We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing stay”
Review of Chic & Basic Lemon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chic & Basic Lemon
Ranked #298 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 21 April 2017

We stayed at the Hotel Marvi for one week, unfortunately we were not told about the renovations were being done, so we had no internet connection for the first four days, the kitchen was closed, which meant no meals, and on the last morning we were about to leave, a workman came into the lift with a large piece of steel, he took the lift to the fifth floor and the lift broke down, we had to walk down five flights of stairs with two suitcases. So not a pleasant stay

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rosierdmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2016

When I first saw the entrance, I was put off because it looks old. Reception is on the first floor, they were friendly but a bit awkward at times. The elevator is a bit noisy. The hotel location is excellent. Few minutes from plaza catalunya and universitat aerobus stop. The room was spacious clean and quiet. Didn't try breakfast at the hotel. Overall a very positive experience. Very good 2-star hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

It is a 2* hotel, but I would say that it is better than this. Our room was big and clean, unfortunately the window was on a "blind" side, hence not airy, however, the advantage was to be so quite and there was no noise at all. At the reception, staff was great and really helpful. Last but not the least, it is minutes walking distance to plaza de Catalunya, really close to the bus stops from and to the airport. Cheap and highly recommended.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Leb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016

The Hotel Marvi is a basic hotel , the room we were in was basic, small television, but totally functional, it was clean and tidy , and the staff did a very good job to keep it that way,the WI-FI was also very good. It is a shame that the Hotel does not have Tea and Coffee making facilities in the room,however we had brought our own kettle so overcame this problem.
We decided that we would go out for breakfast every morning as the previous reviews suggested the Hotels breakfast was not good value for money.
The real plus point for this Hotel is its location 200 yards from the top of the Ramblas, and 10 yards away from the Universat Metro Station, from where you can reach anywhere in the city.

Room Tip: We were situated in the middle of the hotel on the 5th floor and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

This hotel was chosen for it's ideal position for sightseeing etc. It was a bit of a budget holiday so we chose 2* accommodation - HOWEVER, with a security entry system and a 24 hour reception, maid service every day and free wifi everywhere in the hotel I think we certainly had our monies worth and in fact haven't enjoyed all that in 3* accommodation we've stayed in in the past ! The hotel was spotlessly clean which is really important to us, with friendly and helpful staff. We'd certainly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: we were in a room at the back of the hotel on floor 3 which was silent at night - I think the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clarewithoutthei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
#366 of 519 in Barcelona
364 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#131 of 519 in Barcelona
780 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Ciutat Vella
Hotel Ciutat Vella
#218 of 519 in Barcelona
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Amra Barcelona Gran Via
Amra Barcelona Gran Via
#363 of 519 in Barcelona
148 reviews
El Raval
Chic & Basic Ramblas
Chic & Basic Ramblas
#177 of 519 in Barcelona
1,147 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Reding Croma
Hotel Reding Croma
#229 of 519 in Barcelona
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chic & Basic Lemon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chic & Basic Lemon

Address: Calle Pelayo 6, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Hotel Marvi)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: €60 - €424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chic & Basic Lemon 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are provided with central air conditioning and heating, safe box, complete bathroom, public digital TV and direct phone line. Children minor than 7 years are not welcome.Baby cot for free (under availability)■air conditioning■Wake-up Service■Daily cleaning service■Hairdryer■Wi-Fi For Free ■Television■Iron and ironing board (on request) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Chic & Basic Lemon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marvi Hotel Barcelona
Chic & Basic Lemon Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing