We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (935)
Filter reviews
935 results
Traveller rating
240
470
166
44
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
470
166
44
15
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 935 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2015

We were close to everything we wanted to see and do. There is an elevator and a breakfast room/lounge. Our room was on the 5th floor and had a nice balcony. We were there on a weekend and didn't have any problems with noise. The room was large by European standards, as was the bathroom. The shower sometimes got cooler or hotter, but fairly slowly, so it wasn't a shock. The free wifi didn't work in the room but was fine in the lounge. The breakfast was a good selection, including some hot dishes, and they would brew you a pot of good, strong tea. Staff were uniformly cheerful and helpful.

Room Tip: The 5th floor room have large balconies.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank old_lady_who
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2015 via mobile

It's currently 1.26 in the morning and we have just been woken up AGAIN by what sounds like crowd of stampeding elephants in stilettos with hen and stag partys on their backs.
The staff are lovely and check in is quick and friendly.
The self service buffet breakfast is ok. The hot food is limited but there's lots of pastries and yogurt etc though, so plenty of choice. The dining room seems to be the hotels pride and joy, and is a lovely room, most of the pictures of the hotel are of this room, not the bedrooms.
We are in room 201 which has a small window overlooking an interior courtyard wall, so felt very dark and depressing. It's by the main staircase, so you can hear people traipsing up and down, and in the morning you hear breakfast prep going on, as it's the floor directly above he kitchen/ dining room. That said, there's no street noise, so if you take away the noise of guests and staff it's pleasantly quiet.
The decor is advertised as traditional but is a bit dated and drab and we found the beds hard and not that comfortable.
The bathroom in this room is long and narrow but has some useful touches, such as a stool and hooks for clothes. The shower is great.
Maid service is good and everything is impeccably clean and tidy.
The floors everywhere are wooden, which look great but make every sound so much louder than it could be if it were carpeted. The free wi-fi drops out every 2 or 3 minutes and you have to reconnect. Not fast enough for social media yet alone anything else.
It's saving graces are it's staff and its location but seeing as, to me, the best thing a hotel can offer is a good night's sleep, I wouldn't stop here again. They could learn a few things from Premier Inn!

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
Thank Mollygamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2015

3* hotel with 5* staff. Thanks go to Raphael who just arranged anything wee needed with no fuss or problem. We had a room on the 5th floor with a terrace. Great to have somewhere quiet to sit outside and catch any sun, away from the hustle of Madrid centre. Everywhere is close and in walking distance. The hotel also organise a transfer to the airport which was great (20 mins) and reasonable. The first floor is a lovely Salon/Breakfast room. Rooms are, 3* and have what you need, good breakfast. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cooltrip2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2015

The hotel has the best location, it is located right between the popular plaza del Callao and Puerta del Sol. There are many shops and restaurants in the area and it is minutes away from the both metro stations.

However, my sleep qualify was poor. I stayed on the 2nd floor so I am not sure if it is better if you stay at a higher level, but I can hear the people from the street the whole night, I can also hear people walking outside the hallway. The hotel is also dated, renovation is recommended.

The staffs are friendly and helpful so that's another positive.

Room Tip: Get a room at a higher floor
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winston L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2015

We stayed here for three nights and were more than pleased with the Carlos V. We used the shuttle service to the hotel and it took us right to the door. Similarly we used it for the return to the airport and were provided with a smart clean car for the journey.The hotel is in a pedestrian area very close to Gran Via main shopping centre and El Corte Ingles is right on the door step. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. There is a minibar and the hotel will provide tea/coffee making facilities at no extra charge if asked.

Breakfast was served in a lovely dining room reminiscent of a rich old family home. The waiters were very friendly and the breakfast was fine and served until 11am which is great if you wanted a relaxed start to the day.

We were initially in a front second floor bedroom full of character rather than a soulless modern hotel. It turned out to be noisy at night with the dustbin collectors clanging around in the early hours and general late night pedestrian noise. We asked the hotel if we could have a quiter room and they happily obliged with a larger bedroom at the back of the hotel. The view was not so interesting as the front bedroom but we had peaceful nights.

There is a small bar area with a happy hour between 5-7 and free use of the internet in the lounge area. Wifi in the bedroom was intermittent.

The location is excellent and the metro stations are nearby and easy to use. There are many restaurants nearby - we recommend De Maria.

I have some walking difficulties and we used the Hop on Hop Off bus which stops nearby and a great way to see all the sights and decide where you want to spend more time. The hotel sold the tickets to us.

Most of the main sights are within walking distance. We could not fault the hotel.

Unfortunately my partner dropped and lost his passport on the last morning of our stay and couldn't travel back to the UK until he had a temporary one from the British Embassy so he had to phone from the airport and Carlos V managed to find a room for him for another three days. He was very grateful for their caring attitude.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again and would love to return to Madrid soon as we loved everything about it.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BBTrisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews