We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small cozy hostal (pension) in the Old Town”
Review of hostal gonzalo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
hostal gonzalo
Ranked #29 of 390 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Small cozy hostal (pension) in the Old Town”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

The pension is located at the 3rd floor of the XIX century building with the tiny old-fashioned elevator where two people and their luggage could hardly fit into. There are a hall and a several rooms, fashioned in a bit odd, but pleasant mixture of old Spanish, Arabic and even a little English style.

Our room was not very large, but there was plenty of space for everything we need. There were en-suite bathroom, a wardrobe, an LCD TV, an airconditioning and a tiny balcony with forged railings, facing the quiet and cozy Calle Cervantes (5 to 10 minutes walk to the Gold Triangle). There were blinds on the window, so if it is hot, you can shut them to prevent sun to overheat the room. Also you can use airconditioning, but our host Jorge (he don't speak English, only spanish :) told us to use it only when we're in the room and windows are closed.

There were no shampoo and shower gel in the bathroom, however there was a piece of organic soap. The sink was English-styled - with two separate faucets for hot and cold water.
We found out that the free electric outlets were available only in very odd places - one in the bathroom and other just behind the ceiling.

The staff was very friendly and tried to help us in any manner. Despite our host Jorge did not speak English, that was not the great problem, because we managed to understand Spanish a little :) There were also two other men who speaks English. One man's name was Antonio, and second's man name was unknown for us, but he looked just like Russian President Dmitri Medvedev, hehe :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heavyrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    72
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
49
124
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Hostal Gonzalo is in a great location. It is welcoming, clean, reasonably priced, and the staff are very helpful. I recommend it highly for travelers who are interested in a taste of authenticity.
The elevator doors are your responsibility to close firmly if you want it to be functional.

Room Tip: Have only stayed the one time, so don't know about the variety of rooms available. Mine was jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Hotel Gonzalo is a centrally located, small, comfortable, clean and quiet hotel in Madrid.
Did I mention its central location? You can walk to anywhere of any interest from this hotel. Family-owned and operate we were greeted by one of the family and met several others during our total of four days in September 2011. They were all very helpful and, frankly, charming.
Let's be perfectly clear, this is a basic place to rest your head. However, the beds were very comfortable (firm but not hard), the linens fresh and the rooms spotless. All that for a VERY affordable rate. Most rooms have a private bathroom. Did I mention the location? Hard to beat!
A big Thank You goes out to Javier (whom we did not meet) and the other members of his family who treated us so well.
This is certain to be our 'resting spot' whenever we are in Madrid.
Book early!

Room Tip: We had rooms with windows opening onto an interior light well - a bit noisy in early evening. The s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Very welcoming and clean. What a great value for being so central, and a great neighborhood. The tiny elevator is cute,

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GordonSchmordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Javier and Jorge really do their best to keep their hostal clean, welcoming, and comfortable for their guests. They do care! The rooms are small and basic but then it's not the Ritz and you are not paying 600 Euro a night. In another word it's great value for the money. We had a room above the street with a balcony. The balcony door is new and has a tight seal when it's closed so we don't hear any street noise.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Mercure Madrid Centro
Mercure Madrid Centro
#165 of 436 in Madrid
846 reviews
Huertas
Hostal Dulcinea
Hostal Dulcinea
#274 of 436 in Madrid
148 reviews
Centro
Hostal Adriano
Hostal Adriano
#221 of 436 in Madrid
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Veracruz II
Hostal Veracruz II
#50 of 390 in Madrid
134 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Los Alpes
Hostal Los Alpes
#31 of 390 in Madrid
323 reviews
Centro
Hostal Luis XV
Hostal Luis XV
#63 of 390 in Madrid
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hostal gonzalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hostal gonzalo

Property: hostal gonzalo
Address: Calle Cervantes 34 30, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 390 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — hostal gonzalo 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Gonzalo is situated in a quiet street in the heart of the historical centre of Madrid, in a renovated building of the XIX century, 3 minutes walking from Prado Museum and Thyssen Gallery. Too you can reach easily by foot, Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, Retiro Park...Comfortable rooms with private bathroom, TV, central heating,air conditiong and free wifi access. Free access 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your hostal gonzalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Gonzalo Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing