We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location Location”
Review of Catalonia Gran Via

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Gran Via
Ranked #168 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Location Location”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The Hotel Gaudi as it was named when my wife, sister in law and I stayed in July has a great location with major attractions like Retiro Park, Puerta del Sol and Plaza Mayo within easy walking distance. The hotel is somewhat dated but the staff were excellent throughout our stay. The rooms vary with the room my wife and I staying in being somewhat small but adequate however my sister in law was in a large room with a balcony. The reception area has the bar which is again very small however being on the Gran Via there are restaurants and bars aplenty just minutes away. The breakfast provided the hotel is excellent and overall I found the hotel to be good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiflemanWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
We offer our most hearty greetings to you and yours. Thanks for taking a moment to write us a review on Tripadvisor.com. We are glad to have served a happy traveler such as yourself, and hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Thanks again and happy travels to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    500
    221
    93
    54
See reviews for
219
463
69
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Spent 4 nights at this hotel as part of a large family vacation. 20 people total. The staff was wonderful. Our rooms were ready for us early which was so nice after a long flight from the US. Our room was spacious and quiet. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJfromSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Our staff would like to thank you for your praise and for taking the time out to write such a pleasant review about your experience with us. Here at the Catalonia Gran Vía we strive to make sure every guest leaves with a smile on their face. Thank you again for spending time with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

The Hotel is in a great location, within easy walking distance to many of the main attractions. The staff did not appear to speak much english, but it waas a good opportunity for me to practice my Spanish. The bar staff and waitresses were very friendly and polite. The room was a good size with a reasonably stocked mini bar. Bathroom was very clean.
Overall I was happy and didn't spend a fortune, I would stay there again

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sombochris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
The staff at the Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel would like to thank you for your endorsement and for taking the time out to write about us on TripAdvisor.com Service is the key to happy guests and we are glad that you were pleased with what we had to offer. Thank you for sharing your experiences at our hotel with other travelers and we hope to see you again on your next jaunt to Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

The location couldn't be better - an easy walk to the Prado, Thyssen, Puerta del Sol, and Plaza Mayor. Truly the heart of Madrid. We had a huge, comfortable room and large bathroom. The breakfast was excellent. The desk clerk was very helpful and printed our boarding passes for our flight home. If we return to Madrid we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamagata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Our staff would like to thank you for your praise and for taking the time out to write such a pleasant review about your experience with us. Here at the Catalonia Gran Vía we strive to make sure every guest leaves with a smile on their face. Thank you again for spending time with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

very nice affordable hotel centrally located. Very helpful personal at the reception desk. We asked to see the room before chosing and we were shown a very nice, stylishly decorated modern double room with an extra bed for our 16 year old son. The room was very quiet.Very clean Roomy.Would definitely recommend this hotel. The hotel was undergoing renovations in the nextdoor buildning but our stay was not in the least effected.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank persilja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for choosing Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel, we would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to mention us on trip advisor. We are pleased to know you found our cupboard very convenient during your stay. Our goal is to make sure all of our guests consider us a home away from home. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Centro
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Centro
Emperador Hotel Madrid
Emperador Hotel Madrid
#152 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
H10 Villa de la Reina Boutique Hotel
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#19 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Gran Via

Property: Catalonia Gran Via
Address: Calle Gran Via 7-9 | Old Quarter, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Gaudi)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#116 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This emblematic Hotel in the Gran Via of Madrid is strategically located in the heart of the city, a few meters from the Plaza de Cibeles and Puerta del Sol. The hotel is composed by two buildings of great architectural value that are from the early twentieth century and are also very close to the Prado Museum and the Thyssen Gallery, allowing maximum enjoyment of the cultural offer of Madrid. In addition, the hotel offers its guests a fantastic restaurant called "La Pedrera", a gourmet corner-bar and 4 meeting rooms for all kinds of events, and some free services such as free Wi-Fi high speed internet, Business Corner, Spa & Fitness Center and terrace on the sixth floor with a heated water area overlooking Gran Via. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Gran Via Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Gaudi Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Gaudi Madrid
Hotel Gaudi Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing