We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years in Spain 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
Ranked #147 of 520 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2012

This hotel is in the PERFECT location! The rooms are spacious and clean. When we first arrived, we asked for a "nice" room, and they gave us a room on the 5th floor in the back with one window facing a small crawl space (Clean but no view). There were two twin beds and we wanted a single bed to share so we called down to the front desk to see if they could change the beds, and they said no problem and changed our room immediately. Our new room was #310. We went to go and check it out, and to our surprise we were in the front of the building with an awesome balcony! It overlooked the street and everything that was going on was right there!!! They have free bottled water at the end of every hallway, and two computers with internet on the 1st floor (FREE).

I would highly recommend this place to friends!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street all have balconies overlooking the street. Very cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoCalPirtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

558 - 562 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2012

This hotel is slightly off the main path in the center, but that makes it more interesting ...and more of a "find". The area is best explored on foot, as most of it is lanes and pedestrian streets. The hotel is on the edge of the gothic "old town", in an area that is getting a bit more touristy each time I go to Barcelona. The location is good, in that it is only a couple blocks away from some excellent bars, tapas places and great street life... but the couple blocks also mean that the hotel is quiet enough.

The hotel is on a main street, so it is wise to get a room on an upper floor if possible - just to avoid the street and pedestrian noise The rooms are newly renovated, and the windows are quite good for soundproofing. The rooms are furnished in modern (but somewhat cheap) style, but they are comfortable and spacious enough - rare in expensive downtown Barcelona. The hotel has WiFi (included) and also a PC station on the 2nd floor - both very convenient for the business traveler.

The restaurant downstairs serves an (included) buffet breakfast, and the quality and selection is very acceptable. I also hear the (asian fusion) food is good for dinner, but given the proximity of tapas and spanish places nearby I have always wanted to "go local".

The staff are helpful in a proficient manner. The service has always been very professional. All in all... the price / value / location / style balance is very good, and I will not hesitate to go back again for either biz or personal travel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on an upper floor - to avoid the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Was quite impressed with this hotel ... very clean, staff is friendly and helpful, location is great and the room was one of the largest I've seen in Europe. Didn't notice the "paper thin" walls, but there was a considerable amount of noise to be heard from the street. Mind you, this was Christmas Eve on a Saturday night -- apparently the Spaniards like to be out and about (not like North Americans who gather inside each other's homes. All in all, I would totally recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Try to get something away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darlene_ray11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Ein tolles, kleines Hotel in Osttirol/ Kartitsch.Die Zimmer sind im ländlichen österreichischem Stil eingerichtet, mit viel Holz.Es gibt eine Minibar. Das Badezimmer mit Waschbecken und Dusche ausgestattet.
Der Spabereich ist ganz neu, wunderschön, mit einer finnischen Sauna, Dampfsauna und einer Infrarotkabine, und einem großzügigem Ruheraum.Auch Massagen werden angeboten.
Das Frühstück ist reichhaltig,Müsli, Wurst, Käse, Marmeladen, und man kann Eier in verschiedensten Variationen bestellen.
Aber das wunderbarste an diesem Hotel ist das Abendessen, welches mit viel Kreativität zubereitet wird.Andre der Herr des Hauses ist ein Sommelier, und ist mit den besten Weinen ausgestattet. Wir besuchten dieses Haus schon zum dritten mal, und waren wieder sehr zufrieden.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5Kontinente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We took aerobus number A2 for €5.30 one way from airport to the main bus stop & walked to hotel- its about 1mile or so away so it's do-able with little luggage.

Location is down a side street about 10-15mins walk from La Rambla & close to the Cathedral & the site seeing bus. Although hotel is not on main street there are lots of little shops, tapas bar & super markets next to it, they are not so touristy & loud. Hotel is also a short walk to the zoo & park- the park is beautiful.

Hotel is simple, clean & basic- we stayed in room 101-would not recommend if u are light sleeper, it was next to elevator & can hear it going up & down, however this was never a bother for us.

Bed is just 2 single bed put together & due to laminate flooring, the bed kept sliding around. Mattress is terrible you can feel all the springs!
Amenities are basic 3 towels, 1 shampoo& cond, shower gel, soap & shower cap.
Despite being basic, it's a nice little hotel.

Breakfast is good, there was a range of hot & cold food, we went between 9am-10am for breakfast & there was always food

Nice little hotel would recommend but only if ur staying for wkend!

Room Tip: Not 101 if you are light sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lalalatracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#126 of 520 in Barcelona
779 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Musik Boutique Hotel
Musik Boutique Hotel
#58 of 520 in Barcelona
531 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Park Hotel Barcelona
Park Hotel Barcelona
#227 of 520 in Barcelona
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#17 of 520 in Barcelona
1,185 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#45 of 520 in Barcelona
2,568 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#62 of 520 in Barcelona
2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona

Address: Princesa 33 - 35, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#137 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: €39 - €185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona is located in the historic center, an unbeatable location for easy access to the most interesting, cosmopolitan and dynamic area of the city. Come to discover everything this hotel in Barcelona's old town may offer to you. Enjoy your stay in your modern hotel with a pool in the roof-top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciutat Hotel Barcelona
Ciutat Barcelona
Hotel Ciutat De Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing