We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off lying bar staff”
Review of Baviera Restaurant

Baviera Restaurant
Ranked #8,713 of 11,041 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: US$7 - US$69
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch
Neighbourhood: La Rambla
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Having been in Spain for months, leaving via Barcelona, dropped in to ramblas for last beer. I asked for a draft estrella cana thinking it would be reasonable as a 1/3 bottle was on the menu at 2.60. the bill was for 3.90 each plus terrace service. They insisted that the menu was for bottle and we had draft which is always more for the same amount!!. In real Spain a Cana is €1.50. We all know bottles are more than draft. Horrible bar staff, horrible prices, horrible place. Choose somewhere else. Barcelona is not real Spain, don't let it put you off!!!

Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Baviera Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

In real Spain, the cane is that price because you say so? I think that claiming that your word has more weight than any other is saying too much, we do not know where it has traveled, what places it has visited and it is not our intention, but sir, believe us, we are not the only ones, nor the most expensive; We regret very much having made him wake up from a dream that seemed eternal but, we would not want him to make his compatriots believe things that are not true.

Of course, for Spain, in the interior, in the north, in the south ... you will find places at 1'50, and others at 5'50, you will pass in the best places in the world, everything will depend on the location, or it is not true?
Thank you for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (931)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 931 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2018

When we first sat down we wondered if we had made a mistake. The host treated us like tourists and the menu was a little confusing. Our waiter, on the other hand, was totally helpful. He actually saved us from ourselves when we ordered. He brought us traditional tapas in servings that we could all share. The food was good, even the squid. I sampled a few local beers during dinner and others had sangria, which was very tasty. When we had our fill, our waiter brought us a sampling of Cava, limoncello, and Spanish whiskey to try on the house. All in all, not a pretty good choice for our first evening in Barcelona!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Baviera Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you for your comment, we have been a bit upset with the theme of the host, how does he know he was the host? What happened to make them feel bad?
Anyway, it is a relief on the other hand to know that our staff proceeded as it should and got them to relax and feel at ease.
We hope to improve in your next visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

I walked in at lunch time to try their foods with sticks on it. I was the 3rd customers inside. Poor service, they are so busy chatting among themselves. Foods taste good and comfy ambiance.

Thank fhel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Baviera Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thanks for your comment. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We didn't get enough to eat. The waiter looked down his nose at us the whole time we were there, as if we were taking up a spot that he'd personally reserved for someone else. When we had questions about the menu, he refused to help us understand how the food was prepared - sort of a "take it or leave it" attitude. And then he couldn't be found when we were ready to go - I went ahead shopping while my husband waited for our bill. The high price we paid did not reflect the lack of enjoyment we got out of our lunch in any way - neither the service nor the food and certainly not the ambiance (or total lack thereof) justified the price they charged.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travelmakesUrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

The Food was ok...the tables were dirty....it was chaotic.....the bottle of water never arrived....not sure if we paid for it...and we were suckers and went back late at night.
BIG MISTAKE....PAKIS WAITERS not Catalan...sadly....ended up paying 170 euros for 3 persons ...12 Tapas 2 Beers and a glass of white wine...in La Gavina early on in the day we paid 165 euros for 3 course meal one bottle of good red wine a glass of white wine and a bottle of water...Veal with Pate de Foigras..Monkfish...Calmares as starter and Creme Catalan for Desert...as you can see a big difference..BE WARNED

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baviera Restaurant also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Baviera Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing