We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful church in Madrid!”

Real Basilica de San Francisco el Grande
Book In Advance
More Info
US$104.82*
and up
Madrid Private Full Day Walking Tour with Lunch
Ranked #23 of 757 things to do in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful church in Madrid!”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I got married there :) It's one otf the most beautiful churches in Madrid. The church contains paintings by Zurbarán and Francisco Goya.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank nek0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    784
    351
    82
    10
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NE Italy
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Only available via the tour.”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This was one of the last stops of our day and we weren't able to view the church unless it was via the tour. We were exhausted and not interested in the tour so we passed on it. Too bad they do not just charge an admission fee and let people see inside, if it is about money, I'd have paid the entry fee but didn't have the desire to take a tour no matter how long it was.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank amyknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madrid
Level Contributor
150 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

It is a very nice buiding, with many interesting things inside. Not to be missed

Helpful?
Thank jimmy61Madrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a ceiling”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The cathedral is very nice but the renovated ceilings (for the roal wedding) is something you should see for your self.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ruud J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“missing explanatons”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

great church but misses some written notices in english and / or another languages

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank IVANA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Real Basilica de San Francisco el Grande also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Real Basilica de San Francisco el Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing