We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over hyped and disappointing”
Review of Teresa Carles

Teresa Carles
Ranked #469 of 10,924 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: US$12 - US$32
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: El Raval
Description: Vegetariano, Mediterraneo, Artesano, Sano y Sabroso.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

I visited this restaurant during Easter and had high hopes for for a good experience bearing in mind this is listed on so many websites as the 'best vegitairian restaurant in Barcelona'. Sadly Teresa Carles really didn't live up to expectations. Firstly on arrival and having booked a table for 7pm we were shown to a table in the far end of the restaurant but to my astonishment we were greeted to the overwhelming aroma of INCENSE wafting into the dining area from a shelf opposite the toilets. The smell was so powerful it actually dominated the dining space and to be honest it really isn't an appropriate way to mask the smell of toilets in a high end vegetarian restaurant. What chef in their right mind wants the customers to be choking on pungent incense rather than the smell of freshly cooked ingredients ? Baffling !
The food was pretty standard too for the price,the starter we shared (hummus abd breads) was tasty enough but for both my wife and myself the main courses were particularly dissapointing. My wife ordered a pasta dish which was actually stone cold on arrival, we spent half the time trying to figure out if it was supposed to be served that way but as other items on the plate we warmer than others we could only conclude it had been served incorrectly. I ordered the Sea and Mountain dish for myself which was more like a tapas than a main course. Mainly due to the fact it was basically one thing: seitan balls on a plate of salty gravy. The problem was it really needed another ingredient to balance the dish as with all that gravy you need something to absorb the flavours. The texture was bland and I was left thinking 'where is the rest of it'?
My dessert was fine but my wife's chocolate coulant was covered in so much sauce, it was difficult to tell whether it was soft in the middle as stated on the menu.
There are lots of places to eat in Barcelona, including Vegetarian restaurants so if you're planning on an gastro veg visit I'd give other places a bit more consideration than this as it's just over-hyped.

Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceTCHF, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Teresa Carles, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018
Google Translation

Hola David P,
Lamentamos que su experiencia en Teresa Carles no fuera del todo satisfactoria. El restaurante está situado en pleno centro de Barcelona y muchas veces el sistema de alcantarillado de la ciudad está saturado y provoca mal olor, que llega hasta los locales y edificios. Estamos trabajando para poder solucionar este inconveniente. En cuanto a los platos, en Teresa Carles siempre trabajamos con productos frescos, elaborados diariamente, y si algo no estaba de su agrado, nuestros camareros le hubieran escuchado con gusto. Esperamos que esto no se vuelva a repetir y que pueda darnos una segunda oportunidad! Un saludo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 146 of 4,410 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Located near the top of Las Rambla - we visited this vegetarian restaurant (although one of us isn't a vegetarian). We both thought the food was great. A huge amount of though has gone into how nutritious the foods are. Great, bustling atmosphere too. THANK YOU

Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceTCHF, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Teresa Carles, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018
Google Translation

Hola Michael B,
Gracias por su buena opinión! En Teresa Carles siempre ofrecemos la mejor cocina vegetariana del mercado. Nos alegra leer que ha disfrutado en nuestro restaurante! Un saludo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Burgers aren't even burgers

Small portions

Overpriced

Wouldn't recommend going to this restaurant at all

Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceTCHF, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Teresa Carles, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018
Google Translation

Hola Jack W,
Agradecemos su comentario. En Teresa Carles ofrecemos cocina de mercado vegetariana, elaborada con los mejores productos para que nuestros clientes salgan satisfechos. Nuestro menú de mediodía y nuestra carta son muy completos. Además, estamos situados en pleno centro de Barcelona. Todo sumado, hace que nuestro restaurante sea un referente de cocina vegetariana en la ciudad. Lamentamos que no haya sido así en su caso. Un saludo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

As a vegetarian (my husband is not), I was really looking forward to being able to select from a menu from which I had a grrawt choice. We chose the anti pasto starter to share - lovely and for the main, I had the red diavolo pasta and my busbamd. the 'sea and moubtaib'. My pasta was lukewarm, the aubergine beneath warm so I assume it wad meant to be hotter than it was; my husband's main needed some carbs and veg to balance the 'meatballs' and to soak up the gravy. Desserts were good though.

Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceTCHF, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Teresa Carles, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018
Google Translation

Gracias por su opinión, Rachel P!
En Teresa Carles cocinamos todos nuestros platos diariamente, y puede ser que salga un poco tibio. Lamentamos el inconveniente ocasionado. Esperamos que nos pueda volver a visitar y probar otras elaboraciones de nuestra carta. Un saludo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

I’m not a vegetarian but my partner is. This restaurant was very busy and bustling in a good way. Service was polite and prompt. The food was delicious. There was a good selection of appetising dishes. I had the lasagne which was excellent. I would love to go back and if I’m in Barcelona again I will.

Thank Gwydion H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceTCHF, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Teresa Carles, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018
Google Translation

Hola Gwydion H!
Gracias por su opinión de Teresa Carles! Esperamos volver a verles en su próxima visita a Barcelona! Un saludo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Teresa Carles also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Teresa Carles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing