We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and basic no frills hotel with good central location. Good value for money too”
Review of Hostal Oporto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostal Oporto
Ranked #337 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 10 November 2014

Just got back from a weekend stay in Madrid (first week of November) and chose to stay at Hostal Oporto. The location is excellent for its proximity to the shops on Gran Via, Atocha train station and to other attractions (eg. Thyssen Museum next door). The Hostal is located on a quiet street with not much passing traffic and the presence of security guards/police guarding what looked like a governmental building adjacent to the Hostal's entrance makes you feel safe and secure at all hours.

The Hostal itself was a perfect base for a short stay in Madrid:
- Easy check in (Maria Isabel at reception is helpful and very friendly)
- Easy and painless check out (They collect your keys without any trouble upon checkout and will order you a taxi, if needed. They also offer a shuttle service for EUR 9, which picks you up at the Hostal and takes you to the airport directly - v convenient)
- The Hostal is safe and secure (being on the first floor of a rather beautiful period building complete with wooden staircase, large windows and marble flooring when you first enter the front door from street level)
- All rooms are basic but extremely clean and tidy (especially the all important bathroom and shower areas!)
- Rooms are comfortable (there is A/C, a small TV and microwave in the larger rooms)
- Strong wifi connection and it was free and easy to connect to
- Quiet rooms, which made resting during the evenings and sleep at nights comfortable (perhaps this also had to do with the time of year I chose to visit)
- Great value for money and perfect for a short stay (whether on a budget or otherwise)

One slight criticism was the comfort of the single beds:
- The bed could have been firmer, less squeaky and all around more comfortable, as it was quite difficult to sleep at nights, which was a bit of a pain
(I was staying in a single room, but had family which occupied the Hostal's larger room and they had similar complaints about the single beds there, although the quality of the double beds were absolutely fine, were comfortable to sleep in and what you would normally expect from a hotel/hostal)

Would definitely go back to Hostal Oporto and perhaps book a stay in a double room for a little more space and a better bed!

Room Tip: If travelling with family (up to 4 ppl) ask for the end rooms that face each other (Rooms 13 and 9...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have been to Madrid multiple times. This was our first time here at this accommodation. We loved it and wished we had known about it in the past. Okay, the single room bathroom was small, but the room itself was roomy. Our double room was perfectly fine for two people and we had no issue with the size of the room or bathroom.

They do have a 2 night minimum policy, however, the booking agency we used assured us one night was fine. We only stayed one night, but wish it were more. We had come from Cadiz earlier in the day and we flew home the next day from Madrid.

The one worker had limited English, but was great with charades. The other gentleman spoke more English. However, this should not be a deterrent. They were ultra sweet.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BudaBaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Loved the location of the small hotel on a lovely old street. My room was spacious and clean. This hotel is in a great location and is very affordable. It's near coffee bars, affordable restaurants, and of course museums. I would most definitely stay at Oporto again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 888Elaine888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This small hotel is located in the center of Madrid, on a quiet side street off the Paseo del Prado, meaning excellent connections w/ the main Atocha railway station as well as the Express Airport Bus service.
Many of the city's attractions are just walking distance away, such as the Puerta del Sol, Gran Vía and the Prado Museum.
For those wanting to venture further afield, there is a metro station less than 5 minutes' walk away.
The wife & I stayed here for three nights and, on arrival, we were welcomed by a staff member who spoke English very well, as my Spanish is only at a basic level, and they were friendly and welcoming, despite our 11pm arrival time! The rooms are of a decent size, w/ en-suite bathroom and the usual amenities. There was also free wi-fi included when we stayed there, which is always welcome! The hotel do not own the whole building, and are located on the first floor, only accessible by stairs, so no disabled access here, just a heads-up.
The only issue I had during our stay - and even then, it wasn't a major thing - was how thin the walls were; I could hear the conversation of the couple in the next room to us and I could hear the music channel they were playing on their TV.
All in all, I would say we enjoyed our stay here, great value for money and located in central Madrid - luckily we did not have loud people staying next door to us, so we would happily recommend this place if you want a good place to stay for a somewhat cheaper price!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Badudoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

After doing a few backpacking trips, I feel pretty much done with hostels. However, I couldn't resist for this trip as most of the hostels in Madrid seem to resemble more of a small hotel or pension - private bathrooms, maid service, amenities. Hostal Oporto was no exception. For the location, you can't beat the price.

We stayed here for one night. The room was clean and bigger than some other hostels we've stayed at. Only thing was that the room seemed a little cold, even though we turned up the heat. The woman at the reception was extremely helpful. She spoke excellent English and helped us book an airport shuttle van. We had been planning to walk to the pick-up point for the shuttle bus, but for only a few Euros more we could have a van pick us up right outside the hotel. No hassle, no worries about making it on the bus. So worth it, as we both were catching different flights and had two different pickup times. (The next morning's pickup was right on time and stress-free)

I wouldn't choose this hotel for an extended stay, but it gets the job done for a night or two.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ivyrosewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hostal Armesto
Hostal Armesto
#297 of 441 in Madrid
121 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Miralva
Hostal Miralva
#369 of 441 in Madrid
42 reviews
Chueca
Hostal Zamora
Hostal Zamora
#214 of 441 in Madrid
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Comercial
Hostal Comercial
#228 of 441 in Madrid
227 reviews
Hostal Conchita Legazpi
#324 of 441 in Madrid
26 reviews
Huertas
Hostal San Antonio
Hostal San Antonio
#292 of 441 in Madrid
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Oporto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Oporto

Address: Calle Zorrilla 9, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: €35 - €73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Oporto 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We all know the importance of getting enough rest when we travel, both on holiday and on business trips. The Hostel Oporto has always placed special emphasis on guaranteeing the necessary peace and quiet for these moments of rest. The main objective of our hostel is for you to feel comfortable with us and for your stay in Madrid to be within a pleasant environment with all the possible facilities. The Hostel Oporto offers a new information and reservation service which is more comfortable and efficient. We have also chosen to include useful data and tourist information which will guide you during your visit to Madrid. This is further evidence of our commitment to accommodate all those who wish to see our city, offering them a comfortable and clean place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostal Oporto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Oporto Madrid
Hostal Oporto Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing