We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Booking Management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Barcelona Sarria
Ranked #139 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible Booking Management”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We had a booking confirmed a month before international travel. Two days before check in date, an email was sent saying an error in their booking system, for the first time ever had caused a double booking, and we were to be checked into another hotel. The new hotel has terrible reviews so we said no (they wanted the same premium room rate). A dangerous proposition to rely on this chain for international travellers. It was very lucky that we had checked email en route. No doubt will get some assurance that this is the only time it has ever happened. Sure! The number of times I've had a business say "sorry, this is the first time this has ever happened, please believe me" exactly equals the number of very poor businesses I have dealt with. Good Luck

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank AlanM255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
We apologize again for all the inconvenience this
might have caused. We understand that two days prior to arrival is indeed
a very short notice to inform you that we are not able to honour your
reservation.

For future reference if you might opt to stay in our Hotel, please send your reservation request to us. We will be more than happy to arrange this for you.

Kind Regards,

Alexis Mazorra Sánchez
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,110
    794
    228
    110
    59
See reviews for
348
939
86
600
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Hotel is located in a nice residential area - next to Diagonal street and within walking distance from the metro station. Taxi-cost to the city center never exceeded 8 euros.
I spend 5 nights in room 316 with my wife. Hotel is nice and "modern" although that the carpet (at least in room 316) was a little bit "smelly" and overall "tired". This is my only complain. Our room was quite, our bed was very confortable, breakfast was definetely "first class" and hotel's staff was very fiendly and polite.
Anyway, we did not spend too much time in the hotel since Barcelona is a lovely city and 5 days are not enough to see visit all places.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DIATGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
We appreciate you have taken some of your valuable time to send us your comments, we work very hard for guest satisfaction and quality service . We are very pleased to know you had a nice stay in our hotel and we will be very pleased to welcome you in your next visit.

Kind regards

Alexis Mazorra Sánchez
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Having read a number of reviews regarding this hotel, we were a little cautious before we arrived,but we need'nt have been.The staff without exception were fantastic,from Diego on the front door,to Daniel on reception,right throughout the hotel.Yes it is set-up principally for the "business person",and the regular" American coach parties",but,for us travelling as an independent couple,we had no problems.Apart,from the well published "breakfast",which has to be seen to be believed,nothing can prepare you for it!Utter chaos from the moment you arrive down onto floor 1,one of us went to try and find 2 seats[guarding them with our lives]whilst the other went and joined the queue to try and acquire some food,which was'nt being replenished very quickly,there was no bacon for at least 10mins!However,we quite enjoyed our experience and took it all with a smile.It's worth upgrading to a high floor room upon arrival at 15 euros a night extra,we secured a room on the 20th floor with superb "city "views,and,the room itself had all the "trappings"you'd expect of a hotel of this standing.There are several good restaurants in the surrounding area,we ate at a "family"run one,called "verd",on the first night and then "La Botega",on the second.For our last night we ate at the hotel restaurant,and,although it was our most expensive meal of our trip,it was by far the best,3 courses & decent wine came to approx 80 euros,the head waiter "Diego"[no relation to the doorman!]was very attentive,and gave us some local cuisine to try ,that we would have normally overlooked.The taxi from the airport to the hotel cost 30 euros including their tax,which is added on once you've arrived at your destination,so just be aware that if it say's 24 euros on the meter,its going to be nearer 30 euros by the time tax has been added.One last thing,buy the 2 day "city hopper"bus pass at 62euros,we definitely got our money's worth out of it,and,to do it all in one day was too much for us,especially visiting the zoo,and,then the "nou camp".

Room Tip: high floor with a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pengwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
We would like to thank you for your sincere comments. It has been our pleasure to have you as a guest in our hotel. We appreciate your valuable opinion that will help us in our constant improvement and guest satisfaction.

We hope to welcome you in your next visit.

Kind regards,

Alexis Mazorra Sánchez
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Hotel is slick and techie. However this does not distract from the fact that room 2005 has a locked adjoining room door and it feels and sounds as if my neighbors are having sex at 4 am in my room. Creepy. So by all means stay at this hotel, just avoid away rooms ending in 05. I would also like to mention 2005 is directly across from the elevators. Bonus!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manystamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Thanks for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your sincere comments that help us in our guest satisfaction and quality service.

We are very happy to know that you liked our hotel and we will be very pleased to welcome you in a next visit.

Kind regards,

Alexis Mazorra Sánchez
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Barcelona was our last stop on our 2-weeks holiday before going back to Madrid to catch a plane back to Australia.

We arrived at the hotel after 2-weeks driving around Andalusia and 3-hour train journey feeling very tired and ready to sleep.

Previously we received an email from the hotel who said that they were instructed by the GM to upgrade us to "The Level", and were already impressed when they asked what sort of pillows we want (latex? down? ergonomics?) and ten other questions.

But when we went to the reception, we were told that the hotel was overbooked and... We were upgraded to stay at The Suite!

Our suite (The Gaudi suite) is on 17th floor with fantastic view of Barcelona. It was about 7pm when we were sitting at the living room, wondering what to do and where to eat, when the door was knocked and the room service brought complementary tapas for us!

The next day when we came back to the room there were chocolates and a giant rose on our bed. A simple but very nice touch.

The room is equipped with Nespresso machine (heaven for me), complimentary 'normal' coffee and tea, microwave, and a kettle (but who needs those when by being The Level customers we have access to the Level buffet which is ready from 7AM to 11PM?). The bathroom has jet shower, perfect for tired guests like us!

The breakfats buffet is simply divine. Apart from normal dish, they have a specific section for Catalan food.

The staffs are very friendly and speak English perfectly. When we sat down at the Level lounge, we noticed one staff entertained a 10 year-old boy who was alone as his parents were elsewhere in the hotel.

We stayed previously in Melia Madrid and Sevilla, but Barcelona is simply the best!

Really, the hotel has made us difficult to leave the room and wander around Barcelona!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinallyWoken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
We have so much appreciation and gratitude for your comments that motivate and stimulate all our staff who work very hard for the guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for.

Thank you very much for taking some of your valuable time to say those beautiful words.

We hope to welcome you very soon

Kind regards

Alexis Mazorra
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#187 of 512 in Barcelona
2,454 reviews
Poblenou
The Level at Melia Barcelona Sky
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
#123 of 512 in Barcelona
2,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#77 of 512 in Barcelona
1,898 reviews
Les Corts
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
#137 of 512 in Barcelona
787 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#64 of 512 in Barcelona
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Barcelona Sarria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Barcelona Sarria

Property: Melia Barcelona Sarria
Address: Avenida de Sarria 50, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#50 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#84 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#102 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Barcelona Sarria 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fully renovated Melia Barcelona Sarria is a luxury city hotel with a strategic location in the financial, cultural and commercial heart of the city of Barcelona. Only a few minutes from Avenida Diagonal, the Paseo de Gracia and the Football Club Barcelona Camp Nou Stadium, it is the perfect choice both for business and leisure travellers. Near the stops for the tourist bus, the hotel is also located in one of the city’s main cultural and entertainment districts. Its privileged location in center city Barcelona allows guests rapid access by public transportation or a peaceful stroll to the city's main touristic and cultural points of interest; and also outstanding shopping and commercial areas of the City of Gaudi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Melia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Barcelona Sarria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Sol Melia Barcelona
Barcelona Sol Melia
Melia Barcelona Sarria Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing