We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuck in a noisy kitchen with a bed stuck in it.”
Review of Hostal Felipe II

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Felipe II
Ranked #354 of 732 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewed 5 November 2010

We were asked to call when we arrived in town. Wec assumed it was to be given directions. As we knew our way around, we went to the hostal, as other friends were staying there for the weekend also. When we arrived, it turns out we had been moved to another building way across town, well away fro our friends. The contact explained that the room was a very good one, and "even has it's own kitchen"! However, it was not a bedroom with it's own kitchen, so much as the flat's kitchen with a bed put in it! And the washing machines were on, washing towels from the other rooms. The boilers for that part of the buidling were also there, so every time somebody decided to wash their hands or take a shower, they rattled and chugged away - guaranteed wake-up call, even when you didn't want one. So, not a real room, but noisy, and not in the location we wanted.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctnmGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Felipe II
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 80 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2010

Best thing: it was clean. Things we didn't like: room change from double bed to two singles, charged me in CAD when I thought I had paid in euros, up four flights of poorly lit rickety stairs, Internet access all manual set-up and very slow, wash basin in the room, only the toilet and shower stall in a separate tiny cubicle, room placed above noisy street, no breakfast, hotel has been created with bigger rooms sub-divided and converted with cheapest materials, toilet has instructions not put toilet paper down it as it will clog because the flush motor isn't strong enough. Ok to stay if there is nowhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanSco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

This hostal was perfect for my family (my wife and I and our 7yr-old son).

ROOM:
We stayed in a three-bed room (307) with its own toilet and shower, air-conditioning, a fridge, and a balcony. There was also a TV/DVD player, which we weren't expecting (and didn't have time to use). The beds were comfy and the room was cleaned every other day. Our room had ethernet sockets but we didn't need them because of the free WIFI. If we hadn't brought our own laptop and smartphone, we could have used one of the free computers in the common room.

LOCATION:
The hostal is in a great location, only a few hundred metres from the Sagrada Familia, very close to a Metro station, and with a bus stop right outside. For those who like to see the city on foot, the hostal is about 45 minutes walk from the city centre (an easy walk because Barcelona is built on a grid). There is a late-opening convenience store very nearby, and several good bakeries within walking distance.

Vehicle noise on the street is pretty loud, but that wasn't a problem for us (we were always exhausted after long days exploring the city). There are much noisier parts of Barcelona. Forewarned is forearmed!

STAFF:
The staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke perfect English. We arrived at the hostal at 2am (you have to warn them if you're arriving later than 10pm), and were greeted by a friendly young American guy.

OTHER:
The hostal is on the third floor, and has a very old-fashioned lift which broke down one morning. Not a major problem, and I've no doubt that staff would bring luggage or shopping upstairs for people who'd find it hard to carry it up all the stairs.

OVERALL:
For anyone who doesn't already know, a hostal is not a hotel, so don't expect meals, room service, bars and leisure facilities. But if you're looking for a comfortable base from which to explore the city, you'll find Felipe II an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctorbiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Stayed here in May 2010. Good things about the hotel: location is really good, central and close to metro; beautiful old building with old elevator ; wooden floors in rooms; reasonable price. Bad things: the rooms are very small and very VERY noisy. No, really, let me make this clear: VERY noisy. We had a room quite close to (but not the one next to) the reception and it was impossible to get any sleep as you could hear banging on doors, telephones ringing, people in the corridors shouting and the receptionists shouting even louder than the guests themselves. At some point what must have been the owner/manager of the hotel arrived ( at 8 in the morning) yelling instructions at the receptionist at the top of her voice and then (wait for it) someone opened our door with a key while we were sleeping without even knocking to check if anyone was in the room. This is unacceptable. If you want privacy and silence this hotel is not for you. If you don't care about these things then I suppose it's a beautiful building and a good deal for some people. There is wifi internet all throughout the hotel, which is very handy, and the staff is helpful with info.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlunderglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

Just few weeks ago went to Barcelona with my best friend. Through the Internet I've booked the room '408', which looks very nice on the pictures (twin bed, balcony, private wc). I wrote huge number of emails, asking, whether this room is available for the date, I was planning to arrive. The answer was positive,I've paid deposit,but on the arrival day I was told,that the room is busy,and that there is another room. However, the other room was horrible,it was VERY small, and with one bed! There was no hot water in the monrning..The owner of this flats,said,that its possible to change the room the next day.Next day I was told, 'sorry,the room is already busy'!!! I was shoked! I start quarreling, screaming, saying,sorry, I booked the other big room,and I'm given completely another! after the scandal, I was given a SUIT, which was located near the beach.This room was much bigger, nicer!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Horta - Guinardó
Hotel Medicis
Hotel Medicis
#281 of 513 in Barcelona
400 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Barbara
Hotel Barbara
#478 of 513 in Barcelona
545 reviews
Horta - Guinardó
Barcelona Nice & Cozy
Barcelona Nice & Cozy
#172 of 732 in Barcelona
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hostalet Barcelona
Hostalet Barcelona
#230 of 308 in Barcelona
113 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Martinval
Hostal Martinval
#23 of 308 in Barcelona
656 reviews
Eixample
ELLA Hostel Barcelona
ELLA Hostel Barcelona
#67 of 732 in Barcelona
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Felipe II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Felipe II

Address: C/ Mallorca, 329 - Floor 3, 08037 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #354 of 732 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: €28 - €99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Felipe II 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A value colourful hostel in Barcelona If you're looking for welcoming, quiet and of value accommodation right in the centre of Barcelona, you've hit the jackpot with Hostal Felipe II. We are characterised by the personalised and friendly treatment we give our guests. YOU WILL FEEL AT HOME HERE! Modern, colourful and very bright, the hostel has been recently reformed. Our HOSTAL FELIPE II, is situated in the best, central and SAFEST part of the city, next to Avenida Diagonal, ten minutes walking from Paseo de Gracia and very close to La Sagrada Familia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Felipe II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Felipe II Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing