We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming staff within the city center”

Bodegas Franco Espanolas
Ranked #4 of 36 things to do in Logrono
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Visit a hundred year old winery in Logrono, five minute walking from the city centre. Main wine brands: Diamante and Rioja Bordon
Reviewed 12 June 2018

My friends and I arrived to Logrono late in the afternoon and decided to explore the city for a bit. So happy to have stumbled upon this winery. We arrived right when they were opening up and the staff in the tasting room could not have been more welcoming. Gonzaga did our wine tasting with us and did a fantastic job of talking about the wines and also tailoring choices to our groups tastes (half are red drinkers and half are white). He has been working at the winery for years harvesting grapes and had just started in the tasting room. Couldn't tell that he had just started since he was so knowledgeable and gave our group a one of a kind experience! You could see his obvious passion for his job and for the work being done at the winery. Definitely add this to your list of activities to do within the city. Especially great for picking up some wines to enjoy back at our hotel in the evenings during our visit.

1  Thank kriegler25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franco-Espanolas, Responsable de Enoturismo at Bodegas Franco Espanolas, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you for your visit an tasting. We're glad you enjoyed ours wines and Gonzalo's company so much!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"walking distance"
in 6 reviews
"across the river"
in 5 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 19 reviews
"very interesting tour"
in 3 reviews
"iron bridge"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful walk"
in 2 reviews
"ernest hemingway"
in 2 reviews
"main part"
in 2 reviews
"nice wine"
in 3 reviews
"historic winery"
in 2 reviews
"fantastic job"
in 2 reviews
"english tour"
in 3 reviews
"small group"
in 2 reviews
"great history"
in 2 reviews
"ebro river"
in 2 reviews
"gran reserva"
in 2 reviews
"tasting room"
in 2 reviews
Filter

15 - 19 of 895 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2018

My friends and I stopped in Logroño for an afternoon during our travels around Spain and did a wine tour at Bodegas Franco Españolas. The service was outstanding--the employees went above and beyond, helping us store our bulky luggage and recommending wines based on the ones we enjoyed during the tour. The winery itself is beautiful and the wines are superb. Would highly recommend visiting this place!

I would recommend bringing a sweater since it's a little chilly down in the cellar if you're dressed in summer clothes.

1  Thank ch12342018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franco-Espanolas, Responsable de Enoturismo at Bodegas Franco Espanolas, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you so much for your comments and for the recommendation ;-) We are happy you enjoyed a lot with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

We toured the winery at 10am with an English language tour. Very friendly and informative guide, she made it a very personal experience. Good variety of wines. Historic and atmospheric old cellars and site.

1  Thank WAstatetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franco-Espanolas, Responsable de Enoturismo at Bodegas Franco Espanolas, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you for your visit and opinion. We are glad you enjoyed with us! Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

Diego the tour guide treated us to a very customized and exciting tour. He is very knowledgeable and passionate about wines and his work. He also treated us to some high-quality products, including a white Viura with 30% Chardonnay, which was incredibly pleasant and fruity. Prices are quite affordable. The winery also has numerous partitions and rooms built within the underground to host different events. Strongly recommended!

Thank Abel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franco-Espanolas, Responsable de Enoturismo at Bodegas Franco Espanolas, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Abel, thank you for your visit and kind comments. It's a pleasure to know you enjoyed with Diego's company so much. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

We walked here from our hotel just across the river for a wine tasting. We didn't book in advance and it wasn't a problem like some other places. They don't have wine flights (samples). You just pick what you'd like to try for a couple of euros each. All were very good. I especially liked the chardonnay.

1  Thank Mcoflygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franco-Espanolas, Responsable de Enoturismo at Bodegas Franco Espanolas, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thanks for your visit and kind opinion. We're glad you enjoyed a lot during the tasting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bodegas Franco Espanolas also viewed

 

Been to Bodegas Franco Espanolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing