We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (927)
Filter reviews
927 results
Traveller rating
517
322
60
20
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
517
322
60
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plaza mayor great location stayed at the catalonia puerta del sol inner courtyard excellent hotel tapas central location street view our room was spacious the air conditioning walking distance other hotels coffee machine main attractions on foot train station
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 927 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Friendly and helpful staff, clean and well kept rooms. Snacks free of charge in teatime from 5PM to 7PM. Smooth procedure of checking in and out. The small drawback - the double bed (as requested by us in reservation formular) turned out to be two composed one next to another single beds. It was not too comfortable.

Date of stay: September 2018
1  Thank JanisLatvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Starting with the reception staff, we felt welcome. We were offered two tickets for cava or refreshments at the bar, we only used one. Loved the breakfast selection, everything was fresh and plenty. Good coffee. Only negative: the restaurant is advertised as closing at 11pm, we arrived there at 10:30pm and were rushed by the young woman, who I understand must have been tired after a long day, but she could have been a little more friendly.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nohra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

The hotel is excellent. Very good location, friendly staff, comfortable and nice rooms. very clean. Very good wifi, very good and variety breakfast. Every day between 5-8 p.m.they have happy hour. We took 3 room and we stay 4 nights. We enjoyed the hotel.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank vtariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

I travel to Madrid regularly &, after staying in a few other central hotels, this is the one I always go back to. The staff are polite & helpful, the hotel is prefectly situated, close to Sol, Plaza Mayor & a within a 15 minute walk to Atocha station. The interior courtyard is beautiful &, if you book directly through the hotel website, a free glass of cava is offered upon arrival.

Date of stay: August 2018
1  Thank usatravelinggals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed at the Catalonia Puerta Del Sol recently with my mam, not only were we greeting by wonderful staff but also with a beautiful fragrance upon entering the hotel.

Our room was spacious, comfortable and modern. This is a peaceful hotel whereby guests are guaranteed a peaceful nights sleep.

We did not opt for breakfast as they are many places nearby to eat in the mornings, this was just a personal choice of ours.

The hotel is ideally suited for those looking to explore the city and for wonderful places to wine and dine.

If returning to Madrid, I would come back.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank CarbsAreLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews