We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for such an excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Carlos V
Ranked #209 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Wytham, Oxford
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great value for such an excellent location”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

In the heart of Madrid - couldn't be a better location. Very friendly and helpful staff and very good breakfast buffet. Rooms very clean an comfortable. Perfect for a long weekend.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wytham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Wytham
Great news you enjoyed our loction, service and breakfast. Please give us a chance if you are staying for more than just a long weekend, I am sure we will be able to please you :)
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    470
    167
    44
    15
See reviews for
209
354
67
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights recently and thoroughly enjoyed.
It is clean, comfortable and its location is perfect.
It is situated in a pedestrian zone and within walking distance to all of Madrid's major sites.
If you are looking for a good, clean, affordable hotel in Madrid you can not go wrong with The Hotel Carlos V.
I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Steven R
Let me first of all thank you for sharing your comments with the community. It is great to know you enjoyed your stay and you will give us another chance to serve you. We will be glad to welcome you back home!
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My mother and I stayed at this hotel in Jan 2012 for ten nights. The location is fantastic. Walking distance to Gran Via ,Puerta del Sol, Market of San Miguel, Plaza Mayor,The Palace, shopping...
The room was small and we didn't have a view, but it was clean and quite. The shower was great with good water pressure. The breakfast was included in our room rate and we enjoyed it every morning. However we were late a couple of days and the omlette was gone. The restaurant manager was very charming and greeted everyone with a big smile every morning.
The night before our departure, my mother lost her passport and Emmanuel at the front desk was very helpul. He made phone calls for us and helped us with the police report and contacting the embassy and keeping our room for an extra day since my mother had to stay back to get her temporary passport. I would stay at this hotel again, a great value for your money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JAndD2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear JimAndDora.
It' great to know you enjoyed our hotel and felt our staff's warmth. I hope you felt like a member of our family after a 10 days stay! We will be waiting for your your next time in Madrid (no passport loss by that time, I hope)
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My stay was very nice. It is a typical European hotel. The rooms were average sized. The staff was excellent with the exception of the older man that works on Saturdays. He was kind of gruff and not very helpful. The hotel was in a great location for me.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phinster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Phinster
Let me thank you for sharing your comments with the community, and apologize about the lack of kindness you felt on Saturday, I am afraid our clerk was not in his best day, nobody is perfect!
It would be great if you consider to give us another chance to serve you your next time in Madrid.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We choose this hotel after carefully checking reviews and comparing prices of lots of Madrid city centre hotels and we are really happy we went for the Carlos V what a fantastic hotel, it has a wonderful location that was easily reached from the airport via the metro and all the major sights are within walking distance. Plenty of bars and restaurants are on your doorstep also the hotel bar is great as well and between 5 and 7 each evening they offer a great deal where by you buy one you get one free on everything and the prices are very low for a city centre hotel just 2euro70 for a 330ml bottle of heineken so in terms of the offer you only pay equivalent of 1euro35 great value. The room was spotlessly clean and plenty big enough with a lovely bathroom we were lucky enough to be on the top floor so also had a very large balcony with chairs and table to sit on in the evenings and enjoy the lovely weather and a cold drink. The room had all the toiletries you will need and a hair drier also an iron and board could be requested free of charge if needed. The safe in the room was 1euro30 per day so not too bad. The staff were all very friendly and available to help you whenever you needed. The only one negative and it is only very minor as it did not affect our stay was the wifi was useless the signal was far too weak to be able to access the internet on our floor as you progressed downstairs it became better, there is also a pc that can be used free in the bar so thats what we used. All in all one of the best city centre hotels we have ever stayed in and if we visit Madrid again we will be straight back to the Carlos V.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor lovely balconies, we stayed in room 505 and it was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DilbertPhilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear DilbertPhilbert
Thank you for sharing your oppinions with the community, it's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry about wi-fi, I haven't received any report about bad signal, thank you for telling us we are checking it right nkow.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Best Western Hotel Los Condes
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#39 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,397 reviews
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#48 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#91 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Preciados
Petit Palace Preciados
#123 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Centro
Hotel II Castillas
Hotel II Castillas
#103 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Carlos V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carlos V

Property: BEST WESTERN Carlos V
Address: Calle Maestro Victoria 5, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Family Hotel in Madrid
#138 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Carlos V 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carlos V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carlos v Hotel Madrid
Best Western Hotel Madrid
Best Western Madrid
Madrid Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing