We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olé”
Review of El Club Allard

El Club Allard
Reserve with
El Club Allard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #167 of 12,475 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Arguelles
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

The Spanish start dinner very late, so we first got started around 10pm. Decided on the 6 course menu with wine pairing. The pace was high from the start with Beef Tartare and Eel. Appetizers are delicious and small, Creamy Comte soup fast to follow, Sea rice is green and salty, Waguy beef from Austria tasty. Pre-dessert a beautiful surprise (no spoiler here). Dessert a pleasure to the eye but not extensive, so my expression “It is in the sweet kitchen, that the kitchen shows its true strenght” points Club Allard where to invest more in order to fully demonstrate its capabilities.

One comment on wine pairing. It was a very good example of why to go with wine pairing, since it offered a series of interesting wines carefully selected from a wide range of Spanish wines from North to South, east to west, white to brown to red. Well done or Olé as the local say.

Thank iknolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ECAllard, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Club Allard, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Sir, thank you for your appreciation and comment that motivate us to keep searching for the excellence of all the team of El Club Allard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 1,730 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017

We have ordered the tasting menu. One of us had the wine pairing. The menu was uneven, some dishes were very good, some were not to the standard of 2 Michelin star restaurant. Exceptionally good was the cold cherry soup with hering caviar, the quail egg and truffle cupcake. Generally the starters and the amouse bouche were good standard. The mains for us were blend without much creativity. But the biggest problem was the rhythm of the service. All dishes were following eachother within minutes. It was impossible to finish the matching wine with each course or to be able to enjoy the food and the drink together.
The wine pairing itself was excellent, carefully selected. It`s a pity we were so rushed with each plate. Desserts were not memorable, petit four and coffee was nice.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

This ** restaurant is located in a beautiful historic building, just off Plaza de Espana. It is small (so make reservations in time!), but has a nice atmosphere. The staff is attentive, and speaks English well.

The menu is outstanding, the dishes beautiful - sometimes spectacular - and in just the right portions (although the pace is somewhat high - which makes sense if you have 7-10 courses). The sommelier is knowledgeable and picks unusual wines (like the one from Canary Islands).

They give you the menu and wine pairing in print when you leave (even when you have made changes to the set menu), so you can read up on wines or dishes when you get home.

All in all an outstanding experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alfred V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ECAllard, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Club Allard, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Alfred, thank you for your appreciation and comment that motivate us to keep searching for the excellence of all the team of El Club Allard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Actually visited earlier than 2016... food is great. Apart from the taste of the entrees... the food presentation is amazing and creative. For instance, sauce options are placed in glass viles. Seafood placed on top of a cracked marble. What i found unforgettable was the deliciously edible menu too!

Thank Crissy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ECAllard, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Club Allard, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Crissy, thank you for your appreciation and comment that motivate us to keep searching for the excellence of all the team of El Club Allard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

I never of tire of Spain, particularly its food. We had spent the previous 8 days enjoying its bounty. Madrid was the last leg of the trip, a late switch of plans to take in the football. The least I could do was to take Mrs MM for a sumptuous dinner.

It was a steamy evening towards the end of August when we dined at El Club Allard. We'd made an effort, all dressed up & somewhere to go.

The taxi dropped us at the wrong end of the street, never mind, a few minutes later we were out of the heat & being warmly greeted. We were seated, offered an aperitif, whilst they were attending to the drinks, we were offered both the menu & the wine list.

We opted for the 10 course tasting menu to be accompanied by an excellent bottle of Rioja.

The plus points were the standard of service, the staff were polite & engaging, the dinner room was spacious,the tables weren't too close together. The dining was full there was a hum to the room.

The negative, the food, whilst cooked and presented properly it lacked a certain je ne sans quoi, I found it dull and uninspiring. Normally, Mrs MM is more expressive than me, the odd umm & ahh gives you a hint all is well, but nothing. I'm sure it was a world tour, a fusion so to speak but I did not get it.

We're not rookies at this sort of thing and we have had the odd let down, unfortunately this was one of them.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mobile_mackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Club Allard also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to El Club Allard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing