We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Churros in Madrid!”

Chocolateria San Gines
Ranked #5 of 49 Quick Bites in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$5
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery
Neighbourhood: Centro
Description: Founded in 1894 is one of the most famous of Madrid located in the passage of San Gines,in the heart of the city close to the Puerta del Sol. This is one of the most popular to have chocolate con churros. Nowadays it's place where visitors and locals gather to taste the famous chocolate with churros.
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Now, I have a MASSIVE sweet tooth and finish ALL sweet food put in front of me....until now. The Churros here 're fantastic and you get plenty of them, I couldn't eat them all. The only draw back is that I would have liked the chocolate to be richer. Well worth a visit, go go go!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Gaiatraveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

710 - 714 of 18,336 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

It is a must to have some hot chocolate and churros at this place!One portion of churros it is enough for two(each has 6). I went there several times and even bought some chocolate to bring home!Forget cholesterol for a while!Drink it slowly and enjoy life!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank veraluv2dance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

I have tried churros many times, normally with cinnamon and that is the first time I try with chocolate dip. The price is EUR4 with 1 cup of chocolate dip and 6 churros. The churros is hot and the chocolate is not too sweet. If one pack churros not enough, you can buy another one without chocolate dip which cost EUR1.4. Highly recommend Chocolateria San Gines.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CCNCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

I have a big sweet tooth but for the first time in my life I couldn't finish my plate. Generous helpings and great tasting Churros in a place with lots of history.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Adam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Surprised by how smooth the chocolate was. Delucious hot chocolate. Fried churros too fattening but worth a taste.
Best buy that day was a bag of chocolate powder for a cup of hot chocolate back home.
Must skip lunch that day.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Roberto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chocolateria San Gines also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Chocolateria San Gines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing