welcome you back soon, till then, warmest regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    585
    136
    29
    15
See reviews for
166
583
73
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here in February 2012 for almost 36 hours. What me and my wife we wanted was a rather central hotel, not so hard to get to from the airport (first time in madrid, odd arrival hours). The hotel fit the bill perfectly.
As far as the location goes, if you arrive like us at 2 a.m. in the morning and notice some of the graffiti (they are artistic graffiti, only some ugly ones) on the buildings nearby, you may get an unsecure feeling, but it's 2 a.m in the night, we were tired so, our insecurity was a little unjustified.
Checkin was smooth, we were given the room key, upon arrival the room was very warm (we came from Bucharest where it was -15 deg.) and quickly took a shower and jumped into bed.
The bathroom was large, had all the toiletries we expected.
The room was very nice, not so spacious as we may have wanted (we had 2 big suitcases that had to remain unpacked, since we were leaving in less than 2 days). Other than that we had an LCD tv, mini bar, good bed, good air conditioning.
One thing that we actually did not think was ok, was that our room had the electrical panel inside the room, and it was buzzing, you would not hear it with the room heating turned on, but otherwise you would. perhaps it should be replaced, or investigate why the buzzing sound occurs.
Wifi Internet was working in the room, with good speed, quite responsive.
We did not get breakfast in the hotel, we found it a bit too expensive, so we cannot comment on that. There are plenty of places to eat nearby.

All in all we would stay here again, given the price is right.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DyJohnnY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sieteislas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at 7 Islas Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your time, your comments and your feedback. We take all them into account. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we really hope to welcome you back very soon. All the best from Madrid!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

The rooms are big and comfortable, and free Wifi is available in all of them. This hotel is not part of a chain, so the decoration doesn’t bring that boring feeling of “déjà vu”.
Breakfast buffet is a bit expensive, especially for those who are not looking for a massive meal, but next to the hotel there are a couple of cafeterias where a cup of coffee with a croissant is just two euros.
Location is good, next to Gran Via, the shopping area of Fuencarral St. and the gay neighborhood, Chueca, but the street of the hotel divides the red district and the respectable area, being more in the red district side. This didn’t look especially dangerous or dirty, but can add a bit of discomfort to some sensitive customers. The street also can be noisy at night, but windows are well isolated.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chus_Gijon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sieteislas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at 7 Islas Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Guest, fantastic comments about the Hotel, thank you so much for sharing them with us. Really appreciate your feedback. Please be aware that we are not in the red district, we are actually in the heart of Triball and of course, as you said, just by Gran Via, Madrid´s main commercial street. No doubts that we are actually in the best area of the capital for night life, shopping, cultural visits, dining.... all within walking distance. Our Team and myself hopes to welcome you back to SieteIslas very soon. Warmest regards and again, thank you for sharing your opinion with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

This is an excellent 4 star hotel very close to the Gran Via. The rooms are large and clean with a large bathroom. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We were on a room only basis but there are lots of places for breakfast in the area. The location is great for sightseeing as you can walk to all the attractions. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sieteislas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at 7 Islas Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your lovely comments, speacially about our Team and our service. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed the Hotel, our rooms and our location. Just one question, we are you coming back? We hope to welcome you back very soon! Kindest regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Location:
The location of this Hotel is perfect as it is located on most lively and famous street of Madrid - Calle Gran Via, hardly 5 minutes away from subway Gran Via, which makes it easily accessible at any hour of the night. Most of the tourist attractions are within walkable distance like Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor etc.. or at a very short distance using subway. But, I am still giving AVERAGE rating to its location because there is a "sex shop" very close to the Hotel and I noticed two hookers waiting for customers infront of the shop at 21:30 in night, and as I was travelling with my parents - I found it a little uncomfortable. After you come out of GranVia subway, cross the road and take the small street close to the huge Telefonica building. Although it is hardly a 20 meter walk on that street, I found it a little shady - mainly because of less number of people and obviously, two hookers (although they didn't try to interact with us).

Hotel:
The staff was very helpful, knew very good english and offered us Hot Chocolate Shots as soon as we arrived. That was somthing really nice! Breakfast was also full of options.
Rooms are very spacious and clean with FREE wifi, Big bathroom with basic toiletries and an electronic safe in the wardrobe. We didn't notice any disturbances at night, so sleep quality was also very good.

Eating Out:
There are lot of restaurants near Gran Via with inside as well as outside seating arrangement, some with live singer and musician as well, so if you are a foodie, you will be spoilt with choices!

I didn't find any cons about this hotel except the one mentioned in Location section above. Especially If you are not travelling with your parents/family then you won't even feel any such discomfort. Recommended for Couples/Friends.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MILAN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sieteislas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at 7 Islas Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear Guest! Thank you so much for your fantastic review about the Hotel, we are delighted to know that you enjoyed the Hotel, our rooms and our buffet breakfast. We actually think that our location is our strongest point, in the heart of Madrid, by Gran Via, Fuencarral and Chueca: the best area in Madrid for shopping, night life, cultural visits, dining, etc! The area, re named Triball, is becoming one of the coolest areas in Spain.... you can discover Madrid without taking a single bus or taxi! all within walking distance (so healthy too!).
The Team and myself waits now to welcome you back. Warmest regards from a sunny Madrid and agian, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Lusso Infantas
Lusso Infantas
#82 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#88 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
H10 Villa de la Reina Boutique Hotel
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces Centro
Malasana
Petit Palace Triball
Petit Palace Triball
#69 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 7 Islas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 7 Islas Hotel

Property: 7 Islas Hotel
Address: Calle Valverde 14, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Madrid
#73 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#91 Family Hotel in Madrid
#102 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — 7 Islas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Hotel in central Madrid, near Gran Via street, one of the most vital streets in the city. A modern hotel, offering comfort, service and location to be one of the most comfortable hotels in Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your 7 Islas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siete Islas Madrid
Siete Islas Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing