We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$75
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/08/21
Expedia.com
US$71
View deal
Official website
US$78
US$68
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/08/21
Hotels.comUS$71
TravelocityUS$71
HurbUS$78
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,298)
Filter reviews
2,298 results
Traveller rating
754
1,212
242
59
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
754
1,212
242
59
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plaza mayor toledo metro stop great location within walking distance city break hotel bar minute walk reception staff clean hotel royal palace del sol street spain stadium
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 2,298 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2020

We had to cancel our reservation due to the pandemic. While we were past the cancellation window, the Ganivet Hotel did eventually give us a full refund after initially offering a credit. Not all establishments did that so kudos to the Ganivet Hotel! When we do eventually take our trip to Madrid you can be sure we will be staying at there

Date of stay: March 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank MaureenBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 May 2020

Dear Maureen,
Thank you very much for your nice review. It will be our pleasure to host you in the future and if there is anything we can do for you, please let us know.
Best regards.
Miguel Ángel Gisbert - Jefe de recepción

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2020

I know the Hotel is now closed, however I’m hoping someone will be able to read this.

If not – Hello, its May!

We would just like to thank ALL the staff at the Hotel Ganivet for looking after us this weekend past (12th – 15th March) This, for all, was surreal circumstances but you made us feel safe, secure and at home within the hotel. You treated us well during this unusual period.

It’s the commitment from staff like you guys that make a hotel and you have proved your commitment to Porcel Hoteles during this time. I would appreciate you passing on my comments to your director as we want the senior management within your organisation to know what we think of you all. From reception staff to kitchen staff and everyone in between.

We look forward to returning to our favourite Madrid Hotel when COVID-19 allows and I wish you all good health in the meantime. Stay Safe our Spanish Friends.

Best wishes

Carol

Room tip: Always ask for a terrace room
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank CarolM03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 May 2020

Dear Carol,
Thank you for your review and we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive on always providing every guest with the best hospitality therefore your feedback is important to us. We hope to welcome you back in the future to host you again. Best regards.
Miguel Ánfel Gisbert - Jefe de recepción

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2020 via mobile

Location superb for walking or public transport, close to Plaza Toledo Metro and handy for lots of buses. Hotel is friendly, efficient, room was large, clean, and had all you need for a good value stay.
Turned out I stayed there a few years ago, and I would book it again for any city break of football event (there for Atleti v LFC).

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank AndyLFC_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 February 2020

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review and we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are delighted to see that you had many highlights during your stay. It is a pleasure to read that these include our team, location and cleanliness and all of them have provided you an enjoyable and memorable trip to Madrid. We look forward to hosting you again as our valuable guest. Warm regards.
Lavinia S-Dpto Recepcion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2020 via mobile

Extra mile service attitude impresses me the most. Helpful in finding restaurants, transportation. All staff members are professional, friendly and wonderful. They go all out to assist me in anyway and walk that extra mile to provide their loving tender care attitude. Extremely impressed and definitely recommend to any travellers to Madrid. Rooms are very clean and spacious. Breakfast at the hotel is excellent and reasonable in price. Will check back into Ganivet when we return to Madrid from the Southern region of Spain in a couple of weeks.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 384beny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 February 2020

Dear traveler,
First of all thank you for the time taken to rate your stay, and share your feelings after your stay at our hotel.
We are pleased to know that the effort and professionalism of the hotel staff bears fruit and meets the expectations of our customers.
Also, and not least, is to know firsthand that you have enjoyed our varied buffet breakfast, and our wonderful location just 10 minutes walk from the Plaza Mayor and the Historic and Gastronomic Center of Madrid.
We will be happy to welcome you again on your return to our hotel.
Do not hesitate to check the Porcel Hotels, to know our hotels and destinations.
Receive a cordial greeting,
Juan Antonio
Reception Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2020

-Hotel; located in “Latin Quarter” which is very convenient to transport, restaurants, bars, supermarket, etc., There are 2 Metro stations located few minutes walk from the hotel, also few minutes walk to the Plaza Mayor and Sol.
-Hotel and the room; are very cleaned, and housekeeping changed towels every day. But they didn’t replenish shampoo so we had to ask twice from the Reception. Since the standard room was very small we paid extra for a “Superior Room” therefore we had ample space in the room.
-Breakfast; was really good, there were many things to choose from. The staff at the breakfast was also very active and always replenishing the buffet as well as cleaning as soon as guests leave tables.
-Reception; we were not impressed with most of Reception staff since they were not friendly, helpful and service minded. If you ask something they just tried to give you some info for the sake of giving, don’t care whether guests understand them or not, in a way showing “they don’t care” in spite of they were not busy! Therefore, we avoided many times asking info from them. Even before we flying to Madrid we wrote some emails asking some info – answers we received neither helpful nor service minded, that too received after sent same questions 2 times.
However night before we leave the hotel we had to talk to the Reception, and there was “Laura” (?) whom we found was service minded and helpful. When we told her we have paid for the breakfast but not able to have next morning since we have to leave the hotel very early hours to the Airport, so asked whether she can get some breakfast arrange for us to pick-up from the Reception at 05:00 hrs. She said yes she will arrange. She herself asked us whether she need to arrange a taxi for us, then we told her we were planning to pick a taxi just from the road in front of the hotel. Then she said, sometime it might be difficult on a Sunday early hours, so she advised us to book a taxi through her, and we agreed and she did it. This is what I called service minded! (I myself was a hotelier, worked in 5* hotels for many years)
-We were in the hotel bar few times, and enjoyed every time sitting there and enjoyed drinks/cocktails! That was because barman/waiter “Octavio” who mostly served us was exceptionally nice, friendly and served us with a smile. He deserved all our appreciations! So, thank you Octavio being a service minded and served us (and all other guests) with a smile in spite he was very busy unlike Receptionists!
-TV; on the guide left on the table shown there are 2 English channels but when we tried none were there! Then my husband went to the Reception and asked about it, they said no English Channels but my husband still told them it is shown on the guide saying there are 2 English Channels, still they denied. Then when Reception asked a technician he has told yes there are English Channels. Then Reception promised to send a technician to the room. But, when a technician came to the room to check he couldn’t find any English Channels. He talked to us in Spanish, we didn’t understand a word he said, nor the Reception cared to explain or provide us English Channels. So, all our stay we didn’t have a single English channel but Spanish and Spanish and a German Channel.
Even though the location was convenient and breakfast was nice still the price we paid was expensive for what we have got, so the money we paid could have got much better!

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jayaseeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 February 2020

Dear Jayaseeli,
Firstly, we want to thank the time dedicated to assessing our hotel. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed our location in "La Latina" quarter, named after “La Latina” theater, which is located a few minutes away from the hotel. Also, nearby there is a boutiques area, restaurants and the main tourist spots to visit within Madrid center. On the other hand, we inform you that you booked a standard room, not a superior room so we are pleased to know that you found it suitable in size.
We are very surprised for your comments about our staff since we tried to help you on all occasions that you requested us information or help during your stay in our hotel. If it wasn't enough for you, we apologize and we will try to improve in the future. In reference to the "English channels", it was a timely connection problem that has already been fixed; we beg you accept our apologies for the inconvenience. Best regards.
Miguel Ángel Gisbert - Jefe de recepción

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews