We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelming - wouldn't stay again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sercotel Portales Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Logrono
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Perhaps you only get what you pay for and the Portales was about 55 Euros a night. It was like a standard British Premier Inn but not as good! The positives: a reasonably comfortable bed/pillow and the location on the nice main street of the old town.

Negatives: staff were offhand, unprofessional and unhelpful (except the cleaning lady). We asked for a room with a view of the mountains on the top floor but even though the hotel wasn't full, we got one lower down with a view of a blank concrete wall about 10 feet away. We were told the rooms were very quiet but the very echoey corridors, thin walls and laminated floors in the rooms meant we were often woken by other guests. We got to breakfast reasonably early but they'd run out of lots of items (croissants, fruits). The shower was only just warm enough. The safe box didn't work.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonSongbird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 102 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2009

I had been walking the Camino Frances & staying in albergues for over a week when I got to a town close to Logrono & found everything completely full. I took the bus to Logrono from there, then walked around the old quarter looking for a place to stay. Couldn't find anything, so followed the Camino through the old section of town & found Hotel Portales right outside it. I was quoted a price of 70 Euros, which I don't think is a bad price because you will pay more for much less in the US in a town that size. What a wonderful stay! My room was big, by European standards, as was the bathroom. All new & clean--even the mattress. The TV only had one English channel, but I didn't mind. There is free wifi throughout the hotel & if you don't have a computer, there are 2 terminals in the lobby you can use for free! Both of these are *very* rare in Spain, in my experience. There is a breakfast offered, but I didn't use it because I got my own food from the supermarket a few blocks down the street (just ask at reception; IIRC, it's a Mercadona supermarket). It's an easy walk back to the old quarter for a pilgrim's menu dinner at Cafe Moderno, & there are other places to eat around the hotel as well. They also give you information for Telepizza, which is a Spanish pizza chain that delivers to hotels (I also saw Telepizzas in Leon & Burgos), but I don't think they have room service otherwise.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WolverineDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

Very modern hotel situated within the old part of Logrono and ideal for exploring this lovely town. The rooms were immaculate but a little too modern for some tastes and the staff were very helpful. The hotel was incredibly quiet and considering that it was fiesta time this was much appreciated. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Staffsmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

The hotel is located in the pedestrian area of the city, despite of this it can be reached very easily if you are arriving to Logroño by car.
This is a modern hotel with all the services you might want when staying in the city for business or turism.
Hotel staff is useful and kind, the rooms are large, bed are very confortable and large size ones. Next, they are very clean and in the one we got we had a spectacular view on the mountains sorrounding the city.
The hotel offers free internet connection.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacopone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hernan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Logrono hotels
1.4 km away
NH Logrono
NH Logrono
#4 of 16 in Logrono
775 reviews
0.2 km away
NH Logrono Herencia Rioja
0.4 km away
Hotel Calle Mayor
Hotel Calle Mayor
#1 of 16 in Logrono
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
AC Hotel La Rioja
AC Hotel La Rioja
#5 of 16 in Logrono
412 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Marques de Vallejo
0.7 km away
F&G Logrono
F&G Logrono
#6 of 16 in Logrono
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sercotel Portales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Portales Hotel

Address: Calle Portales, 85, 26001 Logrono, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > La Rioja > Logrono
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Logrono
#5 Business Hotel in Logrono
Price Range: €57 - €127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sercotel Portales Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sercotel Portales Hotel is located right in the middle of Logroño’s historic centre , next to the ’Camino de Santiago’. Its privileged location on ’Calle Portales’ lets you enjoy the medieval monuments around you. The street also leads straight to the ’Plaza del Mercado’. In our hotel in Logroño gladly inform you of the main attractions of the city. The Sercotel Portales Hotel has 48 warm and welcoming rooms with free wifi internet that will make your stay here just perfect. The rooms are distributed over six floors where you can admire the hotel’s modern and functional décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sercotel Portales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portales Hotel Logroño
Sercotel Portales Hotel Logrono, Spain - La Rioja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing