We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,482)
Filter reviews
2,482 results
Traveller rating
1,639
600
170
48
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,639
600
170
48
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red level dry martini dry bar martini bar clarins products the hard rock cafe private lounge leading hotels of the world plaza colon premium room turn down service salamanca area luxury hotel beautiful hotel tapas breakfast buffet is upon check
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 2,482 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We selected this hotel because it is a member of American Express’ Platinum Fine Hotel & Resorts portfolio, a designation that it does not deserve. This is not a five star hotel, based on facilities and service. As we walked into the hotel we were hit by a wall of a strong, funerary floral scent that made us choke and our eyes water, clearly not emanating from the beautiful display of scentless orchids in the lobby. This unpleasant odor permeated the hotel and followed us into our room. “This is the signature Melia scent used in all of our hotels; our guests love it” chirped the Guest Relations Manager. She did offer to have it removed from our floor which was successful so if you are sensitive to odors, make that request. Do not accept a room in the 17 line. It is a tiny jigsaw puzzle of a space too small for the requisite room furniture. The chair does not fit under the desk, blocking entrance to one side of the bed so it has to be moved each time a guest wishes to go to the bed, clearly an emergency exit hazard. One of the two columns in the minuscule bathroom block the entrance so the sink counter had to be cut on an angle for the door to open allowing a scant 10 inches for the guest to squeeze sideways into the bathroom. An unnecessary door between the tiny foyer and the bedroom opens into the room, making it necessary to close the door before the tiny closet can be opened. The safe is on the lower level of the closet, making it necessary to get on hands and knees to open and close the safe. Our discussion with the Guest Relations Manager was combative, argumentative, defensive and unpleasant, but she did agree to change our room to a much larger and luxurious room in the 7 line so we agreed to stay for the second night. But our unpleasant experience caused us to cancel our three nights at the end of our trip. Sole positive aspects – the excellent barmen at the elegant Martini Bar who know how to make a perfect cocktail and the quality of the buffet breakfast. We do not recommend a stay at this property.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsa E, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Linda A,

First of all, I would like to thank you for having given us the opportunity to host you at Gran Meliá Fénix Hotel as well for sharing your experience through Tripadvisor.

Our main aim is to keep improving day by day and provide with unforgettable moments. For that reason, I would like to extend our most sincere apology if this time we did not reach your expectations.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

We look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with the real service and passion that we use to deliver.

We remain at your disposal

Elsa Escrig
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

This hotel has perfect location just on top of Hard Rock Cafe. It has a small reception and there is a switch board type telephone on the reception desk. Receptionists have to respond to all the calls while checking in the guests. While they were busy, they were polite and friendly. They gave me a very large room. My room has been looking interior side of the building, where there was no day light coming. Main bathroom had windows overseeing the hall in the building. I felt uncomfortable having a shower in the bathroom since there were no curtains but the windows were painted. The hotel has classic decoration built on a dated property but everything has been functioning and working perfectly well. This is a very typical classic European hotel which has great location. While this is a great hotel for many people, I prefer more modern and new hotel where there is more sun light coming into my room.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank TrustLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsa E, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Dear TrustLondon,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback,

In Gran Meliá Fenix we take all comments and observations very seriously in order to continuously improve our standards of quality and service.

Please, accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused if certain aspects of your stay did not lived up to your expectations.

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with all of us and we really hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back promptly and provide you with the perfect Gran Meliá experience.

Kindest Regards,

Elsa Escrig
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

We had booked an upgraded room and upon check-in requested a section of the hotel that was the quietest. Marisa at the front desk, took a few minutes to review the room layout and locations...spoke with other staff, and found us a room on the 5th floor. Double sided windows, and an interior glass-panned door which isolated the room from any hall noises. It was like sleeping in a “jewelled vault”, and exactly what I was looking for. All amenities were available for an incremental cost as befits a luxury hotel (eg. 30 euro breakfasts), but there are also many restaurants and coffee shops close by that provide a great selection. Thank you again to Marisa for making our stay so enjoyable.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nickm210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsa E, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Dear Nick M,

We are very grateful for your custom and for your delightful feedback.

Your radiant review of our service and the attitude of our staff is what really makes our efforts worth putting in.

It is truly special when our guests take their time to point out the wonderful work that our colleagues do on a daily basis and we thank you from the bottom of our collective heart.
We are glad that you found aspects of our hotel to be unique and that you were able to take advantage of the little things.

More than anything, we are overjoyed that you received our little surprises in such good spirit and hope that you are able to come back to enjoy another experience like that at Gran Melia Fenix.

Kind regards,

Elsa Escrig
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018

We stayed at this hotel Oct 14 thru 16th. We booked this hotel by seeing AMEXs fine hotels list. The location is good, We arrived there after a delayed flight and a long travel from our home city. The check in was not a pleasant one. They had no KIng bed and finally gave us two beds together. it took almost 40 mts for someone to come to the room and make up the bed. I was exhausted and was waiting for the house keeping to arrive and get our room ready. After a couple of times going down and complaining finaly they fixed our bed. it was a slow service. We had only three days in Madrid. I went and booked a museum tour through a gentleman (he said he was a manager) for the next day at 8 Am. The next day the tour people said that noone from the hotel had called them to reserve our seats. So we lost one day! I felt the front desk people were careless except one lady who tried to fix some of our issues. The front desk and check in should be a pleasant experience and keep the room ready for each clients advance reservations esp when booked through AMEX fine properties.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Reji J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsa E, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Dear Reji J,

First of all, we would like to extend our sincere gratitude for choosing Gran Melia Fenix and sharing your comments.

The comments and observations of all our guests are incredibly important to us in order to constantly improve our service.

We are extremely sorry to hear that we did not fulfill your expectations due to the incidents mentioned, Rest assured your constructive comments has been shared with the heads of the Depts. involved to prevent any recurrence and ensure our standards are always followed.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused.

Thanking you once again for sharing your comments that we extend you our kindest regards,

Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

I was only able to stay one night at this hotel and wished we had more time. It is elegant and classic without feeling stuffy or rigid. We were upgraded to a city view upon arrival and were very pleased with our room. Beds are incredibly comfortable!!! We ate at the bar in the lobby and the manager could not have been more friendly and welcoming. This hotel shines with classic touches but has kept up with modern hospitality and comfort. The breakfast buffet served has many options and was included in our stay. Location is fabulous and I would definitely stay again!

Room tip: ask to get a city view!
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickymomboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsa E, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

It is a great reward for us to receive this fabulous review!

Is genuinely gratifying for us to read that your stay was memorable, and that our unique location was convenient for you, but most importantly our attentive staff.

In Gran Meliá the guests' satisfaction is our priority and whenever we surpass your expectations, all our hard work and effort has its compensation.

Thank you very much for sharing these lovely comments with us and we keep looking forward to welcoming you back soon at your home in Madrid .

Kindest Regards,

Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews