We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ako Suite Hotel(Barcelona)
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$216
US$169
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
NH Barcelona Ramblas(Barcelona)
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Expo Hotel Barcelona(Barcelona)
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Barcelo Raval(Barcelona)
US$178
US$155
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$181/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya(Barcelona)
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Arts Barcelona(Barcelona)
US$1,301
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
116
120
44
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
120
44
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsping pong tablebed female dormdecent breakfastrooms were very cleanwalking distancefront desk stafftapastwo blockscommon areasla ramblalocation is greathot waterlounge areabars and restaurantsminute walkmetro stationlockers
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2010

In a sketchy neighborhood, don't walk alone at night. Other than that, pretty nice hostel. A plus was the free internet in the lobby with a few computers you can use. Also a cute gathering area in the lobby good for meeting people. Overall, decent experience.

Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
Thank jsoko22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

This review is quite easy as I really have nothing bad to say about the hostel. The area might be a little dodgy, but traveling alone I felt fine here (now, closer to Las Ramblas where people kept trying to sell me beer and drugs was an ENTIRELY different story . . . near Licene is pretty dodgy ladies). So, for the good: the key to get into the hostel, room, and the ultra quiet lockers is a little electronic watch - pretty cool; everything is really clean and the bathrooms are cleaned two or three times a day; location is at the intersection of the 2 metro lines that go to basically all of the tourist sites and is where the Montjuic tram is also; bed and pillow are way comfortable; they have their own pub crawl; the central area is always full of people; at night they sell cheap beer; free internet. For the few less-than-great things: showers have no good place to put your things to keep them from getting wet; showers are push button with no temp control, so when you are super hot and want a cool shower - nope, can´t take one; their are only 4 computers for the whole hostel so it can be hard to get on one (the 20 minute limit ísn't enforced).

Overall though, I have stayed at about 15 hostels on 3 vacations in the last 3 years and this was my favorite one so far.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonLady80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

I stayed here with 2 other friends in a 5 person room for 2 nights. The room was quite tight and at the time, was extremely noisy due to some construction outside. The room would get quite hot and stuffy, so we either had to put up with the noise or the heat. Also, it had a strange smell, which we never got used to. Needless to say, we didn't spend a lot of time in the room.

If you just need a place to sleep, this is an okay option. Some people I met said they transferred from another hostel in Barcelona because the one they were previously in was extremely dirty.

I agree with some of the other reviewers, that it is a good social atmosphere. I met some really great people here. At the same time, it was hard to find some quiet time. The bar is located on the first floor, right by reception. there is a reading area/lounge on the second floor, which picks up all the noise from the bar.

The hostel is located close to a metro stop, and is about a 30 minute train ride from the airport. Beware of extremely early/late flight departures, as the metro doesn't run 24 hours, and you'll end up paying a lot for a taxi to the airport. The area immediately surrounding the hostel is quite sketchy, I witnessed a woman peeing on the sidewalk within the first hour. Girls, watch out if you're traveling alone.

It's a close walk to Las Ramblas, but you pass by some real dodgy shops, strip clubs and bars on the way.

Free internet, but the computers in the reception area were extremely slow and a lot of the time, people were lining up to use the computers.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunnybeebz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

This is a great hostel, with a huge bar area, though the beds are packed in pretty tight. It was so easy to meet people and chat, especially at night before people headed out. Really close to las ramblas and only a 5 minute walk from the metro. I loved the electronic wrist keys they had which you needed to enter the hostel, enter your room and unlock your locker. We drove there and theres no parking and little outside, but there is a cheap underground carpark just round the corner.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BathAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

6 friends and I stayed at HelloBCN. Rooms are a little tight, but the bar area is so great you dont even want to spend any time in the rooms.
Great staff, helpful, fun and friendly.
I've been all around Europe and stayed in many hostels and this is the only one I was willing to give a review, so you know its that good!
The area is a little shady so if your a solo girl you might want to buddy up with someone when your leaving the hostel , but within the hostel walls its very very safe.
Would go back to HelloBCN if I ever venture back there again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vegastimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews