We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location and price, minor negatives and not impressed with the ''hidden costs''!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SERHS Del Port Hotel
Ranked #165 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2011

My Husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hesperia. We arrived late and were assured by reception that the street was safe, even so late at night. Having never been to Barcelona before, the street did appear a little seedy in the dark, however we found a great bar (fashion tapas bar &pizzeria), about 5 doors down where we ate every day and night due to the price and good quality food. During the day we found the street to be very pleasant and safe, also a great location for the port and ramblas.

We had a street facing smoking room on the 5th floor that was very clean on first impressions, although the bed was a little hard, not really an issue as we walked miles and miles every day-we were just glad of somwhere to rest! Air con was on all night so we were cold in the morning, thus using the blanket, only for me to find several long black hairs on the inside of it, (I am blonde and my husband has short hair...definatly not our hairs!), it was a little off putting for me, however i know that some people will find this totaly unacceptable. Said long black hairs were also on the bathroom floor!
The bath/shower drove me insane! The glass door was glued to the wall and bath, so to turn the shower or bath on, you had to get into the bath first and set the temperature while your standing there, freezing water, all over you. nice. Also, the bath would not run without the shower going. So clearly lacking a bit of common sense in the bathroom department!

We were going to have breakfast in the hotel, but didnt bother as the bar we were in were serving breakfast for less than half the price, and there is a lovely pastry shop 2 doors down, and a shop next door selling a bit of everything (alcohol, cold soft drinks, snacks, fresh fruit etc), all at half the price that you would pay on the port, ramblas or the hotel minibar, and there are plenty of cheap places to eat, just a stones throw away from the hotel.

On checking out, we asked reception to call us a taxi to the airport, it arrived in a couple of minutes. Very efficient, or so we thought at the time. We arrived at the airport, and the meter said 20 something euros, then the driver pressed a few buttons and the then tried to charge us 38 euros..... dont think so somehow as our taxi from the airport to the hotel was only 18.... we tried to get the driver to justify the price, and we understood that there was a charge from the hotel for phoning the taxi for us, also an airport suppliment. (needless to say we did not pay the full ammount, 30 euros is all he was getting from us!)

Then, the day after we arrived home, my husband checked the bank account online as we reguarly do, only to find that the hotel has taken £18 worth of euros out of the bank as a tip...? we were never told this on booking, or checking out of the hotel, neither did we leave a tip. My husband never signed for anything to be taken out of the bank, nor did he authorise any further payment to the hotel after we had paid for our stay, (well over 2 months before we arrived). We are now in dispute of this paynent, so we should get the money back, however I am disgusted that they did this in the first place, I'm pretty sure you cant just take a tip out of someones bank account just bacause you feel like it!

All in all, it was a great trip, the hotel isnt awful, the staff just seem to use your card without telling you and that is the reason why i am rating this hotel as poor.
S X

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xxsophiemxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (625)
There are newer reviews for SERHS Del Port Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 248 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

We arrived in Barcelona back in May, and stayed at the Hesperia del Port. Barcelona is a wonderful city and we enjoyed our stay.

Positives: It is an excellent location. Quick walk to the train to Montjuic, and just around the corner from Las Ramblas and the Port.

Negatives: (1) The twin beds that made up the one big bed both squeeked if you moved. It woke my wife and I up most of the nights. (2) The walls are paper thin and I could hear everyone come into their rooms while we were sleeping. I could even hear someone in the neighboring bathroom singing. (3) The shower would leak into the bathroom. Made for a nasty floor.

Overall, we would visit Barcelona again, but pay the extra $$$ to stay somewhere nicer.

Room Tip: Americans, pay the extra $$$ to get a 5 star hotel in Europe
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neerav77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My sister & I stayed at the Hesperia del Port the night before our cruise. The location was very convient. We walked to the Columbus momument area in the morning to catch the port bus to the ship. Other reviewers mentioned the "seedy" area, but we had no problem with the area. We had a wonderful paella dinner in an outdoor cafe two blocks from the hotel. Our room was simple but clean; just what we expected for a economy hotel. The staff was pleasant and even let us check in before noon since we had arrived in Barcelona on an early morning flight. We would not hesitate to stay there again if we are lucky enough to cruise from Barcelona again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rogue47OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Wish we read the review before booking. Hotel is very dreary and although good for sightseeing, was in a red light area. We, as a family of eight, stayed for 3 nights this September. We reported a broken toilet seat in one of the rooms, and it was still broken when we left. Shower leaked all over the floor and towels used for the floor were put back for use the next day by the cleaner. On returning to the hotel on the Sunday evening, the reception stank of hashish-but the hotel is non smoking!!!! Breakfast was fairly good and the breakfast staff were very helpful, not so some of the reception staff at night and the cleaning was way below standard. I would give this hotel 2 stars at a push but would not give it 3 stars at all. Avoid at all costs if you have children with you.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and go for a much better hotel
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank EmanK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We searched high and low for a well-priced hotel in Barcelona that was close to Las Ramblas where all the action was. This hotel exceeded our expectations and was also very close to the beach, shopping, and the waterfront. A simple but tasty morning buffet was also offered for 9 euros a day which proved handy before a full day of sight-seeing. There were also many restaurants, stores, and fruit markets within a block or two.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tech-Guy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Chic & Basic Ramblas
Chic & Basic Ramblas
#181 of 513 in Barcelona
1,077 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Mimic
Hotel Mimic
#217 of 513 in Barcelona
2,660 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Auto Hogar
Hotel Auto Hogar
#283 of 513 in Barcelona
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#86 of 513 in Barcelona
1,673 reviews
Eixample
Hotel SERHS Carlit
Hotel SERHS Carlit
#325 of 513 in Barcelona
310 reviews
Montjuic
Hotel Grums Barcelona
Hotel Grums Barcelona
#192 of 513 in Barcelona
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SERHS Del Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SERHS Del Port Hotel

Address: Paral.lel Avenue, 40, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Hesperia del Port)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: €75 - €202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SERHS Del Port Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SERHS Del Port is the perfect place to stay if you want to be in the center of Barcelona. Within just a few minutes' walk from the bustling Las Ramblas and beautiful port area, this newly built hotel provides exceptional value and a high level of modern comfort. Non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your SERHS Del Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Del Port Barcelona
Hesperia Del Port Hotel Barcelona
SERHS Del Port Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing