We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:30 - 14:30, 17:00 - 22:00
Save
Review Highlights
Outstanding service

We first went to Bodega in 2019 and instantly fell in love with the atmosphere and their vermouth... read more

Reviewed 6 April 2021
mariapunct
Above ansd beyond.

I ordered a bottle of wine as a gift for a friend and the service was outstanding. Even to the... read more

Reviewed 3 April 2021
RossMcO
,
la Bisbal d'Emporda, Spain
Read all 173 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Barcelona
from US$50.71
More Info
from US$48.29
More Info
from US$90.55
More Info
from US$150.73
More Info
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
156
12
1
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
156
12
1
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting jamon tasting experience tapas misty vermouth cava
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2018

During our recent 2 week trip around the country of Spain we began and finished our trip in Barcelona. Bodega Maestrazgo was on our list of places to try for Tapas since we had seen it featured on youtube videos. Our server, Misty, was also a partner in the bodega. She was there both times we visited and we LOVED her. She is adorable, personable, and is from Ireland, so it was easy to converse with her since English was her native language. Both times we visited she spent some time and chatted with us. She recommended a killer tapas platter that we loved SO much we went back a second time to have it again and we are still talking about it (it had tuna, artichokes, olive tapenade, red pepper sauce and crunchy pieces of toast), SO GOOD!! If you are near the Born district you must check out this adorable Bodega. Also, the wine selection was amazing!!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Jenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Misty B, Manager at Bodega Maestrazgo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2019

Hello Jenna,

You are so so great to leave this wonderful review! :) It was an absolute joy to spend some time chatting to you and your husband! You guys were terrific company and great fun! Our job is always easier when it is serving great guests!​ :)

Please make sure you come back and visit us one day again soon for some artichokes and of course some wine!

Love & Cava
Misty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018

We had a wine tasting for a group of business people worldwide who were in Barcelona for an international conference. Everybody had such a great time that the thanks rolled in for days afterwards. Misty was such a fun and gracious host and had organised a perfect evening. The stories about the wine and the different tastings were just brilliant. Also Jose the owner of the bodega is such a lovely person and you can just feel the passion that they put behind their work. It is so wonderful to see people being passionate about their wine. And also great food was being served as well. An absolut brilliant evening. I have and am recommending this place to everybody who visits Barcelona. If you like wine and lovely people it is an absolute heaven!!!!!! Will be back!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank anitastampfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Misty B, Manager at Bodega Maestrazgo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2019

Hello Anita,

Thank you so very much for this wonderful review. It was so lovely working with you to organise this event. Every guest was so friendly and a pleasure to have visit with us! It is easy for us to be so passionate when we have great guests! Our home is your home and we hope to welcome you back​ again one day very soon!

Love & Cava
Misty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

A group of friends and I came to Bodega Maestrazgo for a private wine tasting, and it ended up being the highlight of our weekend in Barcelona! The private room is great, and there was so much more food than I expected! Our host Misty really made the night - she was great fun while also teaching us loads about the Bodega and the delicious wines. I would absolutely go back :)

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank georgiagray88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Misty B, Manager at Bodega Maestrazgo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2019

Hello Georgia!

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave this review. You were all fabulous hosts and I had just as much fun teaching you all as you had enjoying! Thank you very much for visiting us and trusting us with your evening!

We hope to see you one day again soon for a glass of bubbly!

Salut,

Misty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

I love Barcelona and just found another reason to love it more, "Bodega Maestrazgo" I had researched shops to buy wine in Barcelona before my last trip. I wanted to find a place close to my hotel. The location that kept appearing in recommendations was Bodega Maestrazgo and it was just down the street from my hotel. After an afternoon walking through the streets of Barcelona shopping, eating tapas and drinking wine it was 5PM and time for the Bodega Maestrazgo to open. As we arrived there was already a line out front waiting for the shuttered entrance to open. In a few minutes the door opened. It was all we had expected bottles of wine on one wall and barrels of wine on the other and wine barrel tables throughout. You could buy glasses of wine for approximatley 2-3 euros per glass right out of the barrels on the wall. Nice deal!! We were met by a nice young lady, we told her we were looking for local wines to the region (red) that were currently not exported. We did not want to buy wines that we could get at home. She brought out several wines that we tasted and then explained and showed us numerous others. We bought eight bottles and left very happy. This place was great as was the assistance we received. We will be back in Barcelona next year and will most assuredly be stopping there again. I hope to make arrangements for being able to get a tasting as well as some cheese and meat to go along with it. Cannot wait, if you like wine this is a don't miss location in Barcelona.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank soonerboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Misty B, Manager at Bodega Maestrazgo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2019

Hello Soonerboston,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this absolutely charming and beautiful review! It reads like the opening to a great story! :)

I am so very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience and that the service was great! That is what it is all about for us. We want every single guest to feel welcomed and at home from the moment they enter.

We hope you enjoyed all of your lovely wines and we look very much forward to seeing you again soon! Make sure to let us know when you are back and we can arrange a special tasting for you both! You can contact us through the​ contact form on our website!

Love & Cava
Misty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018

After finding this bodega online I corresponded with them a lot via email and on the telephone to arrange an afternoon’s wine, cava and vermouth tasting with tapas: for my two friends pre-wedding celebration. From the very first email Misty was sincere, helpful, engaging and gave lots information about the options available; I didn’t even bother contacting any other wine tasting places after this as there was no point in my opinion.

Upon arriving into Barcelona two friends and I visited the Bodega ahead of the surprise party to meet Misty and Jose and, to ‘sample’ some wines……well let’s just say several hours passed by whilst ‘sampling’ the wines and we were late back for dinner. Although to be honest we were not hungry due to the delicious tapas served with the wine; the artichoke, sundried tomato, tuna and tapenade tapas were amazing!

Surprise unveiled our party of fifteen had a private wine and tapas tasting afternoon which couldn’t have gone any better. Misty was very funny, knowledgeable about the wines being served, very attentive and, Jose and her chose some outstanding wines and cava’s……the porron tasting also made a very funny addition to the afternoon!
Up to this point I wasn’t really someone who knew much about or favoured Spanish wines however, the ones sampled at the Bodega I had never heard of before and, they have now become some of my favourites; especially the Arborino which is surprising given I mostly drink reds!

I really cannot praise this Bodega or Misty and Jose highly enough….it really is a wonderful place run by wonderful people and they made our party visit so, so memorable!

Make sure to visit whether its for one glass of wine, a tasting session or a chilled afternoon/evening of drinks

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Zacaaryus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Misty B, Manager at Bodega Maestrazgo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2019

Hello Zacaaryus!

What can I say but thank you all so much for the great day also! :) You were all such lovely guests and so much fun! It was an absolute pleasure to have you all! I still think of you all and the laughs we had throughout​ the tasting. It is very easy for us to do a good job when we have such absolutely charming guests! :)

I very much hope to see you all one day again soon and practice those porron skills again!! ;)

Love & Cava,
MIsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews