We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barcelona Ole!”
Review of HelloBCN Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
HelloBCN Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2010

I mean its a genaral hostel but very modern. And lots of interesting people there and also the staff were pretty kind. People from everywhere were coming together and enjoying the time.
The bar guys were cool and sweet :)
It was pretty great! :)

Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
Thank UGeene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 144 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2010

In a sketchy neighborhood, don't walk alone at night. Other than that, pretty nice hostel. A plus was the free internet in the lobby with a few computers you can use. Also a cute gathering area in the lobby good for meeting people. Overall, decent experience.

Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
Thank jsoko22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

This review is quite easy as I really have nothing bad to say about the hostel. The area might be a little dodgy, but traveling alone I felt fine here (now, closer to Las Ramblas where people kept trying to sell me beer and drugs was an ENTIRELY different story . . . near Licene is pretty dodgy ladies). So, for the good: the key to get into the hostel, room, and the ultra quiet lockers is a little electronic watch - pretty cool; everything is really clean and the bathrooms are cleaned two or three times a day; location is at the intersection of the 2 metro lines that go to basically all of the tourist sites and is where the Montjuic tram is also; bed and pillow are way comfortable; they have their own pub crawl; the central area is always full of people; at night they sell cheap beer; free internet. For the few less-than-great things: showers have no good place to put your things to keep them from getting wet; showers are push button with no temp control, so when you are super hot and want a cool shower - nope, can´t take one; their are only 4 computers for the whole hostel so it can be hard to get on one (the 20 minute limit ísn't enforced).

Overall though, I have stayed at about 15 hostels on 3 vacations in the last 3 years and this was my favorite one so far.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonLady80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

I stayed here with 2 other friends in a 5 person room for 2 nights. The room was quite tight and at the time, was extremely noisy due to some construction outside. The room would get quite hot and stuffy, so we either had to put up with the noise or the heat. Also, it had a strange smell, which we never got used to. Needless to say, we didn't spend a lot of time in the room.

If you just need a place to sleep, this is an okay option. Some people I met said they transferred from another hostel in Barcelona because the one they were previously in was extremely dirty.

I agree with some of the other reviewers, that it is a good social atmosphere. I met some really great people here. At the same time, it was hard to find some quiet time. The bar is located on the first floor, right by reception. there is a reading area/lounge on the second floor, which picks up all the noise from the bar.

The hostel is located close to a metro stop, and is about a 30 minute train ride from the airport. Beware of extremely early/late flight departures, as the metro doesn't run 24 hours, and you'll end up paying a lot for a taxi to the airport. The area immediately surrounding the hostel is quite sketchy, I witnessed a woman peeing on the sidewalk within the first hour. Girls, watch out if you're traveling alone.

It's a close walk to Las Ramblas, but you pass by some real dodgy shops, strip clubs and bars on the way.

Free internet, but the computers in the reception area were extremely slow and a lot of the time, people were lining up to use the computers.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunnybeebz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

This is a great hostel, with a huge bar area, though the beds are packed in pretty tight. It was so easy to meet people and chat, especially at night before people headed out. Really close to las ramblas and only a 5 minute walk from the metro. I loved the electronic wrist keys they had which you needed to enter the hostel, enter your room and unlock your locker. We drove there and theres no parking and little outside, but there is a cheap underground carpark just round the corner.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BathAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Fabrizzios Terrace Barcelona
Fabrizzios Terrace Barcelona
#96 of 736 in Barcelona
124 reviews
Eixample
Don Moustache Hostel
Don Moustache Hostel
#127 of 736 in Barcelona
124 reviews
Eixample
Urbany Hostel BCN GO!
Urbany Hostel BCN GO!
#70 of 736 in Barcelona
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Buba House
Buba House
#166 of 736 in Barcelona
167 reviews
Eixample
Hola Hostal Eixample
Hola Hostal Eixample
#108 of 736 in Barcelona
317 reviews
El Raval
Pars Tailor's Hostel
Pars Tailor's Hostel
#76 of 736 in Barcelona
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HelloBCN Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HelloBCN Hostel

Address: C/ Lafont 8-10, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic , El Poble Sec
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 736 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: €14 - €69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — HelloBCN Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello Barcelona!! Let us help you make your stay unforgettable. HelloBCN Hostel is designed with the backpacker/traveler in mind: breakfast, sheets, Internet, and use of the kitchen are all included in the price, so you don't have to worry about 'hidden extras' when you arrive (towels available for hire) and best of all you're sure to make loads of new friends and travel companions!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your HelloBCN Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellobcn Hotel Barcelona
HelloBCN Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing