We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,686)
Filter reviews
4,687 results
Traveller rating
2,930
1,229
338
107
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,930
1,229
338
107
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heavenly bed stained glass dome opera brunch prado museum neptune fountain concierge staff classic hotel business center breakfast buffet thyssen bornemisza within walking distance perfect location executive room reina sofia tapas five star hotel major museums
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 4,687 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2018

Having previously stayed here in 2013 this was the natural choice to overnight en route home from Morocco. We stayed in a recently renovated room on the 2nd floor. Room was beautifully decorated and well thought out as was the bathroom. I would highly recommend this hotel as the area is very upscale and is perfect for walking. Don't miss the Asian Restaurant as the food was really delicious. The staff was professional and very accommodating. For some reason I consider this hotel to be more upscale than the typical Westin that we've become accustomed to throughout the world,

Room tip: ask for a renovated room
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank whenzuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2018

Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you very much for your loyalty to our hotel in your trips to Madrid and to Westin Hotels!
It's amazing for us to know that we were able to exceed your expectations one more time during your stay.
I have shared your wonderful review with all the team to celebrate it!
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the very near future,
Warm regards,
Paloma H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2018

Fortunately, they were able to accommodate an early check-in after our flight from the states. We were in our room asleep by 10am and able to wake up at 6pm refreshed after the 18 hour long travel day the day before. The hotel is a classic architectural masterpiece and our room was extremely comfortable.

The location of the hotel is ideal to walk around downtown and a convenient trip to the train station.

But we found the smiles and hospitality of this expensive 5 Star hotel underwhelming. Marriott needs to send their front desk staff to charm school.

This trip was for our 50th wedding anniversary. I mentioned it when asking for directions ... hoping to get a smile and verbal congratulations. I received a grunt and rolled-eyes ... and we have been premium Marriott Rewards members for 20 years.

Not sure I will ever pay over $600 a night for this level of service again.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank East_Coast_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2018

Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you for choosing us to celebrate your 50th wedding anniversary!!! Congratulations!!! It's not easy to reach this celebration...
First of all, I apologize as we didn't meet your expectations with the service provided by our front office staff.
I have shared with them your constructive feedback to learn from it and improve.
On the other hand, we're glad to know that you could sleep after your 18 hours long travel and you enjoyed the room and our Westin Heavenly Bed.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and give you a better level of service,
Warm regards,
Paloma H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2018

Service is top quality and the hotel is nicely situated in the city. For my taste some of the rooms (stayed in the hotel ~6-8 times) could be renovated. I rather prefer more modern hotels, but that's certainly personal taste.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SW0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2018

Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you for your loyalty to The Westin Palace, Madrid in your visits to our city!
I have shared your review with the team to celebrate that we were able to exceed your expectations with the service provided by our staff in every occasion.
We take note of your feedback about rooms and we suggest you to ask for the Westin style room in your next stay with us and try it.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the very near future,
Warm regards,
Paloma H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2018

i have been going to the Westin Palace for a long time. I have been practically in all kinds of rooms and suites; avoid the superior rooms as they are small and face inwards. On the other hand look for the suites facing plaza Canovas del Castillo or the entrance of the hotel. This last time i had some trouble getting a nespresso machine and some minor misunderstandings; breakfast is a must under the impressive dome, and if i wasn't with kids i might have tried the sushi bar or the chinese restaurant. Concierges are really helpful, got 4 tickets for Real Madrid and all the restaurants bookings i was looking for. Location is also a must; walking distance from Puertas del Sol, Retiro, Prado, Reina Sofia and Thyssen. Couldn't understand a 20 minute delay in getting my car when departing but that didn't spoil a wonderful stay.

Room tip: skip superior go for king or a junior suite, try facing Canovas del Castillo
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100joaoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2018

Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you so much for your loyalty to the Westin Palace, Madrid in your trips to our city!
First of all, let me apologize for the inconveniences you had during this visit that I have shared with the team to learn from it and improve.
On the other hand, we're glad to know that you had a wonderful stay... we appreciate the time taken to share your experience.
Looking forward to welcoming you once again in the very near future,
Warm regards,
Paloma H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

This is of course a Westin property and not cheap but the restaurant food was surprisingly reasonable,as well as pretty tasty. We ate there for lunch a couple of times but If your room doesn’t include breakfast, Starbucks is about a two minute walk away

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank pisces025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2018

Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you for the time taken to write your review and for your loyalty to Westin Hotels & Resorts!
I have shared your feedback with the team to celebrate that you enjoyed the restaurant food during your lunches.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future,
Kind regards,
Paloma H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews