We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, on balance..but not fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Emperador Hotel Madrid
Ranked #148 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
liverpool
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good value, on balance..but not fantastic”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Room was quite adequate, enough space etc..not luxury but just fine for me. The gym ? ... rubbish. Highlights: Staff..very very good! Location: Excelllent: Roof top pool, again not luxury but a very nice feature with cool views and comfortable loungers. This is not a luxury hotel, but staff and pool make it above average. I will stay here again if less than 80 euro a night! BoyI am getting mean.

Room Tip: Just ask the staff... they are so helpful. Upper floors best as street is noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jetflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmperadorHotel, Public Relations Manager at Emperador Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Guest,

From our Customer Service Department, we would like to thank you for your comments about your stay at Emperador Hotel in Madrid. We do appreciate to receive your feedback in order to help us to continuously improve our service and quality standards.

We like to know you were comfortable with several features of our hotel: location, room, employees, pool, bar, etc. However, we are still working to get a complete satisfaction of our clients.

About the gym, we would like to point out something. The machines there are new of the last year, and they are very effective to work the body. We regret to hear that your expectations with the hotel have not been totally fulfilled.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for any further queries.

Yours sincerely,
Hotel Emperador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    859
    369
    124
    61
See reviews for
438
843
81
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Spent 3 days in Madrid. Wanted a location that we could walk or take public transportation from. This fits the bill. Found it difficult in Madrid to find that many people that wanted to talk to English speakers. Hotel inclueded. Breakfast was ample, room was of standard size
with all the ammenities. All and all it was a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Book a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkobsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
70 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Stayed three nights in November at the Hotel Emperador. We stayed in one of the suites on the sixth floor, with fantastic views of the Grand Via. The suite was well furnished, maybe some old furniture. In need of upgrading. The beds were very comfortable.
Service at hotel was not so good. We had booked a romantic weekend packages, cava in the room. But there was no cava when we got to the room and we had no information about this when we checked in. When we asked the front desk so they said that cava comes in the room at 19.00. Strangely, there are perhaps people who want cava at a different time. We received no information about where Emperador club existed. All in all, bad information at check-in. The guys in the lobby bar was more interested in talking to each other than to serve the guests.

Cleaning the room was excellent, a tribute to the cleaning lady.

The hotel had a very good location and it was close to everything.
So besides the poor service we were the top happy and are prepared to stay here again.

Room Tip: A suite is a good choise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nilsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulgaria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I had the pleasure to check in the Emperador last August, for four nights. Although it does not respond to the criteria for a Palace, this hotel certainly delivers high-level amenities and services.

On the pros, I would rank the rooftop pool & garden & bar as THE plus to have. It was defining in my choice for booking at the Emperador at the first place. Imagine how comfortable it is to refresh yourself in the pool during the hot Spanish summer afternoons, and to enjoy a glass of sangria (a pure delight) in your chaise longue, while contemplating the outstanding landscape of Madrid from the 10-th floor terrace.

The location and architecture of the building are also great: located downtown, (Gran Via avenue), it is at walking distance from every tourist attraction in the city. The subway station is located just in front of the hotel. The building itself is a mix of Imperial and art-deco styling, that brings an unquestionable charm to the spot.

Rooms are spacious and comfortable, although with outdated furniture (especially for the bathroom). Ask for a terrace, you will definitely enjoy it.

Staff is very helpful, polite and service-oriented. I got a late check-out upon simple request at the front desk.

Finally, I could not enumerate many cons, except perhaps the outdated bathroom and the excessive price of Internet and drinks (Roof- and Lobby bar).

Globally, it was a very pleasant stay. Fours stars +.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duhku4e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Hotel Emperador is easily accessable by the metro from the airport and only having to change once - well worth checking to arrive by the metro as the hotel is then a 2 min walk from the metro! €2 compared to €36 in a taxi! The hotel is well maintained, the staff were very helpful and happy to recommend places and restaurants, the staff spoke very good english. The Room I stayed in was huge is was a club room and to be honest I couldnt fault it, with the club room came the use of the club bar which is located on the 1st floor, smallish room but offered self service drinks and bar snacks. The Pool on the roof terrace is lovely with ample sunbeds and a great roof top view of Madrid. The hotel itself is greatly located on the Grand Via close to all the shops, plaza Mayor, the Palace is only a 10min walk from the hotel. Highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: I would book a club room as the drinks are a little pricey but they are free if you book the club ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lady_Worsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#21 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,343 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#19 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Centro
Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid
Centro
Catalonia Gran Via
Catalonia Gran Via
#171 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emperador Hotel Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emperador Hotel Madrid

Property: Emperador Hotel Madrid
Address: Calle Gran Via 53, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#103 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#127 Business Hotel in Madrid
#151 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Emperador Hotel Madrid 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emperador Hotel in Madrid is perfectly located in the lively Gran Vía of Madrid, only a few minutes of the main tourist attractions in the capital. It offers 232 guestrooms, meeting rooms and an amazing rooftop with terrace and swimming pool in season. Other services in the hotel: gym, souvenirs shop, hairdressing, steam bath and valet parking, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emperador Hotel Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrid Emperador Hotel
Emperador Madrid
Hotel Emperador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing