We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel
Ranked #186 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Stayed in this hotel several times during businesstrips. Great location just 10 min walk from Plaza Catalunya and nearby Metro.
A small gym and a rooftop swimmingpool.
Great breakfastbuffe and nice lobbybar with free wifi.
Superior rooms little bigger, but standardroom is as good as them. Some room with balcony.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo
Thank Jenfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,135 - 1,139 of 1,390 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

Excellent location and good. Staff. Although rennovation going on, they didn't make you feel you were in a construction site.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SNG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We booked in Oct with no notice or warning of the hotel being under a major remodel. We were very surprised to discover the whole hotel under scaffolding. One of the major reasons we selected this hotel was for its gym... But it was closed !! ( when we complained they did offer us breakfast and Internet for the inconvenience.. That was nice...) However we soon discovered that the men outside our window on the 4th floor ( remember the scaffold?) came with noise!! They worked from 8am until 7pm each day with and steady hammering ... Very annoying AND they worked on Saturday! Trust us ..do not visit until after their remodel is done!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jobetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

This was one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in. One of the things that we found out the hard way was that this hotel is used by Holland America for any cruise passengers that want to extend their stay at the end of their trip. When we arrived the lobby was complete chaos! There were about 100 senior citizens in the lobby waiting to check in. Only one person was checking people in and 2 others were just standing around. We weren't part of the group so the bell hop told us to just walk up to the desk and not bother waiting. When we approached the desk they said they were for check out only and that they couldn't check us in even though there was no one to check out. So basically that person was standing there useless. We stood in line for an hour and all the cruise ship seniors kept cutting in front of us (which I get isn't really the hotel's fault but they clearly need a better process to deal with mass amount of people while not ticking off other customers!)

After the first hour we gave up and abandoned our bags in the lobby to go get some food and explore the city. We returned hours later to check in and decided to complain about the poor service. We asked to talk to a manager who didn't even bother to apologize for our bad experience until about 5 minutes into the conversation and even then it wasn't a real apology. She even tried to tell us that there was more than one person checking people in even though there wasn't. NOT the way to deal with an unhappy customer!!! This is the SERVICE industry!!! The ONLY reason we stayed there was because it was already pre-paid on my credit card. Within a 4 block radius there are numerous other hotels that all looked like they would be a lot better!

Now the room!! GROSS!!! It looked like a hockey team had partied in it. Every piece of furniture was dented, scratched or in some way damaged! NOT AT ALL LIKE THE PICTURES!!! And in the bathroom SOMETHING was growing on the shower tile. We didn't even bother to complain again given our first experiences with the front desk.

This place is a dump and NOT worth the money even on a deep discount!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Leegns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Staid 4 nights in July. Good hotel, in nice area. Great small rooftop pool (come early as it fills up pretty quick). Free minibar, which was just a well worth "extra" you don't get in a lot of hotels these days.

Comfy rooms, close to some really nice restaurants. If you get tired of tapas, pintxos or local food, a visit to rodizio could be recommended. About a 10 minute walk. As I really like the brazilian concept of Rodizio, I've been to several restaurants in Europe with this concept, but never been as good as this one in Barcelona.

Only bad thing was Internet, which was not located in rooms, but in the lobby. It worked every other day during our stay, and the receptionists kept on rebooting the router to get it working.

Overall a great hotel in a good area, close to paseo de gracia.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
Eixample
Cotton House Hotel, Autograph Collection
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
#1 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,641 reviews
El Raval
Le Meridien Barcelona
Le Meridien Barcelona
#112 of 517 in Barcelona
2,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Corts
Hilton Barcelona
Hilton Barcelona
#172 of 517 in Barcelona
1,974 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 517 in Barcelona
1,793 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#62 of 517 in Barcelona
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Barcelona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Barcelona Hotel

Address: Pau Claris, 122, 08009 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Diplomatic Hotel Barcelona)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#77 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: €152 - €338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Barcelona Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Barcelona Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city and just steps away from Paseo de Gracia shopping district and Plaza Cataluña. The hotel is also just minutes away from famous cultural and historical sites such as Las Ramblas and Sagrada Familia, but also surrounded by many little hidden treasured away from the main stream tourist attractions.This ultimate full-service lifestyle hotel offers 211 contemporary guestrooms. The hotel features 7 meeting rooms with almost 500 m2 ideal for corporate meeting and social gathering, and also the outside venue “La Terrassa” with breathtaking views over Barcelona ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Barcelona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Diplomatic Hotel Barcelona
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing