We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific hotel: great value, terrific location, and very nice staff!”
Review of Hostal Goya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Goya
Ranked #40 of 305 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Terrific hotel: great value, terrific location, and very nice staff!”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I stayed here for four nights in early January and I was extremely impressed with the hotel from the beginning. The location is absolutely perfect -- you can walk almost anywhere, you are also right beside the métro, and you are only a block from the bus stop where you catch the bus to the airport.

Also, the staff is so nice. I had booked a room with a shared bath, but when I arrived I was upgrated to a room with a private bath for free! I think that is because I was here during a slow period -- during the week and at the beginning of January -- and they had a surplus of rooms. But in any case, that was still very nice of them and I appreciated the upgrade so much.

Yeah, the room is a bit small, but nothing too bad. There is a large closet to store your stuff. The rooms are also very tastefully decorated -- very contemporary design. The hardwood floors are great too.

I very strongly recommend this hotel and will plan on staying again the next time I am in Barcelona!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank umontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    172
    45
    8
    6
See reviews for
57
184
53
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at Hostal Goya for a week in October, and would highly recommend it. Upon arrival, Angel, the owner sat down with us to help us plot things out on a map, and gave us some very helpful recommendations for restaurants, day trips, and a few more relaxing activities (since we were there for such a long visit).

The location really can't be beat - you're within walking distance to the old city, Placa Cataluyna, Las Ramblas, and many of the sights and shopping on Passeig de Gracia. You're only about a block away from the subway. While you're very close to everything, the street itself is not too busy/noisy (I've heard all the hotels on Las Ramblas are very noisy).

We stayed in what were probably the two cheapest rooms - the smallest/cheapest was fine for two nights, but it was pretty cramped, but was clean and modern. The next room wasn't much bigger, but felt huge in comparison! Overall, we weren't there to hang out in the room, and both rooms had small closets, which were still a big help. Both had private bathrooms.

If you want to stay at a glitzy hotel with a pool, TV, etc, this is not for you. But, you definitely don't have to be a backpacking college student - this is simply a clean, modern, minimalist hotel, at very reasonable rates. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilterfingen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This centrally located hostel is a little oasis. Rooms are superclean, staff is very nice and helpful and you are in the middle of Barcelona in walking distance to a lot of sights. There ist tea/coffee for free all day and a nice living room with TV. Rooms might be a bit noise because of the old doors you can hear people in the hall. Beautiful if though Ikea-style decoration.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Your search is over; stay here when you're in Barcelona. You can't beat the location. Within walking distance of most major attractions except for Park Guell and Montjuic. It's a little hard to find so here are detailed directions. Take the Aerobus from the airport to Pl. Catalunya (4th stop). Get off (you are standing on an island in the middle of a road) and walk in the direction the bus is heading. At the traffic lights, cross the road to the right. You should be facing El Cortes department store. Then walk straight down the street keeping El Cortes to your right until you come to the traffic lights. The street in front of you is Pau Claris. Cross the road to the left (walking towards the Starbucks). Then, immediately cross the road to the right (you will have to walk over an island in the middle of the road). After crossing the street, turn left and walk down the sidewalk past some restaurants on your right hand side until you reach #74 - Hostal Goya. Ring the buzzer and they will let you in through the main door. Walk up 9 steps and take the lift to the 1st floor reception. Bring toiletries as only a bar of soap is provided. There is a large supermarket in the basement of El Cortes for water, snacks, food, alcohol, etc.

Casa Batllo and La Pedrera are on Passeig de Gràcia which is the street parallel to Pau Claris, one block away. The top of La Rambla is about two blocks away from the hostal. Pl. Catalunya is one block away.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OntarioGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

It's hard to find at first, but once you know where it is, you realize quickly was a great location it is- only one block away from the Plaza de Catalunya so easy access to the Aerobus, Metro, the hop on, hop off busses plus walking locations galore!

My room was very nice. Ensuite bathroom and single room but with a full sized bed. The aircon worked well. Only complaint is the walls are thin so one night the noisy neighbors were a bit much but the front desk helped with that.

The front desk service people were extremely helpful with recommendations and directions. I spent five nights here and thought it was worth it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talenarenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Barcelona Central Garden Hostel
Eixample
The Hipstel
The Hipstel
#163 of 722 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Amra
Hostal Amra
#26 of 305 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
bcn Fashion House
bcn Fashion House
#50 of 305 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Live Barcelona
Hostal Live Barcelona
#10 of 305 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Oliva
Hostal Oliva
#49 of 305 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Goya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Goya

Property: Hostal Goya
Address: Pau Claris, 74, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Goya 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an excellent location, very close to Placa Catalunya, Hostal Goya is one of the best options to enjoy your stay in Barcelona, one of the most fascinating cities in Europe. Located in the main shopping, tourist and business zone of Barcelona, Bed and Breakfast Goya is the perfect starting point to discover the jewels of Gaudí at Passeig de Gràcia, the mythical Ramblas or the Gothic Cathedral. On your arrival, our staff will provide you information about tour services, location, restaurants tapas bars, and tips on where to go. Do you need tickets for FC Barcelona, the Sagrada Familia or the last musical? We will book them for you. Within the same family atmosphere, we offer two types of accommodation: Bed and Breakfast Goya and the new apartment. In both options you will find the same quality of standards and services with brand new refurbished and stylish decorated bedrooms. Bed and Breakfast Goya provides WiFI for your laptop, TV lounge, bilingual assistance and 24 hour front desk, as well as ticketing service, laundry and car rental. Bed and Breakfast Goya, in the city centre Barcelona, is open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Goya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Goya Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Goya Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing