We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Drinks & Tapas”
Review of Hotel DO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel DO
Ranked #6 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

This is our 3rd trip to Barcelona and as we have done on each occasion on arrival we headed for Plaza Real for welcome drinks and Tapas. Whilst the staff maybe different each time the service and food remains the same...very good. My wife reckons they make the best Sangria anywhere in Spain.....who am I to argue. Great location to watch the world go by I many interesting sights. Thoroughly recommend.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Hoodie562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (929)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 40 of 929 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

We arrived by taxi on a Saturday night at this lovely boutique hotel in downtown Barcelona. We were immediately checked in by two young gentlemen. One insisted on taking us to the room and showing us our amenities. Free mini bar soft drinks,free breakfast, free welcoming beverages, free wi-if. Someone delivered four fresh figs to our room and later 3 tiny pastries for bedtime.
The room is nicely decorated, modern and elegant. Wood floors, large 2 person basin, delicious toiletries, bathrobes and the best of all was a magnificent rain shower. The shower has shampoo, conditioner and two kinds of high end body washes from London. Smells great!
We had a Cava and beer sitting on the square watching everyone enjoy the night.
In the morning we had a delicious breakfast with a pastry basket, fresh pressed orange juice and cappuccinos. My husband had a Spanish omelette and I had a crepe with ham and cheese. Everything including all services were first class.
The only draw back was the noise level from the street on a Saturday night. There was never ending chatter from the people in the square.
Might have been because it was a Saturday night.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Christina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We had just come from the Hotel Alfonso in Seville, which is pretty hard for any hotel to top, but Hotel DO really tried. This hotel is very well decorated, and charming. A great choice for Barcelona!

The staff was exceptionally professional. They offered us a welcome drink, and we got an additional bottle of wine and tapas sample for booking directly with the hotel. The two gentlemen that manned the front-desk were very helpful and remembered us each time we saw them. A huge selling point for this hotel was the charming staff.

Our room was well decorated but small, however, we had a personal terrace with a pool, which increased our room size a lot. Without the terrace, the room size would have been way too small for the price, but we were happy with the terrace. The private terrace was amazing because we smoke, so it was wonderful not to have to go down to the lobby to exit for smoke, especially later at night. The pool was very clean and well maintained. Unfortunately, when we were there it was raining a lot, and a bit cooler. We didn't get as much use out of the pool as we would have liked. If you plan a trip for July/August though, that pool would be godsend because it does get very hot in the city during the day walking around. Also the mini-bar was free, which was a nice bonus, and they leave little samples of desserts each night when they turn down the beds.

The real selling feature of this hotel is the location. We were right in Placa Reial, a beautiful open square with a fountain that leads into the gothic area with tiny old 'walking only' streets in each direction. On the other side, the hotel is right off of La Rambla, a major touristy walking street. The square has tons of restaurants along the perimeter (including Hotel DO's restaurant) and buskers/street performers come and go through out the day putting on impromptu shows. The square was always filled with people, and you could easily spend the day drinking and eating while people watching. It was a great starting point for walking around the city. We stayed at another hotel after this one, and we really missed the area. We ended up coming back to the Placa Reial our last night just because we missed the atmosphere of the square.

Hotel DO's restaurant was quite good. We ate a couple meals there and found the food to be some of the best we had while in Barcelona.

The only negative thing I can say about our stay, was that we were under the impression (perhaps mistakenly) that our terrace was private. When we first arrived, we thought we were on the top floor, so nothing above us and it has quite high walls around it. At one point I was sunbathing and looked up to find several people staring down at me from a higher point on the roof. I was quite shocked and realized that there must be a way to get to a higher vantage point through the public pool area on the roof, and it would be have been polite for the staff to let us know that the terrace is not actually private, and you could be seen by other guests. Luckily it wasn't the end of the world as I was wearing my suit, but I can imagine that many people might want to know that, and it should be stated by the staff upon arrival to avoid unpleasant situations.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

My wife and I had the pleasure to stay here on our honeymoon. The room upstairs on the fourth floor was one of the best rooms we have ever stayed in anywhere. We had our own private pool in downtown Barcelona with views of the city. The staff was so nice and welcoming. The restaurant was great too and you have the option of eating outside in the square or upstairs on the roof. They have a great wine list too. Be sure to check out their wine cellar downstairs. Thank you staff for making our last night in Barcelona such a memorable one. We can't wait to return!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Keith V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We stayed at Hotel DO for three nights and it was wonderful in every way. A delicious breakfast is included - not a stale buffet but made to order off a wonderful menu - and served at tables on the square, under the shade of the umbrellas. Our room was large and airy, the bed was comfortable, and turn-down service was provided each night, complete with a sweet snack. Everything is scrupulously clean and the service was top-notch. This hotel is a treasure.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 517 in Barcelona
1,419 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 517 in Barcelona
323 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#7 of 517 in Barcelona
224 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 517 in Barcelona
1,792 reviews
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#9 of 517 in Barcelona
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DO

Address: Placa Reial, 1, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: €239 - €423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DO 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Barcelona, in one of the most historic squares in the city, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is a unique gastronomic boutique hotel. Located in a historic building that dates from 1856 and was completely renovated in 2011, this 5-star hotel has a total of 18 luxury rooms, most of them with views over the Plaza Real.The Hotel DO: Placa Reial has a swimming pool, solarium, spa and a carefully selected gastronomic menu based on the concept of local produce and on the authenticity of what is local, presented in its three restaurants: La Cuina, La Terrassa and El Terrat.True to its surroundings, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is close to the main tourist attractions in the centre of Barcelona such as the Ramblas, the Liceo, the Boqueria market, the Palacio de la Musica concert hall, the Cathedral, the Palau Guell, Santa Maria del Mar, the Picasso Museum and the Port of Barcelona, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel DO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel DO Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing