We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$146
View Deal
Expedia.com
US$146
View Deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$156
US$135
View Deal
SAVE US$21
Hotels.comUS$146
ZenHotels.com
Trip.comUS$156
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,608)
Filter reviews
2,608 results
Traveller rating
1,069
919
384
154
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,069
919
384
154
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wisteria terrace steep hill botanical gardens barbary bar iconic hotel cable car busy road art deco lovely hotel pool area is view from the balcony reception staff public areas lounge bar fantastic views junior suite balcony door
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 2,608 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2020

Were desperately looking for a place we could visit from the UK which, ticked 3 boxes; sunny, no quarantine on return and a pool and The Rock met these all well.

We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed our time at the hotel. Breakfast was good, although some staff and guests struggled with the requirements around social distancing and mask wearing. The room was nice, with a great view from our balcony. The pool, although small and pretty busy did everything we required of it, loungers, sun, cocktails and food. We enjoyed The Rock and what Gibraltar had to offer and were very grateful to have been able to get away in this very strange time for travel.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l_dalby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles Danino, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2020

Dear l_dalby,

Thank you for sharing your review with us.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your visit lived up to your expectations.

Your comments have been shared with the respective managers as we value very highly constructive feedback such as yours. Please let me assure you that we constantly focus on the smallest of details and that your comments will help us improve and enhance our service.

We look forward to warmly welcoming you back.

Best regards,

The Rock Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2020

We stayed for 3 nights in October, and, having read the reviews with regards to the measures in place for Covid and parking opportunities, we decided that this hotel was the best choice for us.
Parking was right outside and there was always a space for us.
The reception staff was incredibly helpful, friendly and polite, as were the waiting staff in the restaurant.
Our room overlooked the harbour and had a small balcony. The room was a good size with a comfy bed, plenty of wardrobe space, in-room safe and tea and coffee making facilities etc. The sound proofing wasn't brilliant as we could hear the lady next door's phone conversation. The bathroom was a little tired looking and the shower over the bath would be no good for a very tall person due to the sloping ceiling. The shower head wasn't great but that was repaired (or changed) as soon as we mentioned it. There had been obvious changes made within the bathroom but they were not covered well cosmetically. To be honest, I expected it to look better than this.
We had dinner one evening on the terrace and weren't really impressed with the dishes we chose. They were okay, but were nothing special and we had hoped for something better. There was a large selection of breakfast food with egg options provided to order.
Covid measures were sometimes adhered to and we were disappointed to see some staff members pull their mask over their nose, or over their mouth and nose, when we saw them. Also, the reviews mentioned cleaning staff in PPE, but we saw them in their usual cleaning uniform and sometimes not wearing their mask properly. I feel that the measures, which may have been very tight at the beginning, were starting to slacken.
Overall, we came away a little disappointed. Perhaps our expectations were too high.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank GizmoCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles Danino, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2020

Dear GizmoCairo,

Many thanks for writing your review and for sharing your experience with good constructive comments.

We appreciate your comments, have taken them on board as our highest priority is to continuously improve our offering and have actioned and reinforced all COVID measures as I can assure you that everyone's safety and wellbeing is of critical importance to us.

We look forward to hopefully having the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

The Rock Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2020 via mobile

Check in was easy. Relaxed atmosphere with clean comfortable rooms.
The rooms were not together but quiet with lovely views over the harbour.
Fantastic views from the terrace where we enjoyed afternoon drinks

We ate breakfast on 2 occasions but both times food was cold and lukewarm coffee.
Service was also slow.
Despite this staff were friendly.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank davebI7186QW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles Danino, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2020

Dear davebI7186QW,

Many thanks for sharing your review following your stay.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments have been addressed with the departmental managers as with your constructive feedback, we are able to take the necessary remedial action to ensure that we resolve the issues and deliver a consistent quality of service.

Kind regards,

The Rock Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2020 via mobile

I visited here last week for a weeks stay with my fiancé.

We were excited to stay here as it had good reviews on TripAdvisor.

Pros:
Excellent friendly staff
Conformable beds
Good air conditioning in rooms
Beautiful view

Cons:
Understaffed
Although we asked for a room upgrade, the room we were moved to was very small especially the bathroom where you couldn't move around easily without hitting off the doors
Shower was terrible, no water pressure and shower head loose on wall
Noisy in corridors so disruption to sleep as our room was across from the staff service area so there was always loud talking and movement of trolleys at all hours
Food standard was below a 4 star. Greasy and very limited choice

Disappointing stay overall but probably one to really call out is the over pricing and varying day to day price of breakfast! We were charged £35 for 2 English breakfasts one morning, £28 anotyer morning for just eggs abd a croissant and £5.95 for 2 continental breakfasts another morning. Make sure to check the prices before you dine as I don't think charging almost £30 for eggs on toast is acceptable. There are other places you can go and get much better value for money

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 270mariam270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles Danino, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2020

Dear 270mariam270,

Many thanks for your review.

I am very sorry to hear that your stay on this occasion did not live up to your expectations, however appreciate and thank you for your comments.

Including breakfast in your room rate before arriving is the best way to guarantee value for money. Our willingness and eagerness in accommodating our guest requests can be misconstrued as unsystematic price structure however, I can assure you that we work tirelessly and relentlessly in our attention to everything single detail and recent comments reflect this.

I hope that you will give us another opportunity to regain your confidence in the very near future. Please contact me directly so that I can assist with your booking arrangements.

Best regards,

Charles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2020 via mobile

Nice comfortable room with balcony, lovely old traditional lobby and eating area for drinks breakfast afternoon tea and dinner, very nice breakfast choice
And nice whisky, the WiFi is very hit and miss depending on room loacation
Bus stop right outside you'll need it its on a steep hill, really nice park and small zoo opposite, staff very nice

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mickyphilly76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles Danino, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2020

Dear Mickyphilly76,

Many thanks for sharing your comments further your recent stay at the Rock Hotel.

I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that our hotel team met with your expectations delivering The Rock Hotel's signature caring and attentive service.

We constantly focus on the smallest of details and your comments will help us improve and enhance our service. I have forwarded your WIFI comment to our IT Department as our internet infrastructure has not long been upgraded.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

The Rock Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews