We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,337)
Filter reviews
1,337 results
Traveller rating
585
598
103
36
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
585
598
103
36
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet square church bells great location room overlooking the square royal palace within walking distance callao metro station central location french doors quiet hotel small balcony minute walk natural light spacious room top floor sitting area churros
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,337 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2018

We stayed in this hotel during a seven city tour of Italy and Spain in July 2018. The tour company booked this hotel for us. Of all the hotels we stayed in during this trip, this was the worst one. As others have pointed out, the location is excellent, but the facilities and hotel amenities are very poor. The room did not even have a basic telephone directory telling guest how to reach the front desk or housekeeping. When we asked the front desk for an iron, we were told that the hotel does not provide such amenities, but they will press our clothes for an additional fee. The room did have free wi-fi but did not have any English language channel. The breakfast was rather basic and had some gluten free options. There is no separate concierge desk, so the front desk staff while checking in new guests is also trying to respond to your questions. So, do not expect a high level of service from this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iqbal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesIntur, Gerente at Intur Palacio San Martin, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

"Dear Iqbal M,
First of all thank you for recording on Tripadvisor your experience at our hotel. We regret not having succeeded in meeting your needs in relation to your stay, I would like to inform you that we have taken appropriate actions and this situation will not happen again. We would kindly ask you to get in touch with us so we could give you a deeper explanation of what happened.
Yours sincerely,"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

I've read several notices announcing robberies in this hotel but haven't taken them seriously. I SHOULD HAVE.

I left earrings in the safe of my room and by the night they were gone. When I spoke about the situation at the reception, they didn't want to know anything about it and treated me as if I was making it up. A real shame in an establishment of this standing.

If you want a trouble-free stay flee this place because there are thieves and nobody does anything to stop it.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pitipaco7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesIntur, Gerente at Intur Palacio San Martin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

"Dear pitipaco7
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We regret to hear the words that you comment, but we are always worried about the safety of our establishment and it is our maximum to comply with it. What we would like to know, how someone enter your room without having more electronic record than your card, as how someone open your safe without having an electronic record that your code. Also how someone close the safe with the same code that you use. Our safes work with an unique security code that only the client knows. If the safe is opened, you have to enter the code again to close it. It is impossible to open and close a safe with the same code, without knowing the same code. As you described it isn’t possible that the disappearance happening in our hotel. It is a very serious accusation and if I consider that he had been robbed, he had to report to a police station. Yours sincerelly"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

I would give this hotel five shiny stars that they deserve, if their lazy cleaners would bother to clean our room properly and restock the bathroom well.
Having said that, this hotel is in a great location, the staff are wonderful, the breakfast is delicious and amazing. I truely enjoyed our staying there. I rate them four and half stars.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

The hotel is located in close proximity to city centre therefore you get everything within walking distance.
Accommodation and service are good. Very good breakfast however bit pricy around €16. Highly recommend for the location and what they offer. Extremely nice staff willing to help you out with any questions you might have. Had very pleasant stay there for 3 nights. Would definitely book it again if back in Madrid.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Margaret V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesIntur, Gerente at Intur Palacio San Martin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

"Dear Margaret V,
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel with other travelers. It's nice to read those positive comments about us since this is what all employees work for at the Intur Family.
We hope to welcoming you again very soon at any of our hotels, please do not hesitate and contact us if you need to make your booking. Yours sincerely,"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

I had a nice time in this hotel. It is lovely and well located. Welcome is professional. The staff is available. Rooms are clean, spacious and well equipped. The breakfast is fresh and diversified. The atrium is very pretty and relaxing after a day of intense sightseeing. Too bad the stairs is currently under renovation. The sound of sander machines can be temporarily disturbing.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank VaBo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesIntur, Gerente at Intur Palacio San Martin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear VaBo9
Thank you for leaving your comment on Tripadvisor, although it is very positive, we regret the inconvenience caused by the renovation of our stairs. We tried to fix them during the work of reform, but it was impossible, its 100 years of age, required a very special treatment. We sincerely hope that you can come and be able to contemplate the recovery of the coffered ceiling and wooden stairs, it has been fascinating, your faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews