We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noise a serious issue”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Liabeny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Liabeny
Ranked #48 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Noise a serious issue”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I liked the Liabeny in every way but one: noise. Check-in was pleasant, the lobby was lovely, and the Liabeny had an old-fashioned elegance that was really appealing. My updated room was quite nice. In the evening, however, I heard what sounded like a man talking in my bathroom. It was someone in the next room, talking in a normal voice on their cell phone. I have never heard that much sound transfer between rooms in any hotel before.

I wore my earplugs, but I still heard my neighbor cough in the night. I was lucky to have a generally quiet neighbor, but if you are next to anyone that makes noise (e.g., a couple talking to each other), you could be unhappy here.

For those who don't notice noise, this is a lovely hotel that might suit you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kurt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,462
    1,115
    193
    32
    25
See reviews for
588
1,194
286
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The hotel check-in process was very smooth and the staff spoke English well! We had arrived around 11am but our room was ready.

We used the Madrid metro system quite a bit and so it was very convenient to have the Gran Via Metro and Callao Metro stations within 3-4 mins walk. The hotel is also within a 5min walk of the Puerta del Sol and other attractions.

It's also very close to El Corte Ingles (Spanish Supermarket Chain) so easy to stock up on supplies.

Hotel room was always cleaned very well (we usually left a 2 euro tip daily during our 3 night stay). The bed in our room was comfortable with good quality linens. It also had a table and chair along with a small two seat couch.

Only one elevator in the hotel but runs quite efficiently.

Hotel is in a very safe area so didnt feel scared for our safety at any time.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homervins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Clean, quiet hotel in pedestrianised area a few steps from Puerto del Sol. Excellent location,walkable to all major sights and many restaurants. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyTraveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I had a good stay at the hotel, 3 nights. Check in worked quickly, unfortunately I got a smoking room even if I had requested a non smoking room. Don't forget your code to the wireless internet! I got a nice room.

Nice bar area. Had dinner at the restaurant, also a great value, but service stressed even with few guests and food not great. Recommend to eat somewhere else. Gym small. Concierge helpful, but not very easy to get in contact with.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thom_L_189852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We had a pleasant experience at Hotel Liabeny. The location was great and there was plenty to do within walking distance - even the Puerta del Sol! The concierge were very helpful, although not entirely knowledgeable. At night, we could hear the cars on the street and people shouting but it comes with the location.

Because the decor is a bit dated, the hotel felt less clean although I'm sure it was fine. If you're looking for a modern hotel, this is not for you.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crystal h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#21 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,616 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#54 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#20 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,307 reviews
Centro
Intur Palacio San Martin
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Liabeny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liabeny

Property: Hotel Liabeny
Address: Calle Salud, 3, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Madrid
#20 Business Hotel in Madrid
#22 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#38 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Liabeny 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being positioned in the centre of Madrid makes visiting the city even more appealing. Everything is just minutes' walk from Hotel Liabeny; Puerta del Sol, Madrid's Gran Vía, museums, monuments, historical sites, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Liabeny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Liabeny Sercotel
Liabeny Sercotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing