We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
One Shot Fortuny 07(Madrid)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Centro Colon(Madrid)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,287)
Filter reviews
1,287 results
Traveller rating
1,082
159
29
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,082
159
29
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet streetmartin sanchezfront office managerplaza colonsmall hotelelegant hotellovely boutiquejunior suitewithin walking distancerooms are largea wonderful staymajor museumsminute walkside streetthree nightslong weekendthe ritz
Filter
Updating list...
830 - 835 of 1,287 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2011

The minute we entered the small elegant lobby of the Hotel Orfila, the man at the reception desk, whose named turned out to be David, called out our name. Mind you, he had never set eyes on us before. But he had decided that given our decidedly American look and feel, we must indeed be who indeed we are.

It was a clever parlor trick, and one of the many ways in which the staff at Hotel Orfila, in the Salamanca neighborhood of Madrid, makes guests feel not merely welcomed but embraced.

The others at the front desk -- Jose and Emilio -- were equally generous with their help and expertise. They did all the usual stuff -- making and confirming reservations, as well as recommending restaurants and routes. (Emilio was especially wonderful in helping us decide between Segovia and Toleda for our planned day excursion.) No doubt they have said the very same thing to hundreds of guests before us, but they're like the best of Broadway actors, giving directions to the Metro or suggesting a tapas bar as if for the first time. And they do it with such cheerful aplomb, we found it difficult to tear ourselves away from the desk: what useful nugget might they impart next?

The hotel -- an old mansion -- is set back from the street, so all the rooms are quiet. As others have said, the decor is a bit outdated, the furniture a little long in the tooth, but as far as I was concerned, this only added to the hotel's charm. Our enormous bed was covered with clean, crisp linen, and the towels were soft and plush. Our room, which was very large, looked out on the courtyard. When we first got into the room, I went to look out the window, and in a building across the courtyard I saw a dance class (tango, perhaps?) in progress. The magic was complete.

Our first night, we ate across the street at Las Reses, where the food, sherry and wine were delicious. The waiters didn't speak much English, but this gave us a distinct advantage: if they couldn't describe something to us, they trotted back to the kitchen to retrieve a small morsel of it for us to taste.

If you do stay at Hotel Orfila, make sure you visit The Embassy, a restaurant and gourmet shop just around the corner.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet, but best to ask for one overlooking the courtyard.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Dear guest,

When we receive kind comments like yours, makes us feel that all the love and the dedication we put into our work its helping us walk down the right path. Please receive our heartfelt thank you.

At the Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, we feel that once you chose us you have immediately become part of our family, and as so, you deserve only the best we can offer.

Madrid is a city full of charm, history, entertainment and culture and we provide the best starting point for your adventure.

It will be our pleasure to have you, and your family, back as guests next time you plan to visit our city. Rediscover us; reconnect with the friends you have made here, as we have learned: the experience only gets better with time. Please don´t hesitate to contact us in advance, and we'll make sure to honor any especial requirements you may have.

Kind regards,
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We spent five nights in thiis Relais Châteaux, 28 October to November 2nd, 2011. For vacation and discovery of Madrid. We have to say that both of us travel worldwide in our jobs, and we spend more than 100 nights per year in differnt hotels!
Orfila Madrid was a revelation. Very central location, quiet street, walking distance to Salamanca and to the Prado...
The room (we has the simplest room 46) was huge compared to what we know in Madrid. Furnished with taste, in classical style, as we expected from a Relais Châteaux. Very functional amenities. Certainly, what got us absolutely stunned is tha absolute charming and attentionate, personalized service from each person of the staff! And their attention did not seem invasive, nor commercial, but genuinly friendly and extremely professional!
Orfila is not the type of large business hotels... It is a small charming and cosy place, where you feel "at home"...
Thank you, all Orfila staff! From now on, this is our "home" in Madrid!

Room Tip: We know room 46 (4th Floor). It was quiet, very spacious, with very large window and well furnished.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frederic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

Dear guest,

We are very much pleased to learn you have enjoyed your stay with us during your vacation in Madrid. At the Hotel Orfila we work hard to balance luxury with the warm and personalized service, we believe, every single guest of ours deserves.

In addition we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travelers, since there probably are many other business men and women that will find your review extremely helpful.

We´ll make sure to share your kind words with our staff.

Please know that your home in Madrid will always be ready to welcome you back for another set of adventures to begging. Please don´t hesitate in contacting us.

We look forward to have you stay with us again sometime soon.

Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We spent 3 nights at hotel Orfila, very friendly and helpful staff, very good breakfast, quiet. Hotel is a little tired and needs refurbishment but It is not run down. Well located.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yeneda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Dear Guest:

We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service, as well as our facilities. At Hotel Orfila we like to take care of our guests so they can get best possible experience while visiting Madrid.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers here at Trip Advisor with such kind comment.

Please let us know next time you are planning to visit our city, since we´d love the chance to accommodate you, and your family, once more.

We look forward to see you again!.

Kind regards,
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

This is not the place for those that like Impersonal Big International Chain Hotels!

We are old sticklers and always stayed in the same room on the 1st floor.

This stay the front desk manager, Jose, suggested we stay in a room on the 4th floor directly above our first floor room. My wife reluctantly went to see the room. We found out for the first time, on our fourth stay in the past 12 months, that a "matrimonial bed" is what we call a double bed. What a plus! We had incorrectly assumed that only twin beds were available. Henceforth the room on the fourth floor will become our regular room in our home from home in Madrid.

The Hospitality and Ambiance of Hotel Orfila is exceptional. Weather permitting try the terrace for a meal, a drink or even just your morning coffee.

Meals in the restaurant are a must! The chef is excellent and the table service impeccable. But you would expect nothing less from a Relais & Chateaux establisment.

We look forward to our next stay which unfortunately will only be in mid 2012.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Dear Guest,

From the Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila we want to extend our heartfelt thanks to you for your fourth stay with us this year and for your positive feedback. Taking a moment of your time to share your experience with other travelers is something we highly appreciate.

Our long-time goal has always been to deliver the best possible service to our guests so they can live a wonderful and unforgettable experience while in Madrid. And reviews like yours let us now we are on the right track.

We are happy to know that even after four visits in 12 months we can still pleasantly surprise you and make each stay unique!. Please let us know when you are planning your next visit!

Mid 2012 cannot come soon enough!, until then, please receive our kindest regards.

Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

The Hotel Orfila is an charming, old-fashioned sort of hotel. It's in a good location in the quiet embassy district of Madrid and close to the shops, Prado, Thyssen museum etc.

Lots of nice touches. There's a good breakfast (about 25 euros unless it's included in the room rate) and a lovely little terrace bar/restaurant. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming. There was free wi-fi in the room and throughout the hotel, which is very helpful.

The service was attentive but occasionally a bit idiosyncratic. For example, there was a bottle of champagne in our room when we arrived but we couldn't persuade the staff to send up any ice when we actually wanted to drink it. Our 'romance package' promised candles by the bath but this consistented of four tea-lights, which cheap rather than romantic, in my view. Getting information about the hotel and making a restaurant reservation took a bit more effort than you'd expect in a luxury hotel. But this may have been a bit of a language issue.

Our suite was spacious, quiet and comfortable but I agree with other commenters that the decor, especially in the common parts, needs a bit of a refresh. New carpets wouldn't hurt.

But overall, a very nice stay and a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HungryPerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your generous words and for taking a moment of your time to share your experience with other fellow travelers. At Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila we are committed to deliver the best possible experience while visiting Madrid, but as you so kindly remark in your review, there´s alway room for improvement.

We have taken note of the recomendations and coments you mentioned above, and passed them along to the departments in charge so they can take proper action in the matter.

We would love the opportunity to welcome you back next time you visit Madrid. Please don´t hesitate in contacting us in advance, so we can arrange and honor any special request.

Kind regards,
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews