We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
54
82
37
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
82
37
18
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have been to Madrid multiple times. This was our first time here at this accommodation. We loved it and wished we had known about it in the past. Okay, the single room bathroom was small, but the room itself was roomy. Our double room was perfectly fine for two people and we had no issue with the size of the room or bathroom.

They do have a 2 night minimum policy, however, the booking agency we used assured us one night was fine. We only stayed one night, but wish it were more. We had come from Cadiz earlier in the day and we flew home the next day from Madrid.

The one worker had limited English, but was great with charades. The other gentleman spoke more English. However, this should not be a deterrent. They were ultra sweet.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Loved the location of the small hotel on a lovely old street. My room was spacious and clean. This hotel is in a great location and is very affordable. It's near coffee bars, affordable restaurants, and of course museums. I would most definitely stay at Oporto again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 888Elaine888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This small hotel is located in the center of Madrid, on a quiet side street off the Paseo del Prado, meaning excellent connections w/ the main Atocha railway station as well as the Express Airport Bus service.
Many of the city's attractions are just walking distance away, such as the Puerta del Sol, Gran Vía and the Prado Museum.
For those wanting to venture further afield, there is a metro station less than 5 minutes' walk away.
The wife & I stayed here for three nights and, on arrival, we were welcomed by a staff member who spoke English very well, as my Spanish is only at a basic level, and they were friendly and welcoming, despite our 11pm arrival time! The rooms are of a decent size, w/ en-suite bathroom and the usual amenities. There was also free wi-fi included when we stayed there, which is always welcome! The hotel do not own the whole building, and are located on the first floor, only accessible by stairs, so no disabled access here, just a heads-up.
The only issue I had during our stay - and even then, it wasn't a major thing - was how thin the walls were; I could hear the conversation of the couple in the next room to us and I could hear the music channel they were playing on their TV.
All in all, I would say we enjoyed our stay here, great value for money and located in central Madrid - luckily we did not have loud people staying next door to us, so we would happily recommend this place if you want a good place to stay for a somewhat cheaper price!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Badudoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

After doing a few backpacking trips, I feel pretty much done with hostels. However, I couldn't resist for this trip as most of the hostels in Madrid seem to resemble more of a small hotel or pension - private bathrooms, maid service, amenities. Hostal Oporto was no exception. For the location, you can't beat the price.

We stayed here for one night. The room was clean and bigger than some other hostels we've stayed at. Only thing was that the room seemed a little cold, even though we turned up the heat. The woman at the reception was extremely helpful. She spoke excellent English and helped us book an airport shuttle van. We had been planning to walk to the pick-up point for the shuttle bus, but for only a few Euros more we could have a van pick us up right outside the hotel. No hassle, no worries about making it on the bus. So worth it, as we both were catching different flights and had two different pickup times. (The next morning's pickup was right on time and stress-free)

I wouldn't choose this hotel for an extended stay, but it gets the job done for a night or two.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ivyrosewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This hotel is in a great location very close to a lot of the museums and within walking distance of many of the sights of Madrid. It is also only a couple of minutes walk from a metro stop if you decide you want to take public transport. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was on the small side but had everything you needed and was clean, the bathroom was also small but functional and clean. Air-con was available but the windows also opened. Wi-fi was excellent. Only negatives were that the bedspread looked slightly worn and dated and the TV was very old and small and positioned near the ceiling but if you are spending most of your time outside that is not too much of a problem. Overall it was great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frizznut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews