We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,607)
Filter reviews
2,607 results
Traveller rating
1,068
919
384
154
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,068
919
384
154
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wisteria terrace steep hill botanical gardens barbary bar iconic hotel cable car busy road art deco lovely hotel pool area is view from the balcony reception staff public areas lounge bar fantastic views junior suite balcony door
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 2,607 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2020 via mobile

We loved the rooms and the balcony views. The pool area is nice too with a friendly bar. But service in the restaurant and main bar is slow and disorganised. I left a jacket in our room when we left but went back for it shortly after to be told it was not there!!
Beware of the steep walk to the hotel from Queensgate Quay or the High St.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank peterstanley2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles Danino, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2020

Dear peterstanley2018,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent visit to The Rock Hotel.

We appreciate your comments and have taken them on board as our highest priority is to continuously improve our offering.

Kind Regards,

The Rock Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2020 via mobile

We just want to say thank you to all the staff here at The Rock Hotel Gibraltar. From reservations, reception, restaurant, pool bar and house keeping you were all truly amazing. This was a last minute booking due to Covid and many cancellations but you certainly did not disappoint us. Your attentiveness and kindness made our stay so welcoming that we cannot wait to return. If you haven’t tried this hotel you should. The history and character make your stay even more unique and with views that will take your breath away. We hope we can return again soon and although we had a lovely room with a balcony we would love to try your beautiful suites. Thank you also for all your Covid friendly measures which were carried out with extreme care and attention but not imposing. Keep safe and please pass on our thanks to all your staff from us Room 104.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Muriel_Prince2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles Danino, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2020

Dear Muriel_Prince2,

Many thanks for taking the time to post such a heartfelt review.

It pleases us no end to hear your stay exceeded any expectations and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

The Rock Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2020

Disappointed with the room this year.
I have to mention the restaurant staff Tachefine, Natalia, Azziz and Annetta who very very friendly, attentive and efficient. Tachefine was extremely entertaining.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles Danino, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2020

Dear susan p,

Many thanks for granting us such a high rating.

I am disappointed to learn you room did not live up to your expectations, and would appreciate the opportunity to learn of the issues, however we are very pleased you were well looked after by our attentive staff, they will appreciate your comments.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

The Rock Hotel


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2020

We have returned from a most delightful stay at the Rock Hotel and already booked our return for next year which will be our 4th time.
Our room was lovely and clean and the views over the straights of Gibraltar from the balcony are second to none. We absolutely love the breakfast location on the beautiful terrace and also watched a few sunsets from the bar area. all staff are extremely attentive and always go the extra step to help. We adore Tachefine but also love evrybody else who has always been friendly and catering for our every need.
We would like to get married in the Botanical Garden in 2022 and have already decided we want to stay in the Rock Hotel as it is very special to us. We highly recommend this hotel and cant wait to return in June 2021

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank UtaM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles Danino, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2020

Dear UtaM8,

Thank you so much for your kind comments and review .

We are extremely proud of our staff following your review and we will continue to work very hard at providing a caring and attentive service and we will not let our guard down on the importance of safety. I am extremely pleased to hear you have chosen The Rock Hotel to share your special day with us and we look forward to having the pleasure of planning such a memorable day with you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in June 2021.

Kind regards,

The Rock Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2020

Just returned from another fantastic stay at the Rock Hotel. This was our 3rd visit and it didn't disappoint. We had a fabulous room with an even better view, the bed was very comfortable and the room was large, very clean and spacious. The pool although was very cold, it was very welcome on the hot afternoons. The pool bar and food was very good. We ate on the terrace restaurant most evenings and the food as usual was exceptional. The service we received by all the staff was amazing with a special mention to Natalia, the lady with the blond hair (sorry forgot your name) and a special mention for Tachefine who just made our evenings even more amazing with his good humour and attentive nature. The staff training is first class everyone you meet is very courteous, polite and professional. The hotel is on a hill but the views are well worth the walk.

Date of stay: October 2020
1  Thank mup5044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles Danino, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2020

Dear mup5044,

Thank you so much for leaving this delightful review following your most recent stay at The Rock Hotel, and thank you especially for highlighting our staff members! All our staff will be so pleased to know that they made your experience extra special, especially Natalija, Tachefine and Aneta.

It was a pleasure, as always, to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kindest Regards,

The Rock Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews