We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not 5 Star, but OK” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia
Ranked #116 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
sabadellexpatbrit
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not 5 Star, but OK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel, 150 euros including breakfast for an evening business meeting. Duty Manager called as soon as we were in room to make sure all ok. I noticed the breakfast price was 30 euros per person, but breakfast was great, no question. Buffet style, bacon eggs, mushrooms, sausages, hams, cheese, rolls, jams, fruits etc. Staff spoke English to varying levels and seemed pleased to help. Room was clean but a little tired and obviously in need of a re-decoration. Room was a good size. It is important to remember room size is an integral part of the Spanish hotel star system. As there is no international star system for hotels, (really!!) comforts can change as you travel. However, our room had hairdryer, TV, safe, etc. No trouser press. Minibar but with insane prices, so take your own drinking water (you dont want to drink Barcelona tap water; healthwise ok, but awful taste), soft drinks, night caps etc. Location is not fantastic for the city, you will need to take Metro or taxi, so consider that. Do not take taxis from outside the hotel, walk down the road a bit and hail one. A lot cheaper.
All in all, a good hotel for conferences, visiting Camp Nou or for weekend breaks if you get an good offer from their webpage, but for longer stays visiting the city, perhaps I would want to stay a little closer to the centre.

Room Tip: Call before you book. Make sure you mention any offers you have seen. In Spain, you often have to sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabadellexpatbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    747
    575
    240
    83
    30
See reviews for
338
433
92
530
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ludenscheid, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

My family and I spent 6 nights at the Princessa Sofia Hotel and we were very impressed with the high standard of this 5 star hotel. We booked a Suite and had an access to the Club which was very good since we had the opportunity to indulge snacks and alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks until 10.30 pm every day. The rooms were really lovely and not noisy at all. The furniture was beautiful and our king size bed was very big and very comfortable. We could choose between four different kind of pillows which ensured that we could have a good rest every night. Furthermore, the bathroom was very classy.We really felt home the moment we arrived.

The hotel is located next to the Camp Nou (FC Barcelona, 5 minutes walk to the Metro) and usually accomadates the guest teams which play against the FC Barcelona or the players who have just joined the club. Interestingly,Lionel Messi and Gerard Pique had a coffee at the club while we were there..

The check-in was very effective and fast and we were given an early check-in and a late check-out. The staff is very friendly and helpful and they do all they can to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The atmosphere within the hotel has to be good since the hotel has many employees who have been working for the hotel for more than twenty years. I personally think that this is a very good sign as the hotel appreciates in that way the hard and good labour of the elderly. The breakfast was quite good and we found everything we needed to start our day right. The Spa and the gym were lovely and the exercise equiment offered most comfort. To sum up we had an excellent time in Barcelona and we would certainly choose this hotel again.

Finally I would like thank Mrs. Trullen, Mr. Irazabal, Mr.Farina and Mrs.Evelyn for their excellent service and for helping us to make the best of our trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alex1282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

The rooms were decently sized and had all the amenities as expected. However, the furniture and parts of the room were very well worn and noticable. I was there for a business conference, so all the breaks and lunches were provided by the hotel. It was a great selection of local dishes and fresh ingredients. The service was immpeccable and most of the staff spoke English (if you don't speak Spanish).

Room Tip: If you arrive before you can check in, leave your bags at concierge and grab the #33 to Sagrada Fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prostotthehost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

This is an average Hotel. This is not a 5 star hotel.
Since I've stayed in this hotel for 9 days, I will tell you its pros and cons:
Let's begin with the PROS:
1) Excelent Location: On Av. Diagonal. Easy access (2 blocks) to the Metro and less than 1 block to TRAM.
2) Very Good GYM / SPA: If you are a guest in the hotel, you have to pay 12 euros per day to use the Acqua Gym Spa. The gym is big, the swimming pool is heated (perfect temperature, not too cold or hot), 20 meters, you can borrow caps and - if available - goggles. There are treadmills, I think 4 or 5, don't remember and other gym equipments.
Beware that they have a free 'mini gym' too, but it is too small, only one treadmill. If you are lucky, you can find it empty.
3) Breakfast. The breakfast is the only 5-star thing is this hotel. Wide variety of fresh fruits, parma ham, cheese, breads, croissants, juices...
CONS:
1) Very Poor free wireless connection: It is a good thing that we don't have to pay for wi-fi connection. However, I tried to work from the hotel and access the VPN of my company, but that was sooo slow, that I ended up giving up. Of course, Skype video calls were poor also.
2) Staff (with a very few exception) were just okay. At your first day they are all friendly and helpful, but after your third day there, they don't even bother to say good morning. They are ok.
3) Rooms. The rooms are big and quiet (that's the only excelent aspect of the rooms). My room had an old carpet with stains. I believe all rooms are carpeted. The curtains were not working properly, one of its parts got stucked on the metal rail. The TV was okay: lots of local and worldwide channels. The bathroom is large, but you have to call the room service if you need more than a soap, a conditioner or a shampoo. (I needed a shower cap and I had to call the reception).
4) Food (room service). This was the ugly aspect. I was very satisfied with the food on this hotel. However, on the last day, I ate a sandwich with mayo and eggs (yes, I know... what I was thinking?!?) and I got a food poisoning. So, beware with the food.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annaSa0Paul0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victorexpo, Director Comercial at Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
First of all let me thank you for your comments, that we received though the tripadvisor website and for taking the time to share with us your opinion on your experience at the Hotel Princesa Sofia. The most effective way to improve our services is through feedback from our customers describing their experiences with us, being positive or improvable.

I am truly sorry that some aspects of your stay have not been up to your expectations.

I can assure you that the basic lines of work of our outlets, including room service, are based on product quality, professional development and service oriented to customer satisfaction.

After reading your comments, concerning the room service, I have been reviewing the matter with the Food and Beverage director and the Quality department team. I am sorry for what happened but we have investigated, and we have not found any abnormality in the preparation and delivery of the Club Sandwich. But we will definitely increase the controls to make sure that the standards are respected.

With regard to the rate of access to the Aqua Diagonal, I am sorry to know that your disappointment was due to a lack of information on the part of our personnel; The Aqua Diagonal is an independent Club from partners to the Hotel, though it finds at the disposal of our guests the opportunity to become a member paying a special rate and this way turn into " Member for one day " giving you the right to use all facilities, not only the swimming pool but a wide range of services such as Jacuzzi, sauna, cardiovascular equipment and a large amount of activities to be chosen directly by our guests. In your case, I would recommend in the future, to book a room in the Club, that offers among others advantages, the access to the Aqua Wellness Centre without extra charge. You can also enroll at our E-club to get the same advantages.

Regarding the rooms, let me tell you that we have an actions plan of preventive maintenance, improvement of our rooms. It’s important to us that the hotel offers the most comfortable facilities to our guests.

About the wifi, I have been reviewing the matter with the informatics department.
The lack of signal or slowness in certain areas and rooms was due to power outages that caused the shutdown of the wireless antennas. To avoid this problem we have implemented a tool that analyzes continuously (24hours) the performance of wifi antennas. If they stop working, this tool issues a warning notice to the department.

Finally, I have found unexpected comments on our staff. Attention and courtesy as well as service and reliability are the most important factors on which we focus. Comments that our guests posted on websites such as Tripadvisor show that our employees are often the subject of greeting. Even though, I do apologize if we haven’t made you feel as you deserve. Be sure that all the Princesa Sofía Gran Hotel team is willing to give the best of each of them. Attention is one of our essential guideline in our philosophy.

We hope the actions already taken and with a commitment to improvement, will be a step forward to win you back as a guest.

Yours sincerely.

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

I stayed here for Mobile World Congress in February. It's a large but comfortable business hotel. My room was standard but the bed and linens were good. The buffet breakfast is outstanding - truly, anything you could possibly want was available. The location, though, isn't the best. It's far, far away from the charming restaurants and attractions of Barcelona. We took a 20-25 minute cab ride every night for dinner. The metro isn't too far away, but you usually need to change lines at least once to get where you want to go in the Gothic area. It's apparently close to Camp Nou, the soccer stadium, so that could be a plus. Bottom line - fine for business, but you can do much better for a vacation hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oneyearoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Les Corts
Catalonia Rigoletto
Catalonia Rigoletto
#160 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Les Corts
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
#137 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Les Corts
NH Barcelona Stadium
NH Barcelona Stadium
#189 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Corts
Hilton Barcelona
Hilton Barcelona
#161 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Les Corts
AC Hotel Victoria Suites
AC Hotel Victoria Suites
#223 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Melia Barcelona Sarria
#133 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia

Property: Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia
Address: Plaza Pio XII 4, 08034 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Les Corts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#60 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#70 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#86 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first 5* hotel in the city, this emblematic luxury retreat forms part of the history of Barcelona and bristles with tales around national and international royalty and important figures from the world of politics, culture and entertainment who have been amongst its guests. Perfectly located on the famous Avinguda Diagonal - in the noble financial district of the city - it is only a 5 minute walk away from Camp Nou football stadium, home of the legendary FC Barcelona, and a mere 12km from the airport. Its 500 timelessly elegant rooms are all exterior-facing and offer - from the 9th floor up - magnificent panoramic views of the Catalan capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Princesa Sofia
Princess Sofia Barcelona
Princess Sofia Hotel Barcelona
Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing