We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific hotel: great value, terrific location, and very nice staff!”
Review of Hostal Goya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal Goya
Ranked #49 of 310 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I stayed here for four nights in early January and I was extremely impressed with the hotel from the beginning. The location is absolutely perfect -- you can walk almost anywhere, you are also right beside the métro, and you are only a block from the bus stop where you catch the bus to the airport.

Also, the staff is so nice. I had booked a room with a shared bath, but when I arrived I was upgrated to a room with a private bath for free! I think that is because I was here during a slow period -- during the week and at the beginning of January -- and they had a surplus of rooms. But in any case, that was still very nice of them and I appreciated the upgrade so much.

Yeah, the room is a bit small, but nothing too bad. There is a large closet to store your stuff. The rooms are also very tastefully decorated -- very contemporary design. The hardwood floors are great too.

I very strongly recommend this hotel and will plan on staying again the next time I am in Barcelona!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank umontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 123 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at Hostal Goya for a week in October, and would highly recommend it. Upon arrival, Angel, the owner sat down with us to help us plot things out on a map, and gave us some very helpful recommendations for restaurants, day trips, and a few more relaxing activities (since we were there for such a long visit).

The location really can't be beat - you're within walking distance to the old city, Placa Cataluyna, Las Ramblas, and many of the sights and shopping on Passeig de Gracia. You're only about a block away from the subway. While you're very close to everything, the street itself is not too busy/noisy (I've heard all the hotels on Las Ramblas are very noisy).

We stayed in what were probably the two cheapest rooms - the smallest/cheapest was fine for two nights, but it was pretty cramped, but was clean and modern. The next room wasn't much bigger, but felt huge in comparison! Overall, we weren't there to hang out in the room, and both rooms had small closets, which were still a big help. Both had private bathrooms.

If you want to stay at a glitzy hotel with a pool, TV, etc, this is not for you. But, you definitely don't have to be a backpacking college student - this is simply a clean, modern, minimalist hotel, at very reasonable rates. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This centrally located hostel is a little oasis. Rooms are superclean, staff is very nice and helpful and you are in the middle of Barcelona in walking distance to a lot of sights. There ist tea/coffee for free all day and a nice living room with TV. Rooms might be a bit noise because of the old doors you can hear people in the hall. Beautiful if though Ikea-style decoration.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NinaSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Your search is over; stay here when you're in Barcelona. You can't beat the location. Within walking distance of most major attractions except for Park Guell and Montjuic. It's a little hard to find so here are detailed directions. Take the Aerobus from the airport to Pl. Catalunya (4th stop). Get off (you are standing on an island in the middle of a road) and walk in the direction the bus is heading. At the traffic lights, cross the road to the right. You should be facing El Cortes department store. Then walk straight down the street keeping El Cortes to your right until you come to the traffic lights. The street in front of you is Pau Claris. Cross the road to the left (walking towards the Starbucks). Then, immediately cross the road to the right (you will have to walk over an island in the middle of the road). After crossing the street, turn left and walk down the sidewalk past some restaurants on your right hand side until you reach #74 - Hostal Goya. Ring the buzzer and they will let you in through the main door. Walk up 9 steps and take the lift to the 1st floor reception. Bring toiletries as only a bar of soap is provided. There is a large supermarket in the basement of El Cortes for water, snacks, food, alcohol, etc.

Casa Batllo and La Pedrera are on Passeig de Gràcia which is the street parallel to Pau Claris, one block away. The top of La Rambla is about two blocks away from the hostal. Pl. Catalunya is one block away.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OntarioGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

It's hard to find at first, but once you know where it is, you realize quickly was a great location it is- only one block away from the Plaza de Catalunya so easy access to the Aerobus, Metro, the hop on, hop off busses plus walking locations galore!

My room was very nice. Ensuite bathroom and single room but with a full sized bed. The aircon worked well. Only complaint is the walls are thin so one night the noisy neighbors were a bit much but the front desk helped with that.

The front desk service people were extremely helpful with recommendations and directions. I spent five nights here and thought it was worth it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hostal Centric
Hostal Centric
#14 of 310 in Barcelona
317 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Amra
Hostal Amra
#27 of 310 in Barcelona
381 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Girona
Hostal Girona
#45 of 310 in Barcelona
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hostal Live Barcelona
Hostal Live Barcelona
#8 of 310 in Barcelona
501 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Colkida
Hostal Colkida
#37 of 310 in Barcelona
375 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Boutique Khronos
Hostal Boutique Khronos
#10 of 310 in Barcelona
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Goya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Goya

Address: Pau Claris, 74, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 310 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: €39 - €233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Goya 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Goya is one of the best options to enjoy your stay in Barcelona, one of the most fascinating cities in Europe. Located in the main shopping, tourist and business zone of Barcelona, Bed and Breakfast Goya is the perfect starting point to discover the jewels of Gaudí at Passeig de Gràcia, the mythical Ramblas or the Gothic Cathedral. On your arrival, our staff will provide you information about tour services, location, restaurants tapas bars, and tips on where to go. Do you need tickets for FC Barcelona, the Sagrada Familia or the last musical? We will book them for you. Within the same family atmosphere, we offer two types of accommodation: Bed and Breakfast Goya and the new apartment. In both options you will find the same quality of standards and services with brand new refurbished and stylish decorated bedrooms. Bed and Breakfast Goya provides WiFI for your laptop, TV lounge, bilingual assistance and 24 hour front desk, as well as ticketing service, laundry and car rental. Bed and Breakfast Goya, in the city centre Barcelona, is open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Goya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Goya Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Goya Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing